News Oldies 28/09/2017

60th Anniversary Of "Funny Face" Celebrated With Deluxe, Expanded Version Of Soundtrack From Classic Film Starring Fred Astaire And Audrey Hepburn

60th Anniversary Of "Funny Face" Celebrated With Deluxe, Expanded Version Of Soundtrack From Classic Film Starring Fred Astaire And Audrey Hepburn

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) To celebrate the 60th anniversary of the classic Audrey Hepburn/Fred Astaire musical film, "Funny Face," Verve Records/UMe is releasing an expanded version of the colorful soundtrack featuring, for the first time ever, all the songs from the beloved romantic comedy resequenced in the order in which they're heard in the film. Available September 29 on CD and digital, the 60th anniversary edition has been re-mastered in high-res audio for the first time and is augmented with eight previously unreleased bonus tracks, giving listeners the opportunity to hear earlier alternate versions of the songs including a few from rehearsals. Preorder now:

Originally a 1928 stage show featuring the songs of George and Ira Gershwin and starring a young Astaire, "Funny Face" was reborn in 1957 with a different story, new songs, and additional music by Leonard Gershe and Roger Edens. The charming film somehow successfully teamed the 58-year old Astaire, playing a fashion photographer who also dances, with the 28-year old Hepburn as the owner of a bookstore who is accidentally discovered by Astaire and groomed to become a fashion model. "Funny Face" also features the famous vocal coach Kay Thompson in an important supporting role as Astaire's publisher and editor.

Released in 1957 in conjunction with the movie, the original soundtrack, produced by Verve founder Norman Granz, featured the songs rearranged and edited down so both sides of the LP would be of approximate length. Taken as a whole, with the songs restored to their full length and in the proper order, one gets to hear the full musical story for the first time. Among the highlights are Hepburn's character Jo Stockton on a wistful version of the Gershwin's "How Long Has This Been Going On," Astaire singing about his co-star in a swinging rendition of "Funny Face" (and the equally rewarding alternate version), the wild dance number "Basal Metabolism," the cheerful "On How To Be Lovely," and Astaire's typically charming and warm vocalizing on "He Loves And She Loves."

The soundtrack, which contains dialogue throughout, includes several other Gershwin classics ("He Loves And She Loves," "Clap Yo' Hands," "'S Wonderful" and "Funny Face"), as well as such Roger Edens and Leonard Gershe numbers as "Bonjour, Paris!," "Let's Kiss And Make Up," and the amusing "Think Pink" (which features Thompson).
Fans of the film and of Fred Astaire and Audrey Hepburn will certainly love this essential 60th anniversary edition of "Funny Face."

Funny Face 60th Anniversary Edition Tracklisting:
1. Main Title/Funny Face/'S Wonderful
2. Think Pink
3. How Long Has This Been Going On
4. How Long Has This Been Going On - Reprise
5. Funny Face
6. Bonjour Paris
7. Basal Metabolism
8. Let's Kiss And Make Up
9. He Loves And She Loves
10. On How To Be Lovely
11. Bonjour Paris
12. Clap Yo Hands
13. 'S Wonderful

Bonus Tracks:
14. Funny Face - alternate version
15. Think Pink - alternate version
16. How Long Has This Been Going On - alternate version
17. Bonjour Paris - alternate version
18. He Loves And She Loves - alternate version
19. On How to Be Lovely - alternate version
20. Clap Yo Hands - alternate version
21. 'S Wonderful - alternate version

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Eastern Shadows - Dimitar Liolev Continuing The Family Tradition
The Roots Of Popular Music: The Ralph S. Peer Story, Delivers First Complete Musical Survey Of Pioneering A&R Man, Producer And Publisher
Hirax: Full Video Footage From Hollywood Show Available!
Female MC T Barz Scores High With The Release Of Her Debut Single "Flexin" - #1, #3 And #10 On Amazon
Not Over Yet Release 'Back To Square One' Single/Music Video Feat. Blaze Bayley And Luca Princiotta
112 Drops New Video For "Dangerous Games"
Soul Singer Charles Bradley Dies Aged 68
Post Malone & 21 Savage's "Rockstar" Shatters Apple Music Streaming Record
Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Inductee, Jonathan Cain Of Journey Releases First Christmas Album, Unsung Noel, Oct. 13
Space4Lease Celebrate EP Release Of 'Drifting'; Upcoming Fall Tour
Sweden's Coldspell Release 'Forevermore' Music Video
NJ's HANG TIGHT Meld Surf-inspired Punk And Pop And Squeeze Every Last Drop Out Of Summer On New Video 'Digital Age'
Circle Of Witches: At The Court Of Candlemass With A New Bass
Milwaukee's Telethon Premiering 90-Minute, 30-Track Punk Rock Opera 'The Grand Spontanean: A Tale Told In Five Acts' On Billboard
The Lonely Biscuits Release The San Francisco EP On Most Lonely Records

© 2001-2017
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.3342440 secs // 4 () queries in 0.063298940658569 secs
Members Area

Experience our site ad-free!