News Rock 05/11/2017

Big Star's "Live At Lafayette's Music Room" Coming From Omnivore Recordings On January 12, 2018

Big Star's "Live At Lafayette's Music Room" Coming From Omnivore Recordings On January 12, 2018

MEMPHIS, TN. (Top40 Charts) It is well known that Big Star played a one-off promotional concert for the Memphis Rock Writers Convention at Lafayette's Music Room in Memphis in May of 1973. The show cemented them into legendary status, after the journalists who witnessed it carried the message of Big Star out in their writing, even though the band had only released one album, #1 Record, and were unsure of recording a second after the departure of co-founder Chris Bell.

What may not be so widely known is that the trio played the same venue four months earlier with the same power and passion opening shows for the Houston R&B band Archie Bell & the Drells. First issued as Disc 4 of the Grammy® Award-winning Keep An Eye On The Sky box set, Live At Lafayette's Music Room sees new light as a stand-alone release, available on January 12, 2018 from Omnivore Recordings on CD, Digital, and for the first time, double LP.

The performance has never sounded better, thanks to new mastering and restoration from Grammy®-winning engineer Michael Graves, with supervision from Grammy®-winning producer Cheryl Pawelski.

The 20-track set features material from Big Star's debut, #1 Record; songs that would appear on the (not yet recorded) follow-up, Radio City; and choice covers from The Kinks, Todd Rundgren, The Flying Burrito Brothers, and T. Rex. As an added bonus, all formats include a download of a previously unissued 1972 interview with Alex Chilton and Andy Hummel from the summer of 1971 with Jon Scott on Memphis' FM 100.

Packaging features new liner notes from Bud Scoppa, who was friends with the band and in attendance at the 1973 Rock Writer's show. His most recent work for Omnivore was an integral part of the acclaimed Big Star box set Complete Third, and earned him the ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/ Virgil Thomson Award for outstanding print, broadcast and new media coverage of music.
Although an opening slot for Archie Bell, and with few live performances under their belt, Scoppa writes: "The recording documents a band morphing into a remarkably versatile trio under the most challenging of circumstances."
Experience the only known document of Big Star at this pivotal point in their short, but massively influential career. Omnivore is proud to present Live At Lafayette's Music Room.

Track Listing:
1. When My Baby's Beside Me
2. My Life Is Right
3. She's A Mover
4. Way Out West
5. The Ballad Of El Goodo
6. In The Street
7. Back Of A Car
8. Thirteen
9. The India Song
10. Try Again
11. Watch The Sunrise
12. Don't Lie To Me
13. Hot Burrito #2
14. I Got Kinda Lost
15. Baby Strange
16. Slut
17. There Was A Light
18. St 100/6
19. Come On Now
20. O My Soul

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Chris Brown Features Julian Blake Ray's Song "Even" On New Album "Heartbreak On A Full Moon"
Jazz Legends Billie Holiday, Dinah Washington And Stan Getz Celebrated With Five-Album Vinyl Box Sets Featuring Some Of Their Classic Records
Filmmaker Nicole Conn Casts Zoe Ventura & Special Needs Actor Cale Ferrin In New Film, Nesting Doll
American Horror Story: Cult Debuts New Art From J.W. Cudd
Rowland Jones Releases "New Start, New Day" On December 1, 2017
Justice League Soundtrack Available November 10
Society Of Voice Arts & Sciences (SOVAS) Partners With Ovation TV For Coverage Of The 2017 Voice Arts Awards From Jazz At Lincoln Center's Fredrick P. Rose Hall November 5th, 2017
Bellamy Brothers Add South Africa, Namibia And Sri Lanka To World Tour And Announce 2018 Dates
Tavis Smiley And Mills Entertainment Announce Tour Of Death Of A King: A Live Theatrical Experience Marking 50th Anniversary Of Martin Luther King Jr's Death
Chris Brown Releases New Double Album "Heartbreak On A Full Moon"!
Stream 21 Savage, Offset, & Metro Boomin's "Without Warning" Album
All Them Pretty Things Releases Third Self-Titled Album!
Beyonce Joins Cast Of Disney's Live-Action 'Lion King'
Princess Saydah Speaks Out Against Atrocities Of Her Country With New Music
Sleep Signals Announce The High Tides Tour With Elisium Presented By Relik Management

© 2001-2017
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0061400 secs // 4 () queries in 0.024059295654297 secs
Members Area

Experience our site ad-free!