News Rock 02/10/2017

Terra Lightfoot Releases New Single "Norma Gale"

Terra Lightfoot Releases New Single "Norma Gale"

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Songwriter Terra Lightfoot has released her new single, "Norma Gale". With a compelling narrative and simmering arrangement that builds from subdued organ chords to an explosive refrain, "Norma Gale" is examplary of the incisive and sincere songwriting that fans have come to expect from Lightfoot.

Lightfoot explains the poignant story behind the song: "I was inspired to write this song after meeting a Canadian woman named Norma Gale who was a near-famous country star in the 1970s. She played all over the world but specifically had a great following in Nashville, played with Loretta Lynn and Conway Twitty. This song is one of my first songwriter songs, I'd say. It chronicles the life of Norma as a musician in the '70s, and trying to bring up her young son while she's gunning for sustainable success. I kept in touch with Norma and her son and let them know when I finally made it to Nashville to do some writing, but unfortunately she had passed away two weeks earlier."

"Norma Gale" follows the release of Terra's exuberant foot-stomping lead single and video "Paradise", which premiered via American Songwriter.
"A roots rocker with a powerful voice and a badass Gibson SG that she plays with consummate ease... she could be your new rock 'n' roll hero. Drawing from rock, soul & blues, Terra Lightfoot is a monster talent that will be gracing the world's largest stages in no time." - PopMatters
"Lightfoot crafts ballads and barnburners that hearken back to the past, delivered with fresh energy." - BUST

Shot through with the guitarist-vocalist's powerful, bluesy soul, vivid lyrics and ferocious six-string virtuosity, New Mistakes is an unforgettable outing. From the ground-shaking stomp of "Paradise" and wild-eyed energy of "Pinball King" that open the set to the psychedelic, gospel-tinged album closer "Lonesome Eyes," the steeltown native's third record distills her masterful talent to its electrifying essence.

Produced by Gus van Go and Werner F (Arkells, Sam Roberts Band, Wintersleep), New Mistakes is a heady journey. As poignant as it is rollicking and vulnerable as it is rowdy, it cruises long and sometimes lonesome highways that lead everywhere from brokedown dive bars and endless prairie skies to mountain ranges and the Mojave Desert.

New Mistakes is now available for pre-order:
Terra Lightfoot Store:
Google Play:

Built around Lightfoot's killer live band — Maury LaFoy (bass), Joel Haynes (drums) and Jeff Heisholt (keyboards) — the session impresses on all counts. It's Lightfoot's hungriest and most raw album to date, able to mesmerize with graceful melodies one moment, and step into the ring to deliver a hurricane of hooks or a heart-wrenching chorus the next.

New Mistakes track list:
1. Paradise
2. Pinball King
3. Ruthless
4. You Get High
5. Stars Over Dakota
6. Norma Gale
7. Hold You
8. Slick Back Kid
9. Drifter
10. Two Hearts
11. Three In The Morning
12. Lonesome Eyes

Terra Lightfoot U.S. Tour dates (supporting Whitehorse):
Oct 1 • Allston, MA • Great Scott
Oct 2 • Brooklyn, NY • Baby's Alright
Oct 4 • Chicago, IL • Schubas
Oct 6 • Madison, WI • The Frequency
Oct 7 • Goshen, IN • Ignition Garage

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Singer/Songwriter Jordan Hurwitz Releases New "I Love Your ABS" Music Video Following Her Recent Lovesick. EP Release And Tour
Post Malone's New Single "Rockstar" Ft. 21 Savage Debuts #1 Across All Streaming Platforms With 65 Million Streams First Week
Americana/Folk Singer Joel Madison Blount Releases New Album "Our New Moon" On September 29, 2017
Beyonce Teams Up With J Balvin & Willy William For "Mi Gente" Remix
Jenn Vix Shares First Single 'Complicated Man' From 'Unlocked' LP
Goodbye Christopher Robin Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Available Digitally On October 13, 2017
60th Anniversary Of "Funny Face" Celebrated With Deluxe, Expanded Version Of Soundtrack From Classic Film Starring Fred Astaire And Audrey Hepburn
Harry Styles Has Released The First Ever UK Version Of 'Spotify Singles'
Chart-Topping Country Star Kelsea Ballerini To Be Honored With Vanguard Award At 55th ASCAP Country Music Awards
Acclaimed Songwriting Podcast And The Writer Is... Returns For A Second Season
The Future Of Music Recording Is Wireless, Portable, And Simple
New Recording Artist Omar Wilson Releases His New Single "Passion" On September 29, 2017
Son Little Announces UK + Euro Tour
Australian Pop Vocal Group Human Nature Sign To Legacy Recordings Ahead Of The Release Of Their Hit Album 'Jukebox: The Ultimate Playlist' On November 3, 2017
Might As Well Fest 3 Announce Final Line Up

© 2001-2018
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0104840 secs // 4 () queries in 0.059189081192017 secs
Members Area

Experience our site ad-free!