News Pop / Rock 08/09/2017

Carmaig De Forest's Alex Chilton-Produced LP From 1987, 'I Shall Be Released,' Is Re-Released

Carmaig De Forest's Alex Chilton-Produced LP From 1987, 'I Shall Be Released,' Is Re-Released

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Carmaig de Forest's 1987 Alex Chilton-produced album I Shall Be Released was one in a long line of albums subjected to the whims of the record business. Initially slated for release on a larger label with some marketing muscle, the LP eventually wound up on a small, San Francisco indie and never got the exposure it deserved. A follow up live EP didn't even see a release in the U.S.
Fast-forward a few decades. Now, on the 30th anniversary of Released's release, it's time to relish in de Forest's wit, passion and talent in a re-release that will reintroduce an artist many missed the first time around.
Omnivore Recordings will issue the expanded edition of de Forest's I Shall Be Released, re-titled I Shall Be Re-Released, on November 10, 2017. It's the album's first time on CD, and will be available digitally as well.
The package combines de Forest's original album and live EP with four previously unissued tracks from the original album sessions plus an additional unissued live recording, and includes new liners from set co-producer Pat Thomas, new interviews with Carmaig and his contemporaries, and rare photos.
"From the moment I first heard Carmaig's songs when he opened up for us — during our very first tour around the whole country — he's always been one of my favorite songwriters," writes Gordon Gano of the Violent Femmes. John Doe of X noticed as well, recalling: "Who the hell is this guy singing smart and funny songs playing a damn ukulele?"
De Forest recollects: "This whole reissue thing came out of the blue. Excavating the masters, old photos and clippings for Omnivore has been a real blast from the past — taking me back to those heady days and all those California-post-punk-new-wave-art-damaged characters with all their various crazy creative projects and rock-star dreams which was me too of course. And just as important it takes me back to Alex Chilton: To so many people, I was some kind of ukulele-punk-rocker, but Alex heard the songs; and he plugged them — and me — into his no-nonsense way of recording them as simple but twisted garage rock or whatever you'd call that music we made. The sessions were magic and Alex gave me so much of himself to this project.
"If I didn't fully retire from the music scene, I certainly began what's become a very long hiatus, when Diana Froley (now de Forest) and I started our family twelve years ago. I was washing dishes and listening to NPR when I heard that Alex had died. I hadn't been in touch with him for years and now he was gone. It's funny, when I Shall Be Released first came out I was all "Yes! This is my album and my time to take on the world." These days, I think of it more this great lost little gem of Alex Chilton's as much as mine. Just listen to that guitar! I'm so happy it's getting out back out there."
According to annotator Thomas, "This release captures not just a snap-shot of his sojourn with the iconic Alex Chilton, it captures the San Francisco that I loved during the 1980s when we'd all hang out at the Paradise Lounge and the Kennel Club, watching the local talent and loving every freaking minute of it."
It was released, but it's time for an official re-release. Be Re-Released.

Track Listing:
1. Los Angeles
2. Long Distance
3. Possibilities
4. Risks in Spring
5. Eddie Prince (That's Entertainment)
6. Big Business
7. Hey Judas
8. Little Speeches
9. I'd Be Delighted
10. Crack's No Worse Than the Fascist Threat
11. Blank Verse
12. Touch of Red
13. Secret Agent Man
14. Dayenu
15. I'll Be Your Angel
Bonus Tracks:
16. Kate Said*
17. Banks of the Ohio*
18. I Don't Wanna Go to Your Hometown*
19. Dark Place*
20. One More Time (Live)
21. Risks In Spring (Live)
22. One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)/You Can't Always Get Want You Want (Live)
23. Kate Said (Live)
24. Dark Place (Live)
25. Long Distance (Live)
26. Dayenu (Live)*
* Previously unissued

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Axiom Tha Wyze Releases New Single From September 15th's Imminence Records Debut Album
Dee Dee Bridgewater Releases New Album Memphis...Yes, I'm Ready On September 15, 2017
Justin Timberlake, Ariana Grande, Pharrell & More To Perform At Dave Matthews' 'A Concert For Charlottesville'
Stuart Hollinger Pushes To Keep Rock Music In The Mainstream
Lee Gantt Announces Debut Single "Ruined This Town"
The House Of Remy Martin Launches Season Four Of The Producers Series Competition In Search Of The Next Big Music Producer
The Contenders (Americana/ Folk-Rock) To Release New Album In November
Universal 1440 Entertainment: Mariah Carey's All I Want For Christmas Is You
The Contenders "Laughing With The Reckless"
Manhack Announces Upcoming EP, Premieres New Song/Μusic Video
St. Vincent To Release New Album 'Masseduction' October 13, 2017
Michael Jackson Scream Album Set For Release On September 29 On CD And Digital
Most Significant Elvis Presley Musical Artifact Returns Home To Graceland
Bob Saget's New Comedy Special Zero To Sixty To Be Released By Comedy Dynamics November 14, 2017
Russian Girlfriends Kick Off UK/EU Tour This Week

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0225279 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0050208568572998 secs
Members Area