News Movies 18/12/2004

Washington, D.C. Critics name 'Eternal Sunshine' Best Film; Jamie Foxx a double winner for Best Actor and Best Supporting Actor

WASHINGTON, DC. (Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association) - The Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) today honored the best in film for 2004, and while no clear frontrunner has emerged in the Academy Awards' Best Picture race, critics in the nation's capital threw their support firmly behind "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" by honoring the film in 4 categories, the most of any film.

Meanwhile, Jamie Foxx continued his march to Oscar gold as he was honored as Best Actor for "Ray" and Best Supporting Actor for "Collateral." In other categories, Imelda Staunton was named Best Actress for "Vera Drake," and "The Incredibles" was tapped as Best Animated Film. "Sideways" continued to earn accolades as Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor were honored for Best Adapted Screenplay.

Said WAFCA President Tim Gordon, "2004 is the Year of the Foxx! With a pair of award winning roles that showcase his many abilities and charm, Foxx proved to D.C. critics and movie audiences around the world that he is America's next great actor."
Gordon concluded, "The D.C. critics choice of 'Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind' as Best Picture is proof a great film will be remembered and rewarded even if it isn't released in December."

The Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association is comprised of 28 D.C.-based film critics from television, radio, print and the Internet. Voting was conducted from December 13 - 15, 2004.

2004 WAFCA Choices
Best Film - "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" (Focus)
Best Director - Michel Gondry ("Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind")
Best Actor - Jamie Foxx ("Ray")
Best Actress - Imelda Staunton ("Vera Drake")
Best Supporting Actor - Jamie Foxx ("Collateral")
Best Supporting Actress - Cate Blanchett ("The Aviator")
Best Acting Ensemble - "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" (Focus)
Best Screenplay, Original - Charlie Kaufman ("Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind")
Best Screenplay, Adapted - Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor ("Sideways")
Best Foreign Language Film - "Maria Full of Grace" (Fine Line)
Best Animated Film - "The Incredibles" (Buena Vista)
Best Documentary - "Fahrenheit 9/11" (Lions Gate)

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
The Best & Worst Charts Of 2004
Fairytale tops VH1 'Christmas song poll'
Top40 On The Move!
Kenny Chesney gets authentic with 'Anything But Mine'
New Asbury Park, NJ Record Label headed by Recording Artist Colie Brice
Music Industry announces 5th IFPI Platinum Awards to honour Europe's top-selling artists in Brussels
Grammy-Nominated Vocalist Cali Aleman reunites with Nino Caicedo for Empire Musicwerks debut, 'La Victoria,' set for release March 8th
Erasure star Andy Bell is HIV-Positive
The Recording Academy Spotlights Jazz, Classical and Gospel Music during Grammy Week Celebration
Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra with Arturo O'farrill's Rose Theater Debut: A Celebration Of Great Latin Jazz Vocalists
Enrique Iglesias & Anna Kournikova wed in Mexico
Miramax Films leads Golden Globe Film Nominations with 15 and celebrates 25th Anniversary
David Morales' new album '2 Worlds Collide' on Ultra Records
The Boston Conservatory Opera, Sanford Sylvan Director, Presents Phillip Glass's Akhnaten Feb. 3-5, 2005
Two Albums from Yellow Dog Records Nominated for W.C. Handy Awards

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0228839 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0066449642181396 secs
Members Area