News Alternative 03/03/2017
Rate this:

Los Angeles Noise-Rock Duo The Deepsea Goes Releases Remixed/Remastered "Oraneiroi (Expanded)"

Los Angeles Noise-Rock Duo The Deepsea Goes Releases Remixed/Remastered "Oraneiroi (Expanded)"

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) "Oraoneiroi (Expanded)" features new mixes for all 11 songs from the original 2009 recording sessions in San Pedro, CA. This expanded release includes a remix of "There Is No Space Light" by Triobelisk Vs. Frodus that was released digitally in conjunction with a 2009 national tour. "Oraoneiroi (Expanded)" also includes an alternate version of the song "There Is No Space" & a previously unreleased version of "There Is No Weight".

In 2010, LA Record described "Oraoneiroi" as "music for burning buildings to the ground, smashing police car windows, and attacking anyone in sight" while called it "an unexpectedly cool album that takes a lot of interesting chances and largely seems to work". suggested that "it's as if every sort of alternative, indie, and punk was thrown together in a blender, set on high, and by some miraculous chance emerged a satisfying result".

With a name derived from a crude combination of the Italian word for "time" with the Greek word for "dream" & a series of song titles beginning with the phrase "There Is No", "Oraoneiroi" was largely inspired by a series of unlikely events. Initially scheduled to be released prior to a US tour in Spring 2009, The Deepsea Goes was only able to finish two songs before they left for the first show in San Diego, CA.

That Spring tour was never completed, since the band's 2004 Toyota Corolla broke down on the way to a show in Idaho, leaving them stranded for the weekend in Grangeville, ID (pop. 3,141) desperately waiting for the mechanic to open on Monday. When not partaking in all of the varieties of food that can be crafted with the Huckleberry (ice cream, Italian soda, pie, cake, etc.), the band passed the time with whatever movies were available on the Gateway Inn's complimentary Satellite TV.

Late Saturday night, a movie called "Passion of Mind" starring Stellan SkarsgÄrd, Demi Moore, & William Fichtner aired & became the unlikely inspiration for a thematic shift in the album's lyrics. In the movie, Demi Moore's character suffers from a fictionalized version of a disorder called "dissociative fugue" that finds her living two separate lives in parallel without being able to distinguish which is her true waking life. The band fell asleep before the ending (no spoilers!), but held onto the idea of a character living two lives without being able to discern the "dream time" from reality.

After making their way back to Los Angeles, The Deepsea Goes returned to the studio to write an entirely new opening song & subsequently re-track everything that they had previously completed. This new song became "There Is No Up", which uncharacteristically starts with the distinct sound of a Vox Continental Organ & sets the tone for the rest of the album. "Oraoneiroi" relentlessly churns through various forms of noise-rock while exploring the story of a man struggling to decode his true reality between a solitary post-apocalypse & a relatively calm world with a dying partner.

"Oraoneiroi" was originally released by Transnational Debate Records on August 18th, 2009. The Deepsea Goes is Paul Michael White Jr. & Janine Leilani White. The Los Angeles based duo formed in 2007.

[2] Shultz, Brian. October 2nd, 2009
[3] Faulkner, Cole. November 14th, 2009

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Warner Chappell's Edward Abela Goes Straight To No1 After Less Than 24 Hours Of Releasing 'Echoes' EP
Fink Releases Next Song "Keep Myself Alone Now" From 'Sunday Night Blues Club, Vol. 1'; New Album Out 3/10
Paul Kelly' North American Tour Focuses On 'Death's Dateless Night' Album And More
Isotopes Punk Rock Baseball Club To Release New Album "1994 World Series Champions"
Singer/Songwriter Omeri Announces Debut Release "Day Dream'n", A New Album From Western New York Label Three 2 Go Music
Cait Brennan's Omnivore Debut 'Third' Recorded At Ardent Studios In Memphis
Simon Pagliara Releases Tech House Track 'Root 909'
Nox Vorago: New Album "Al Chem" Out Now!
Trick Daddy's "Famous & Uncensored" Podcast
Atlanta Artist The Head Premieres New Track "Tea Colored Radio", Announces New Album "Space"
Pieta Brown Joins Forces With Mason Jennings For "How Soon"
Blacktop Mojo Release Title Track Off Of Upcoming LP 'Burn The Ships'
Crystal Coast Music Festival Announces 2017 Lineup
The Nation's Finest Purveyors Of Rocque, The Upper Crust Release New Single "Heads Will Roll" Out Today; "Delusions Of Grandeur" Out April 7, 2017
CMT Premieres Kiefer Sutherland's "I'll Do Anything"

© 2001-2017
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0054030 secs // 4 () queries in 0.059659004211426 secs
Members Area

Experience our site ad-free!