News Pop / Rock 10/10/2017

Depeche Mode + Kraftwerk = Siren Section

Depeche Mode + Kraftwerk = Siren Section

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Siren Section, a two piece Electronic Rock band from Los Angeles, California. The primary members of the band are James Cumberland and John Dowling, equal contributors on electronics, vocals, and sound design, with John handling the guitar and James the keys.

Meeting in High School, in 1994 and finding that they shared an extreme love for styles of music that were, at least at the time, difficult to track down, they started recommending bands to each other and lending records from one another. John was diving primarily into Shoe Gaze, Post Punk, Hardcore, and Indie Rock, and James was at the time getting into more electronic centered music; Industrial, Ambient, Goth, Goa/Psytrance, Break Core, Jungle and IDM.

Reconnecting in 2001 the band experimented with different genres and teamed up with various musicians to nail down something cohesive. Eventually settling into a four piece group, eschewing a live drummer for drum machines and computer sequenced beats, and formed under the name Jinsai, with Michael Harpel on bass, Phil Rodriguez on trumpet/piano, James on synths and computer duties, John on guitar, and the pair of them trading off on singing.

Releasing their first album in 2003, and a follow up record in 2007, before the band eventually pared down and went on hiatus.

In early 2010, James and John reformed into a two-piece as Siren Section.
The duo went in a new direction, opting for something a little more conventional (but still resistant to a clear genre box). Incorporating a more Psychedelic and Synth Pop oriented combo of Cold Wave, Post Punk, Psych Rock with a Krautrock slant, they self-released their debut album, All We Want All At Once in 2014. Their new album, New Disconnect, will be released on October 24th, 2017.

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Ghs New Balanced Nickel Bass Strings
Leading Musical Instrument Brands Prepare To Take Centre Stage At Upcoming Music China 2017
Muddy Waters' Seminal Debut LP "The Best Of Muddy Waters" To Be Reissued On Vinyl For First Time In 30 Years On November 10, 2017
The Searchers' 'Another Night: The Sire Recordings' Brought Brit Invasion Band Into Punk/New Wave Era, Coming December 8, 2017
Sharp/Shock Channel Punk Energy Of The Jam/Stiff Little Fingers; On Tour With The Interrupters, SWMRS 10/13-29
Jazz Great, Former Oscar Peterson Drummer Alvin Queen, Denied Entry Into USA
Must Build Jacuzzi To Release "Last Place" On Indie Vision Music December 1st
"Clublife, Vol. 5 - China" It's Finally Here!
Vince James Announces New Single 'The Man I Want To Be' Out Now
Lakeshore Records Presents Mr. Robot: USA Network's Emmy And Golden Globe Award-Winning Series Soundtrack Volume 4
PictureHouse Releases New Single "Somebody Somewhere"; See Bono's Message Of Support!
Social Repose's "Empress" Video Now Streaming
Rowland Jones Fulfills Lifelong Ambition In Releasing Debut Album
Emmer Effer's "From The Bottom Down" Out Now! Band Playing Felony Records' 20th Anniversary Show, Friday October 13
Available Now: 'Blessed: Hymns And Songs Of Faith' From Bradley Walker Featuring Alison Krauss, Vince Gill, The Oak Ridge Boys And More!

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0120659 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0071525573730469 secs
Members Area
Latest charts