News Oldies 29/07/2017

Underworld - "Beaucoup Fish": A Remastered Classic Re-Released August 25, 2017

Underworld - "Beaucoup Fish": A Remastered Classic Re-Released August 25, 2017

New York, NY (Top40 Charts/ UMe) Underworld have announced details of the deluxe remastered re-release of their 1999 classic Beaucoup Fish (via UMe) The album comes as a single CD, a 4CD super deluxe box set and a double vinyl LP. The album will also be available on all streaming and download platforms. Pre-order the album at the links below:
4CD Super Deluxe:

Hugely anticipated on release in the spring of 1999, continued Underworld's singular vision. From the opening Windy City meets Motor City meets Thames Estuary swoop of "Cups" through to the flickering low light coda of closing track "Moaner," the eleven tracks on collectively served to highlight just how different the wiring of Underworld's internal logic is.

Whilst some of their peers had spawned lesser imitators, Underworld's sound on remained resolutely theirs. While many of the prevalent fragmented electronic styles of the day would be assimilated, the end result remained unique. If there had been a mould created when Rick Smith, Darren Emerson and Karl Hyde first made music together in the spare bedroom of a terrace house in Romford, it had long since been broken. There were no imitators. There never have been.

Beaucoup Fish features the singles Moaner, Push Upstairs, Jumbo, King of Snake and Bruce Lee. The deluxe edition's second disc features eleven previously unreleased outtakes from the recording sessions. The third and fourth disc feature remixes of album tracks by the likes of Fatboy Slim, Slam, Salt City Orchestra and Adam Beyer.

The Beaucoup Fish super deluxe edition comes packaged in a hard case 12"x12" box that complements the acclaimed expanded reappraisals of dubnobasswithmyheadman (2014) and Second Toughest In The Infants (2015). This edition also includes a 60-page booklet with a new essay on the album. As with its predecessors, audio remastering was undertaken by the band's Rick Smith at Abbey Road Studios. All packaging and artwork has been created by long time Underworld collaborators tomato.

Underworld - aka Karl Hyde and Rick Smith - recently presented an installation piece - Manchester Street Poem - as part of Manchester International Festival 2017. The project spotlighted the stories of those who've found themselves homeless in the city. Their last gig - a sold out show at London's Alexandra Palace - was the band's biggest UK headline show to date.

Beaucoup Fish super deluxe tracklisting:

Disc One
1. Cups
2. Push Upstairs
3. Jumbo
4. Shudder / King Of Snake
5. Winjer
6. Skym
7. Bruce Lee
8. Kittens
9. Push Downstairs
10. Something Like A Mama
11. Moaner

Disc Two
1. Nifter - 5 A1317 Nov 97
2. Bruce Lee - Ricks 1st Dobro Mix
3. UW Orange Bed - Sept 97
4. Skym - A A1317 Nov 97
5. Jumbo - Diff Bass 2 A1317 Nov 97
6. Push Upstairs - Alt 1 A1336 July 98
7. King Of Snake - Garage Mix A1313 Set 97b
8. Something Like A Mama - Alt Mix A1340 July 98 A Upstairs
9. Please Help Me
10. Yeah Plan - From A1385
11. Ramajama

Disc Three
1. Cups - Salt City Orchestra Remix
2. Jumbo - Jedi's Sugar Hit Mix
3. Jumbo - Futureshock Vocal Mix
4. Push Upstairs - Darren Price Remix
5. King Of Snake - Slam Remix
6. King Of Snake - Fatboy Slim Remix
7. King Of Snake - Dave Clarke Remix
8. Bruce Lee - Micronauts Remix
9. Bruce Lee - Buffalo Daughter Remix

Disc Four
1. Bruce Lee - DJ Hype & DJ Zinc Vocal Mix
2. Bruce Lee - DJ Hype & DJ Zinc Instrumental Mix
3. Bruce Lee - Futureshock Remix
4. King Of Snake - Claudio Coccoluto Remix
5. King Of Snake - Martinez Remix
6. King Of Snake - Dave Angel Remix
7. Jumbo - Rob Rives & Francois Kevorkian Dub
8. Push Upstairs - Roger S Narcotic Haze Dub
9. Push Upstairs - Adam Beyer Rmx 2

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
EmiSunshine Sets Release Date For New Album
Kendrick Lamar, Katy Perry And The Weeknd Leads 2017 MTV VMA Nominations
New Jim Croce Song Surfaces, Recorded By A.J. Croce On New An Penn-Produced Album
Soundbreaking Nominated For News & Documentary Emmy Awards
Andy Adamson Quintet - First Light
NPR Music Premieres The Pollyseeds' Video For "Intentions"
Out Now: Shelly Waters Releases Self-Titled Album "Shelly Waters"
Call Of All, Composed Of Hunter Watson And Cody Webb, Is Set To Release Their Debut Album War & Illusion On August 25, 2017
Sifting Take On Venezuelan President Maduro With 'Pledge Of Our Generation', Reveal Details For New Album 'Νot From Here' Out September 29
Three Generations Of Delta Musicians Spanning Blues, Soul And Hip Hop Come Together For "Take Me To The River" Tour This Fall
Kenny G Announces The Miracles Holiday & Hits Tour 2017
"The Very Best Of Diana Krall" Released On Vinyl In US For First Time To Mark Album's 10th Anniversary
Stunning New Album From Leeds Based BBC Radio 2 Favourites
Lee "Scratch" Perry & Subatomic Sound System To Release "Super Ape Returns To Conquer"
Fifth Harmony To Release Third Album 'Fifth Harmony' On August 25, 2017

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0255051 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0087013244628906 secs
Members Area