News Rock 29/09/2017

Memphis Zealots Joecephus & The George Jonestown Massacre Announce "Five Minutes To Live: A Tribute To Johnny Cash" October 20th

Memphis Zealots Joecephus & The George Jonestown Massacre Announce "Five Minutes To Live: A Tribute To Johnny Cash" October 20th

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Joey Killingsworth anchors Memphis-based Joecephus & The George Jonestown Massacre which features a revolving cast on bass and drums. He has set his mind to producing a series of tribute albums alongside Dik LeDoux with Joecephus & The GJM as the backing band, with special guest stars to benefit various charities. The first was 2016's double LP "Mutants of The Monster: A Tribute to Black Oak Arkansas", which featured an astounding lineup and raised money for the Memphis area animal rescue The Saviour Foundation.

Now, Saustex will release the latest effort "Five Minutes to Live: A Tribute to Johnny Cash" on October 20th and it is once again impeccably conceived by the pair and recorded in Memphis, TN. Featured guest artists on this EP include: W.S. "Fluke" Holland (Holland is featured on all tracks and was the drummer for Carl Perkins, Johnny Cash and the first man to play a full drum kit on the stage of The Grand Ol' Opry), Mick Harvey (multi-instrumentalist for The Birthday Party, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds), Warren Ellis (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, The Dirty Three), Buzz "King Buzzo" Osborne (The Melvins) and J.D. Pinkus (The Butthole Surfers, Honky). The EP is available on 12" 140 gram blue vinyl in an edition of 200 (exclusively as well as black vinyl, CD and digital. As a kicker, all of the band's profits benefit the FSH Society. The band will tour in October (dates below).

Previously, Saustex Records released "Mutants Of The Monster" a 17 track, first ever tribute to 1970's Arena Rock legends Black Oak Arkansas. Joecephus & The George Jonestown Massacre provide backing to the guest vocalists and instrumentalists that appear on the record, breathing new life and energy into BOA's classic catalog. Featured artists include: Blaine Cartwright and Ruyter Suys (Nashville Pussy), Jimbo Mathus (Squirrel Nut Zippers), Robby Turner (Sturgill Simpson) Shooter Jennings, JD Pinkus (Honky, Butthole Surfers), Nik Turner (Hawkwind), Eddie Spaghetti (Supersuckers), Brian Venable (Lucero), Jeff Clayton (Anitseen), Greg Ginn (Black Flag), Rickie Lee Reynolds (BOA), Bill Davis (Dash Rip Rock), Jim "Dandy" Mangrum (BOA), Whiskeydick, Paul Leary (Butthole Surfers), CT (Rwake), Michael Denner (Mercyful Fate, King Diamond), Jimmy Henderson (BOA), Jello Biafra, Nine Pound Hammer, Kyle Turley, Mickey Raphael (Willie Nelson Band) and The Kentucky Bridgeburners.

Joecephus & the George Jonestown Massacre on Tour
10/05 - Hogrocktoberfest - Cave In Rock, IL
10 /06 - Capone's - Johnson City, TN
10/07 - Hellbilly Hootenanny - Asheville, NC
10/08 - Blind Bob's - Dayton, Ohio, OH
10/09 - The Hard Rock - Pittsburgh, PA
10/10 - Hank's Saloon - Brooklyn, NY
10/11 - The Depot - Baltimore, MD
10/12 - Local 506 - Chapel Hill, NC
10/13 - The Milestone - (opening for Antiseen) - Charlotte, NC
10/14 - Rev*el*ry - Hendersonville, TN
10/20 - Rockhouse Live Midtown - (5 Min To Live Release show) - Memphis, TN

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Female MC T Barz Scores High With The Release Of Her Debut Single "Flexin" - #1, #3 And #10 On Amazon
Acclaimed Songwriting Podcast And The Writer Is... Returns For A Second Season
Singer/Songwriter Jordan Hurwitz Releases New "I Love Your ABS" Music Video Following Her Recent Lovesick. EP Release And Tour
Post Malone & 21 Savage's "Rockstar" Shatters Apple Music Streaming Record
Jenn Vix Shares First Single 'Complicated Man' From 'Unlocked' LP
Bob Mundy Releases New Album "Love To Me"
Chasing Coral - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Available Now On Zero-emissions Day
Residente Leads Latin Grammy Nominations With Nine, Followed By Maluma With Seven, And Shakira With Six!
Jay-Z, Jennifer Lopez, DJ Khaled, Kaskade, Chris Brown And More To Participate In 3rd Annual Tidal X: Brooklyn
Sony Music Releases The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Of "The Foreigner"
Toyota And VH1 Save The Music Foundation's National Music Education Program Culminates With Grant Presentation Featuring A Performance By Imagine Dragons
"Battle Of The Sexes" Soundtrack Featuring The Original Song "If I Dare" By Sara Bareilles
The Eyal Vilner Big Band Hanukkah Album Brings Traditional Hanukkah Songs To The Swing Era, Blending Jazz With Jewish And Middle Eastern Music
305's Very Own And Hip Hop Pioneer Luther "Uncle Luke" Campbell Is The "I Am Hip Hop" Award Recipient
Pop Recording Artist And Songwriter Brandon Michael Releases "See U (then You're Gone)"

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.2420499 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0075504779815674 secs
Members Area