News Country 05/08/2017

Dan Wilson's Re-Covered Out Now; Fall Tour Dates Announced

Dan Wilson's Re-Covered Out Now; Fall Tour Dates Announced

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Dan Wilson releases Re-Covered, a unique album that finds the Grammy-winning songwriter reinterpreting songs from his storied career that he wrote for and with other artists like Adele, Chris Stapleton, The Dixie Chicks and even his own band Semisonic. The album, which marks his third solo studio release, is now available for purchase and streaming via all major retailers.

In addition to the album, Wilson will release a deluxe edition hardcover book and CD that contains 56 pages of drawings, essays, lyrics, and songwriting observations. The book contains illustrations and stories by Wilson about each Re-Covered song, in addition to each song's lyrics. This deluxe hardcover book/album will be released on August 25 and includes a physical CD (pre-order via Amazon or PledgeMusic).

The Associated Press reviewed the album and said, "Wilson proves his empathy, especially on 'Someone Like You' with backing from the Kronos Quartet, his versions conserve the originals' intimacy with time healing some of the wounds."

The Los Angeles Times' Randall Roberts included Re-Covered in his California Sounds column and said, "Thought you were sick of 'Someone Like You'? Wilson's version, which features the Kronos Quartet, illuminates it from a new perspective."

The album was announced in a conversation with Zane Lowe on his Apple Music Beats 1 Radio show and saw coverage in Billboard, Rolling Stone Country, Salon, Stereogum, Taste of Country and more.

Wilson recently appeared on the Rolling Stone Music Now Podcast with host and Rolling Stone editor Brian Hiatt where they discussed the new album and his career as a musician and songwriter.

Since his days in seminal '90s rock band Semisonic, Wilson has been an in-demand songwriter, producer and arranger for some of the biggest acts in pop and rock music like Phantogram, Weezer, Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Halsey and My Morning Jacket. For his latest 13-track album, Wilson has taken songs he's co-written with other artists and made them his own - his own arrangements, his voice, his guitar. The result is an eclectic spin on some of the biggest songs in pop music over the last 15 years as well as some gems that never quite made it big.

Most of the songs on the album were recorded live and mixed in an intensive week-long session at United Studios in Los Angeles, with longtime collaborators Mike Viola producing and Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Pete Thomas on drums. Wilson credits Thomas, best known for his decades of work with Elvis Costello, with being central to the crafting of the arrangements.
Wilson will tour in support of Re-Covered this fall, with additional tour dates to be announced in the coming months.

Track list:
1) All Will Be Well (Gabe Dixon)
2) Home (Dierks Bentley)
3) You an I (John Legend)
4) Someone Like You ft. Kronos Quartet (Adele)
5) Never Meant To Love You (Cory Chisel)
6) Not Ready To Make Nice (Dixie Chicks)
7) Landing (Matt Wilson)
8) Treacherous (Taylor Swift)
9) Borrowed (LeAnn Rimes)
10) Your Misfortune (Mike Doughty)
11) When The Stars Come Out (Chris Stapleton)
12) If I Walk Away (Josh Groban)
13) Closing Time (Semisonic)

Tour Dates:
9/22: St. Paul, MN - Fitzgerald Theater
9/23: Chicago, IL - City Winery
9/27: Boston, MA - City Winery
9/28: New York, NY - City Winery
9/30: Nashville, TN - City Winery
10/20: Los Angeles, CA - Troubadour
10/21: San Francisco, CA - Swedish American Music Hall.

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Drummer Tony Allen Releases New Single "Push And Pull"
Dave Kline Band Releases New Album "Shifting Borders" On September 1, 2017
A$AP Mob Announces Awgest: The Month Of The Mob
Darren Parry Releases New Single "Why Won't You Let Me Love You"
Cool Jazz With A Sultry Sound: Award-winning Jazz Singer Kathy Sanborn Takes A Deep Dive Into Love With Recollecting You
Lana Del Rey Lands At No1!
The BareRoot Feat. Carol Hatchett Releases New EP "Music Will Lift You"
Kesha Unveils "Rainbow Tour," Her First Solo Trek Since 2013
San Eco Releases New Album "San Eco"
Jay-Z: Chris Martin Is A "Modern Day Shakespeare"
Arrow Video US - August 2017 Release Schedule
Sons Of Apollo Featuring Ex-Members Of Dream Theater, Guns N' Roses And Journey Debut Album 'Psychotic Symphony,' Due Out October 20
Carlos Vives' New Video "Robarte Un Beso" Reaches Over 8 Million Views In The First 24 Hours Of Release
Post Malone Returns To The Road For Headline Tour This Fall 2017
Bruce Springsteen Signs With Universal Music Publishing Group To Globally Administer Iconic Catalog

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0245960 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0092837810516357 secs
Members Area