News Country 03/07/2017

Dan Wilson Releases "When The Stars Come Out" From New Album 'Re-Covered' Out August 4, 2017

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) On August 4, Dan Wilson will release Re-Covered, a unique album that finds the Grammy-winning songwriter reinterpreting songs from his storied career that he wrote for and with other artists. The album, which marks his third solo studio release, is now available for pre-order on iTunes and Pledge Music and includes instant downloads of three songs.

Today, Taste of Country premiered "When The Stars Come Out," which was written with Chris Stapleton for his 2015 Grammy Award-winning breakthrough album Traveller. Sterling Whitaker said, "Wilson brings an entirely new feel to the song, replacing Stapleton's gritty, country-blues take with an acoustic-driven singer-songwriter vibe."

Also announced today is a deluxe edition hardcover book and CD that contains 56 pages of drawings, essays, lyrics, and songwriting observations. The book contains illustrations and stories by wilson about each Re-Covered song, in addition to each song's lyrics. This deluxe hardcover book/album will be released on August 25 and includes a physical CD (pre-order via Amazon).

"I knew that if I ever did record the Re-Covered album, I'd have to make a book to go with it," explains Wilson. "The album already tells a story about my musical life, and I loved the idea of being able to elaborate and fill in details of the story. I had begun sharing my musical adventures through 'Words and Music by Dan Wilson,' the concert/storytelling series I've been doing for a few years. So I started by writing out some of the stories from those shows. I also did a series of interviews with a friend who knows me well, and these interviews provided me with a lot of material to start with."

The album was announced in a conversation with Zane Lowe on his Beats 1 Radio show, where he premiered "Someone Like You" ft. Kronos Quartet. Stream the song and listen to the interview via Apple Music:

Salon premiered the video for "Someone Like You" ft. Kronos Quartet which features illustrations by Wilson himself. Annie Zaleski interviewed Wilson about the forthcoming project and said, "On this version, the Kronos Quartet adds majestic shading to sparse acoustic guitar and Wilson's weary vocal delivery; the latter element especially captures the original song's combination of aching resignation and emotional fortitude."

Rolling Stone Country premiered "Home," which was written with Dierks Bentley and Brett Beavers and went on to hit #1 on the Country radio chart. Rolling Stone's Jon Freeman said, "With his interpretation, Wilson gives the tune a rock makeover complete with throbbing bass, pounding toms and white-hot eruptions of electric guitar that lend it a sense of urgency and anxiety familiar to Donald Trump's America."

Since his days in seminal '90s rock band Semisonic, Wilson has been an in-demand songwriter, producer and arranger for some of the biggest acts in pop and rock music like Phantogram, Weezer, Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Halsey and My Morning Jacket. For his latest 13-track album, Wilson has taken songs he's co-written with other artists and made them his own - his own arrangements, his voice, his guitar. The result is an eclectic spin on some of the biggest songs in pop music over the last 15 years as well as some gems that never quite made it big.

Most of the songs on the album were recorded live and mixed in an intensive week-long session at United Studios in Los Angeles, with longtime collaborators Mike Viola producing and Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Pete Thomas on drums. Wilson credits Thomas, best known for his decades of work with Elvis Costello, with being central to the crafting of the arrangements.

Wilson will tour in support of Re-Covered this fall, with additional tour dates to be announced in the coming months.

Track list:
1) All Will Be Well (Gabe Dixon)
2) Home (Dierks Bentley)
3) You an I (John Legend)
4) Someone Like You ft. Kronos Quartet (Adele)
5) Never Meant To Love You (Cory Chisel)
6) Not Ready To Make Nice (Dixie Chicks)
7) Landing (Matt Wilson)
8) Treacherous (Taylor Swift)
9) Borrowed (LeAnn Rimes)
10) Your Misfortune (Mike Doughty)
11) When The Stars Come Out (Chris Stapleton)
12) If I Walk Away (Josh Groban)
13) Closing Time (Semisonic)

Tour Dates:
9/22: St. Paul, MN - Fitzgerald Theater
9/23: Chicago, IL - City Winery
9/27: Boston, MA - City Winery
9/28: New York, NY - City Winery
9/30: Nashville, TN - City Winery
10/20: Los Angeles, CA - Troubadour
10/21: San Francisco, CA - Swedish American Music Hall

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Sonny Rollins - Saxophone Colossus
"Space Dubs" By Spacewave Coming August 4th
Stolen Jars Shares New Music Video For "Gone Away", Summer Tour Dates Announced
Indie Music Star Chelsea Williams Hits Wondrous Creative Heights On Her Blue Elan Debut "Boomerang," Out August 18
Vattnet (Formerly Vattnet Viskar) Announce Short East Coast Tour With Less Art
Concert Jazz Pianist Barron Ryan Releases New Album The Masters' Apprentice
Backroad Records' Recording Artist, Tommy Chayne, Releases Debut Single "King Of The Pines" (Ft. Upchurch) Now!
Award Winning Guitarist Brian Tarquin's "Band Of Brothers" Album To Benefit Veterans Ft. Steve Morse, Trey Gunn, Bumblefoot, Jeff Scott Soto, Gary Hoey, Jeff Watson
St. Vincent Releases New Song "New York"
Seminal Southern California Punks CH3 Drop New Video On The Hard Times; 'Put 'Em Up', First Full Album Of New Music In Over 15 Years Out August 18
Steve Di Giorgio - Mythodea: New Line-Up Announced, New Song Being Recorded In Advance Of New Album
Enter The 13th Hour With Raven Black On Their Hex O'Clock Tour!
British Folk Rock Pioneers Fairport Convention's 50th Anniversary Celebrated With Lavish 7CD Box Set, "Come All Ye - The First Ten Years," And Vinyl Reissue Of Classic Album, "liege & Lief" On July 28, 2017
Calvin Harris Drops 'Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 1' And It's A Banger - Listen To Thefull Album
Inger Lorre (The Nymphs) To Release 'Live At The Viper Room' Album In August

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0219231 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0097601413726807 secs
Members Area