News Jazz 24/04/2017

Art Pepper's 'West Coast Sessions!' Continue With Lee Konitz, Bill Watrous Duets, From Omnivore On June 30, 2017

Art Pepper's 'West Coast Sessions!' Continue With Lee Konitz, Bill Watrous Duets, From Omnivore On June 30, 2017

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Laurie Pepper, widow of legendary jazz alto saxophonist Art Pepper, explains the West Coast Sessions! concept best in her liner notes for a pair of expanded reissues coming on June 30, 2017 from Omnivore Recordings. The rollout will include Art Pepper Presents "West Coast Sessions!" Volume 3: Lee Konitz and Art Pepper Presents "West Coast Sessions!" Volume 4: Bill Watrous.

"In 1977," she wrote, "Art came back from the dead. Or so it seemed to those who followed him, followed his music. And then in 1979, the Japanese came calling in the guise of a small record label, Yupiteru, later Atlas. They wanted Art to record for them. By then, Art was under exclusive contract to Fantasy/Galaxy records and couldn't record as a leader. However, and I think I deserve credit for this sneaky idea, he could be a 'sideman.' And he could choose the 'leaders.' He did six albums for Atlas with six terrific 'leaders.' And they are classics, now."

Originally issued in 1982 as High Jingo, featuring Lee Konitz and His West Coast Friends, the material on Volume 3 was recorded in February of that year at Sage & Sound Studio in Los Angeles with Konitz on alto sax, Art Pepper also on alto sax (and clarinet!), bassist Bob Magnusson, Michael Lang on piano, and drummer John Dentz.

With an original title of Funk'n Fun, featuring the Bill Watrous Quintet, the material in Volume 4 was recorded in March of 1979 at Sage & Sound Studio in Los Angeles with Watrous on trombone, Art Pepper on alto sax, bassist Bob Magnusson, Russ Freeman on piano, and drummer Carl Burnett.
Both volumes were originally released only on LP in Japan.

Volume 3 Track Listing
1. S'wonderful

2. Whims Of Chambers

3. A Minor Blues In F

4. High Jingo
5. The Shadow Of Your Smile
6. Anniversary Song
7. Cherokee
Bonus Tracks:
8. S'wonderful (Alternate Take)

9. Whims Of Chambers (Alternate Take)

Volume 4 Track Listing
1. Just Friends

2. Begin The Beguine
3. When Your Lover Is Gone
4. For Art's Sake

5. Funny Blues

6. Angel Eyes
7. P. Town
Bonus Tracks:
8. Funny Blues (Alternate Take)
9. Angel Eyes (Alternate Take)

Most read news of the week
Dinosaur Jr., The Mighty Mighty Bosstones, Built To Spill, Fishbone And More Perform Full Albums At Riot Fest
Enrique Iglesias & Pitbull Continue To Share The Stage Into The Fall With 2nd Leg Of Their North American Tour
Tony Bennett's Daughter Antonia Bennett To Make Smith Center Debut In "George Bugatti's Piano Bar"
New Music: Keke Palmer Ft. Quavo - "Wind Up"
Legendary Bands Earth, Wind & Fire And Chic Ft. Nile Rodgers Announce 2054 North American Summer Tour
Foxwoods Resort Casino Announces May Entertainment Line Up
Bria Skonberg's New Album "With A Twist" Available May 19, 2017
Riot Fest 2017 Announces Nine Inch Nails, Queens Of The Stone Age, Jawbreaker Reunion, New Order, Paramore, Prophets Of Rage, M.I.A., Wu-Tang Clan
Fire From The Gods Release Official Music Video For "The Voiceless" Off Of Upcoming 'Narrative Retold'
The Return Of A Legend: Hank Marvin - 'Without A Word' Released 2nd June 2017
'Walk With God' By Papa Biggy A Major Success
Dalton Domino Premieres Tracks From Corners With The Boot, One Country
Hayride Casualties Announce Fossil Fuel Kid
Common Kings Release New Video For "Everybody Wants To Fool The World"
Blues Foundation Announces Blues Music Awards, Blues Hall Of Fame Induction Week In Memphis, May 8-12

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0208099 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0061807632446289 secs
Members Area