News Country 23/06/2017

New Album Mayhayley's House By Lonesome River Band

New Album Mayhayley's House By Lonesome River Band

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) After 35 years of releasing hit after hit, Lonesome River Band is back with yet another stellar project. Their new album Mayhayley's House is out today on Mountain Home Music Company. It is available for purchase and streaming at many outlets including iTunes where it is a featured release on the Country music home page.

Mayhayley's House is dedicated to Mayhayley Lancaster, a self-proclaimed "Oracle of the Ages" who handed out "readings" and personal predictions at her home in southwest Georgia's Heard County. She was a quintessential southern woman seer, a well-known lawyer, political activist, midwife and teacher until her death in 1955. Folks would come to her house, pay her "a dollar and a dime" for a reading—to find lost items, predict the future, even to solve crimes. She would also dabble in local politics, lawyering, and farming. Most of all she represented the stout hardiness of independent backwoods folk that sustained traditions and distrusted the encroachment of modern ways. It was rumored, for instance, that what money she had was buried in multiple plots somewhere on her property.

Lonesome River Band, the bluegrass tinkers of tradition, dedicate this album to Mayhayley; to its fans; and, to people who understand that traditions once lost are rarely recovered.

Tracks and songwriters include:
1. Wrong Road Again (Allen Reynolds)
2. As Lonesome As I Am Matt Lindsey, Shawn Camp)
3. Mayhayley's House (Adam Wright)
4. Old Coyote Town (Larry E. Boone, Gene Nelson, Paul Nelson, Jr.)
5. Blackbirds And Crows (Don Humphries)
6. Ida Red (Arr. Lost and Found, PD)
7. Diggin' (Eli Johnston, Kevin McKinnon)
8. As The Crow Flies (Melba Montgomery, Billy Wayne Yates)
9. Lonesome Bone (Curtis Wright)
10. Think I'm Gonna Be Alright (Robert J. Gateley)
11. It Feels Real Good Goin' Down (Shawn Camp)
12. Hickory Hollow Times and County News (Matthew Lindsey, Herb McCullough)
13. Fly Around My Pretty Little Miss (PD, arr. Mike Hartgrove, Jesse Smathers)
Lonesome River Band's 35th Anniversary tour is in full swing with the band performing songs from this new Mountain Home Music Co. release. Summer tour dates include:

• June 29 - Starvy Creek Bluegrass Festival , Conway, MO
• July 1 - Bon Aqua BluegrassFest, Bon Aqua, TN
• July 8 - Uncle Dave Macon Days Festival, Murfreesboro, TN
• July 9 - Sugarloaf Mountain Amphitheatre, Chillicothe, OH
• July 14 - Wayside Bluegrass Festival, Stuart, VA
• July 19 - Musicians Against Childhood Cancer, Lockbourne, OH
• Aug 2 - Pickin' in the Parsons, Parsons, WV
• Aug 3 - Milan Bluegrass Festival, Milan, MI
• Aug 5 - Osborne Brothers Hometown Festival, Hyden, KY
• Aug 12 - Les Chateaux De Sable Des Iles, Magdalen Islands Canada
• Aug 18 - Gettysburg Bluegrass Festival, Gettysburg, PA
Sammy Shelor, a five-time International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) Banjo Player of the Year, Virginia Country Music Hall of Famer, and winner of the Steve Martin Prize for Excellence in Banjo and Bluegrass, leads the group that is constantly breaking new ground in acoustic music. With two stellar lead vocalists, Brandon Rickman (guitar) Jesse Smathers (mandolin), and the impressive talents of Mike Hartgrove (fiddle) and Barry Reed (bass), the band seamlessly comes together, performing the trademark sound that fans continue to embrace.
For more information on Lonesome River Band, visit and follow them on Instagram/LonesomeRiverBand, and Facebook.

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Christian Scott Premieres New Album 'Diaspora' At Hype Machine
Meklit Premieres New Album At Popmatters - 'When The People Move, The Music Moves Too' Out 6/23
Stephen Stills & Judy Collins Celebrate 50 Years Of Musical Friendship With First-Ever Album Together - 'Stills & Collins' Out September 22, 2017
Black Masala And The Young Artist Series Headlines The Shepherdstown Street Fest - A Great Multi-Generational Go Blue Ridge Travel Road Trip
Sled (Formerly Known As Pinhole Down) Releasing Debut Full-Length 'A Better You' On September 15, 2017
Philadelphia Rhythm And Blues Vocalist Tony' Jones Set To Release "The Experience" EP Summer 2017
Hogan's Goat Release "Pennymade," Off Upcoming Debut LP
Fourth Annual Rockland-Bergen Music Festival This Weekend, June 24 And 25 / Featuring Jake Clemons Band, Steve Forbert, Joe Grushecky, Joe D'Urso & Stone Caravan And More
Donovan Woods Releases New Single "All Mine"; Acclaimed Songwriter For Tim McGraw, Charlie Worsham, And Charles Kelley
Jason Eady Shares "No Genie In This Bottle" Video, Announces New Summer Tour Dates And Festival Appearances
Dick Connette's Guest-Filled Too Sad For The Public Vol. 1 Out Now On Storysound Records
Legendary Violinist Darryl Way To Release New Concept Album/Rock Opera Called "Underworld"
Varese Sarabande Records To Release The Putin Interviews - Original Soundtrack
Word Is Bond Inc. - More Than Artist Management
A$AP Rocky Honors His Code With Ambition, Growth And Cognac

© 2001-2017
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0030990 secs // 4 () queries in 0.035443782806396 secs
Members Area

Experience our site ad-free!