News Jazz 25/04/2017

Art Pepper's 'West Coast Sessions!' Continue With Lee Konitz, Bill Watrous Duets, From Omnivore On June 30, 2017

Art Pepper's 'West Coast Sessions!' Continue With Lee Konitz, Bill Watrous Duets, From Omnivore On June 30, 2017

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Laurie Pepper, widow of legendary jazz alto saxophonist Art Pepper, explains the West Coast Sessions! concept best in her liner notes for a pair of expanded reissues coming on June 30, 2017 from Omnivore Recordings. The rollout will include Art Pepper Presents "West Coast Sessions!" Volume 3: Lee Konitz and Art Pepper Presents "West Coast Sessions!" Volume 4: Bill Watrous.
"In 1977," she wrote, "Art came back from the dead. Or so it seemed to those who followed him, followed his music. And then in 1979, the Japanese came calling in the guise of a small record label, Yupiteru, later Atlas. They wanted Art to record for them. By then, Art was under exclusive contract to Fantasy/Galaxy records and couldn't record as a leader. However, and I think I deserve credit for this sneaky idea, he could be a 'sideman.' And he could choose the 'leaders.' He did six albums for Atlas with six terrific 'leaders.' And they are classics, now."
Originally issued in 1982 as High Jingo, featuring Lee Konitz and His West Coast Friends, the material on Volume 3 was recorded in February of that year at Sage & Sound Studio in Los Angeles with Konitz on alto sax, Art Pepper also on alto sax (and clarinet!), bassist Bob Magnusson, Michael Lang on piano, and drummer John Dentz.
With an original title of Funk'n Fun, featuring the Bill Watrous Quintet, the material in Volume 4 was recorded in March of 1979 at Sage & Sound Studio in Los Angeles with Watrous on trombone, Art Pepper on alto sax, bassist Bob Magnusson, Russ Freeman on piano, and drummer Carl Burnett.
Both volumes were originally released only on LP in Japan.

Volume 3 Track Listing
1. S'wonderful

2. Whims Of Chambers

3. A Minor Blues In F

4. High Jingo
5. The Shadow Of Your Smile
6. Anniversary Song
7. Cherokee
Bonus Tracks:
8. S'wonderful (Alternate Take)

9. Whims Of Chambers (Alternate Take)

Volume 4 Track Listing
1. Just Friends

2. Begin The Beguine
3. When Your Lover Is Gone
4. For Art's Sake

5. Funny Blues

6. Angel Eyes
7. P. Town
Bonus Tracks:
8. Funny Blues (Alternate Take)
9. Angel Eyes (Alternate Take)

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
BeBop Technology Releases Media & Entertainment Industry's First Multi-Cloud Post-Production Solution
Live Nation Celebrates Beginning Of Summer Concert Season With 'National Concert Day' And Special Offer For Fans: 1,000,000 Tickets Available For Only $20
Enrique Iglesias & Pitbull Continue To Share The Stage Into The Fall With 2nd Leg Of Their North American Tour
Legendary Bands Earth, Wind & Fire And Chic Ft. Nile Rodgers Announce 2054 North American Summer Tour
New Music: Keke Palmer Ft. Quavo - "Wind Up"
Bria Skonberg's New Album "With A Twist" Available May 19, 2017
Fire From The Gods Release Official Music Video For "The Voiceless" Off Of Upcoming 'Narrative Retold'
'Walk With God' By Papa Biggy A Major Success
The Return Of A Legend: Hank Marvin - 'Without A Word' Released 2nd June 2017
Dalton Domino Premieres Tracks From Corners With The Boot, One Country
'Country Music's Gone Global' Sessions To Highlight Genre's International Initiatives And Expansion At Music Biz 2017
Hayride Casualties Announce Fossil Fuel Kid
Legendary Misfits Guitarist Doyle Wolfgang Von Frankenstein Announces Upcoming 'Abominate The World Tour 2017'
Their Music Will Keep A Hero's Dreams Alive Pure Country: Pure Heart
Trumpeter/Vocalist Bob Merrill Celebrates Joe Bushkin's Musical Legacy With "Tell Me Your Troubles: Songs By Joe Bushkin, Vol. 1," Due May 19, 2017

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0256441 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0080690383911133 secs
Members Area