Seek out a better experience, upgrade to a full membership! (Learn more)
 News Pop / Rock 13/11/2017

Lydian Collective Announce Genre-Crashing, Colour Infused New Single 'Thirty One'

Lydian Collective Announce Genre-Crashing, Colour Infused New Single 'Thirty One'

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) With nearly 1.3 million views to date on their YouTube channel, a host of solo credits between them (from Roots Manuva to Monument Valley), London's Lydian Collective are an exciting new musical voice who are about to make their mark in the UK and beyond. The band brings together Aaron 'Lazslo' Wheeler (keys), Todd Baker (guitar), Ida Hollis (bass) and Sophie Alloway (drums) - four musicians with individual success under their belts, who have found a collective voice through the band's music.

The Lydian Collective sound is a unique combination of accessible melodies, accomplished musicianship, hypnotic rhythms and an uplifting vibe, which has already been drawing in audiences from around the world. A unique combination of jazz musicianship, melodies that catch the ear and the heart, and infectious rhythms is brought together to winning effect on their first single release "Thirty One", which will be followed quickly by two more singles in 2017 - and the debut album "Adventure" in January 2018.

The millions who follow the band's online channels include fans from as far afield as the USA, China and Japan - with a healthy following on home ground as well, through early support from the likes of Nick Luscombe at BBC Radio 3 and Tom Robinson at BBC 6Music - as well as gigs at the London's Royal Festival Hall, Clore Ballroom and Soho Pizza Express.

An early cameo appearance for the band was on the soundtrack album to Monument Valley 2 - MV2 is a major game release on the iOS platform, developed and marketed by ustwo, with millions of users around the world. Todd Baker, the band's guitarist, wrote the entire soundtrack to the game, and the recording of his track "Child" is a key moment on the soundtrack.

Aaron Wheeler and Todd Baker are the creative minds behind the band's sound. Both have found success as commercial composers, but they first met at college - where a love of music was their bond. Aaron's electronica work as Lazslo also has a successful life of its own, with his track "Mr Sunshine" currently sitting at over 600,000 plays on Spotify (you can check out a version of this track on Lydian Collective's album). The compositions played by the band arose out of a difficult period in Aaron's life when a back injury confined him to his sofa for many months. The pure and playful melodies which arose, and appear in the band's music were part of his long recovery.

Sophie Alloway is one of London's most in-demand drummers, and she is first call for a host of high profile artists. She toured for 2 years with Roots Manuva, around UK, Australia and New Zealand - appearing with him at festivals, on TV and at awards ceremonies. Her other credits include Afrobeat legend Tony Allen; pop/punk singer Hazel Thomas and UK jazz star Jason Rebello.

Ida Hollis is a busy performer, teacher and studio musician - working with singer/songwriter Hattie Whitehead as well as Aaron Diaz's "Zappajazz" and jazz/hip hop fusion band Sum.

Lydian Collective "Adventure" will be released in early 2018
Three singles from the album will be released from November 10th onwards.

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Sound Of Contact's Dave Kerzner Releases New Studio Album "Static" Feat. Members Of Genesis, Big Big Train, Porcupine Tree And Others!
Jane N' The Jungle Release Official Music Video For "Wild Side"
Pandora Presents Sounds Like You: 2017 Concert With Performances By Post Malone, SZA, Ty Dolla $ign & Cheat Codes
Camila Cabello Dominates The UK Singles Chart For Another Week At No 1 With 'Havana'
Unreleased Ella Fitzgerald Live Album 'Εlla At Zardi's', Unearthed From Verve's Vaults 60+ Years Later In Celebration Of Jazz Legend's Centennial
Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real Hit #1 On Americana Radio Chart
SXSW 2018 Music Festival Announces Next Round Of Artists
12th Latin American Cultural Week, November 9 Through 21, 2017 With Theater, Music, Dance, Film, Literature, & Visual Arts Events Throughout NYC
New Single: Eckoes 'Nobody Else' - Previous Support From Q Magazine, Clash & BBC 6 Music
Alicia Keys Drops Unreleased Song 'When You Were Gone'
Seahorse Recordings Presents Claudio Conti 'Garnet Dusk' Album ; Lead Track 'Old Clouds Fell' Is Endearing Folk Bliss + New Video
Jaya The Cat Premiere 'Amsterdam' Music Video
Thermal Entertainment Signs Sumner Roots Featuring Former Members Of Framing Hanley
D.O.A.: A Right Of Passage Coming To Theaters And Blu-Ray + DVD
Excalibur IV - The Dark Age Of The Dragon The Rock Opera Album Featuring Members Of Jethro Tull, Saga, Uriah Heep, Curved Air, Clannad, Supertramp And Others!

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0091341 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0070822238922119 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.
Latest charts