News Country 17/01/2018

Lindi Ortega Triumphs Over Pain And Darkness On Mexican-Influenced Concept LP 'Liberty,' Due March 30



New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Lindi Ortega "has always been the sonic embodiment of the red cowboy boots she's often seen wearing: a fiery and dramatic take on modern country that's impossible to ignore" (Rolling Stone Country), and her fifth studio record 'Liberty' is no exception. Due out March 30, 2018, Ortega wrote roughly half of the twelve tracks solo, and enlisted co-writers Aaron Raitiere, Bruce Wallace and John Paul White (The Civil Wars) for the rest. The result is a three-part concept album reflecting loss, seance, resurrection and freedom.

The journey from darkness is told from a crowd of unsavory characters in "You Ain't Foolin' Me" and even a lost love from childhood in "Til My Dyin Day." Then grief turns to desperation in "Nothing's Impossible" and "The Comeback Kid." However, the tides begin to turn on "Darkness Be Done," and about halfway through, with "Forever Blue," the character makes a choice to follow the light.

The track "Pablo" is inspired by her new husband, Daniel Huscroft. While they performed as a duo on a series of Chris Stapleton arena dates in Canada, Huscroft wore a poncho and grew a handlebar mustache -- a look that led to a new nickname and a song title. 'Liberty' concludes with "Gracias a la Vida" from the pen of Chilean composer Violetta Parra. The title translates as "Thank you to Life."

"Even though I always tried to have a silver lining, whether it's by making my songs tongue-in-cheek, or writing some dark lyrics to happy music, there's always been an element of balancing light and dark on my previous albums," Ortega explains. "But this is a full story, and I want everybody to be able to take something away from it at the end of the day."

Recorded at Battle Tapes studio in East Nashville, Ortega and Skylar Wilson (Justin Townes Earle, Rayland Baxter) scaled back the boot-stomping, throwback country approach that she's known for, instead polishing a set of music that reflects her Mexican lineage. Ortega and Wilson -- who first bonded over their shared passion for Quentin Tarantino movies -- then enhanced the sonic landscape with the help of Country Music Hall of Fame member Charlie McCoy's signature harmonica and Nashville-based band Steelism, drawing on the epic work of Oscar-winning composer Ennio Morricone, who became one of Ortega's musical obsessions during the writing and recording of 'Liberty.'

In addition to the album, Ortega will return to the road beginning this Fri., Jan. 19, with dates planned in the US throughout Spring. For ticket information, and more on Lindi, please visit lindiortega.com.

'Liberty' tracklist:
I. Through The Dust Part I
1. Afraid of the Dark
2. You Ain't Foolin' Me
3. Til My Dyin Day
4. Nothings Impossible
II. Though The Dust Part II
5. The Comeback Kid
6. Darkness Be Gone
7. Forever Blue
8. In The Clear
9. Pablo
10. Lovers In Love
III. Through The Dust Part III
11. Liberty
12. Gracias a la Vida

2018 Lindi Ortega tour dates:
Fri., Jan. 19 / The Basement / Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Sat., Jan. 20 / The Exchange / Regina, SK, Canada
Sun., Feb. 4-Sun., Feb. 11 / Cayamo 2018 / New Orleans, LA, US
Thurs., Feb. 15 / South on Main / Little Rock, AR, US
Fri., Feb. 16 / Knuckleheads Saloon / Kansas City, MO, US
Thurs., Mar. 15 /The Lyric Theatre / Swift Current, SK, Canada
Fri., Mar. 16 / Arden Theatre / St. Albert, AB, Canada
Sat., Mar. 17 / Empress Theatre / Fort Macleod, AB, Canada
Sat., Mar. 24 / The Tractor Tavern / Seattle, WA, US
Sun., Mar. 25 / Mississippi Studios / Portland, OR, US
Thurs., Mar. 29 / Moroccan Lounge / Los Angeles, CA, US
Fri., Mar. 30 / Soda Bar / San Diego, CA, US
Sun., Apr. 1 / Musical Instrument Museum / Phoenix, AZ, US
Tues., Apr. 3 / Stubb's BBQ - Indoors / Austin, TX, US
Wed., Apr. 4 / Club Dada / Dallas, TX, US
Thurs., Apr. 5/ McGonigel's Mucky Duck / Houston, TX, US
Thurs., Apr. 12 / Festival Hall / Calgary, AB, Canada
Sat., Apr. 14 / West End Cultural Centre / Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Sun., Apr. 15 / Dakota Jazz Club / Minneapolis, MN, US
Tues., Apr. 17 / Lincoln Hall / Chicago, IL, US
Thurs., Apr. 19 / Old Rock House / St. Louis, MO, US
Fri., Apr. 20 / 3rd & Lindsley / Nashville, TN, US
Sat., Apr. 21 / Eddie's Attic / Decatur, GA, US
Sun., Apr. 22 / The Evening Muse / Charlotte, NC, US
Tues., Apr. 24 / Union Stage / Washington DC, US
Wed., Apr. 25 / Rams Head On Stage / Annapolis, MD, US
Thurs., Apr. 26 Mercury Lounge / New York, NY, US
Fri., May 4 / L'Escogriffe / Montreal, QC, Canada
Sat., May 5 / The 27 Club / Ottawa, ON, Canada
Sun., May 6 / Neat Coffee Shop / Burnstown, ON, Canada
Mon., May 7 / Centre in the Square / Kitchener, ON, Canada
Wed., May 9 / Mod Club Theatre / Toronto, ON, Canada
Thurs., May 10 / Aeolian Hall / London, ON, Canada
Fri., May 11 / Mills Hardware / Hamilton, ON, Canada
Sat., May 12 / Queen's Grad Club / Kingston, ON, Canada
Hugh Masterson will be direct tour support in the US beginning Sat., Mar. 24.




Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone



Most read news of the week
Chris Smither's 18th Album, 'Call Me Lucky,' Coming On March 2, 2018
Now That's What I Call Music! Presents Today's Biggest Hits On Now 65 Available On February 2, 2018
Groundbreaking Augmented Reality Comes To The 2018 Slamdance Film Festival
Carrie Underwood To Perform Self-Penned Song 'The Champion' At NBC's Super Bowl LII
Fuzz Releases "Time After Time" On March 9, 2018
Southern Hip-Hop/Rock Group I4NI Signs With Thirteen Skulls Entertainment & Release First Single And Video "Think It's A Game" Featuring Bubba Sparxxx
Inner Circle Avenue Release Official Music Video For "Goin' Nowhere Fast"
Cranberries Singer Dolores O'Riordan Dies Aged 46
Blameshift To Attend Winter Namm In Anaheim, California In Support Of Rock N Roll Inspired Jewelry Strüng
Templeton PEK Release 'The Awakening' Single & Lyric Video
Snow Tha Product The Must-See Emerging Female Artist To Discover At The Dinah 2018
Citi Presents Exclusive Citi Sound Vault Concerts In NYC For Cardmembers During The Biggest Week In Music
Twisted Wheel - Snakes & Ladders Spring 2018 Tour
Brit Awards 2018: Full List Of Nominees
Daniel Lieberberg Named President, Continental Europe And Africa, Sony Music Entertainment




© 2001-2018
top40-charts.com (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0212569 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0057709217071533 secs
Top40-Charts.com
Members Area




Experience our site ad-free!