News Rock 03/08/2017

'I'm A Harmony,' New Album From Psych-folk Legend Linda Perhacs, Coming On September 22, 2017

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Until 2014, singer Linda Perhacs had only issued one album, Parallelograms, in 1970 on Kapp Records. That release immediately fell into obscurity, but gained fans over the ensuing years as musicians as disparate as Devendra Banhart, Daft Punk, and death-metal group Opeth sang its praises. As the status of Parallelograms continued to rise in the 21st century, Linda found her way back to recording thanks to talented fans like Fernando Perdomo, Julia Holter and Chris Price. In 2014, another enthusiast, Sufjan Stevens, released Linda's 44-year follow up to Parallelograms, The Soul of All Natural Things (produced by Perhacs, Price and Perdomo), on his label Asthmatic Kitty.
Perhacs' long overdue return to music was joyously welcomed, with MOJO magazine describing the album as "a spectrally hypnotic work of prismatic beauty."

Now, in 2017, Perhacs joins the Omnivore Recordings family with a newly recorded album, I'm a Harmony — this time produced by Pat Sansone (Wilco/The Autumn Defense), with Perhacs and Perdomo reprising their roles from The Soul of All Natural Things, due out September 22, 2017.
Also returning from the 2014 project are composer/multi-instrumentalist/producers Holter and Price. Joining the ensemble are Sansone and John Stirratt (The Autumn Defense/Wilco); Nels Cline and Glenn Kotche (Wilco); Banhart, who offers up a spoken-word segment on "We Will Live"; and producer/remixer Mark Pritchard, who brings his producing talents to bear on "You Wash My Soul in Sound." Additional contributions from John Pirrucello, James Haggerty, Leddie Garcia, Greg Wiezorek, and singers Michelle Vidal and Durga McBroom grace tracks throughout the release.
"This is my third album," says Perhacs. "It is truly my best so far because it is a collaboration with other amazing artists. In our world that is increasingly suffering from an 'Eclipse of All Love,' this album will renew your love and 'Wash Your Soul in Sound'."

According to co-producer Sansone: "Working with Linda on I'm A Harmony has been a joy and a true learning experience. She injects so much soul and quiet magic into every molecule of her writing and performances on this album. Working with her I was continuously inspired, and my fandom amplified."

Co-producer Perdomo said: "Linda Perhacs is a musical treasure. It has been an honor to help Linda continue to bring so much joy to the world with her amazing vision and spirit. I'm A Harmony may be the most ambitious record I have ever been a part of. At 75, Linda is more creative than ever and I hope she inspires everyone as much as she has inspired me."

Track Listing:
1. Winds of the Sky (featuring Nels Cline)
2. We Will Live (featuring Julia Holter and Devendra Banhart)
3. I'm a Harmony (featuring Julia Holter)
4. The Dancer
5. Crazy Love (featuring the Autumn Defense)
6. Take Your Love to a Higher Level (featuring Durga McBroom and Michelle Vidal)
7. Eclipse of All Love (featuring Pat Sansone)
8. One Full Circle Around the Sun

9. Beautiful Play (featuring Julia Holter)
10. Visions (featuring Julia Holter)
11. You Wash My Soul in Sound (featuring Mark Pritchard)

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Dave Kline Band Releases New Album "Shifting Borders" On September 1, 2017
Ernesto Cortazar Releases New Album "Piano & Strings"
Ben Haenow Announces UK Tour For December 2017
Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike Release New Single "Complicated" With David Guetta & Kiiara
Producer Manager Jonathan Rego Of The Greenlit Collective Joins Forces With Producer Management Company Rolling Artists
Kesha Unveils "Rainbow Tour," Her First Solo Trek Since 2013
Rihanna Joins Kendrick Lamar In 'LOYALTY.' Video!
Milwaukee's Telethon Announce Details For Upcoming Concept Album 'The Great Spontanean: A Tale Told In Five Acts'
The Lonely Biscuits Announce The San Francisco EP, Premiere "Talk About" Video
Brooklyn Duo The Gay Blades Release Sophomore Album 'Savages' On Vinyl!
Sony Classical Releases The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Of 'The Dark Tower'
No Trigger Stream Adult Braces; Launch Physical Pre-Orders
Darren Parry Releases New Single "Why Won't You Let Me Love You"
Carlos Vives' New Video "Robarte Un Beso" Reaches Over 8 Million Views In The First 24 Hours Of Release
Mica Paris To Pay Tribute To Ella Fitzgerald At BBC Proms In The Park

© 2001-2017
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0047400 secs // 4 () queries in 0.062093734741211 secs
Members Area

Experience our site ad-free!