Seek out a better experience, upgrade to a full membership! (Learn more)
 News Alternative 02/02/2018

Wess Meets West Announce New Album A Light Within The Fracture Released 6th April Via Hassle Records

Video news

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) New Haven, Connecticut four-piece Wess Meets West are pleased to announce that their forthcoming album A Light Within The Fracture is set for release on 6th April via Hassle Records.
The album is available to pre-order digitally and on limited edition vinyl now:​
Alongside the news, the band have revealed a stunning live performance video for their new single 'Skylar, There's Rot' plus details of a very special live performance at the Planetarium of New York's Hudson River Museum on 31st March, with UK dates planned for later this year.

Guitarist and songwriter Sam Stauff comments on the new track: "Nick (Robinson, guitar) brought this idea to the band during our first early writing sessions in the cabin. The song explores a lot of very fun areas for us musically, from heavier sections to electronics. For a song as compact as this, it really moves across the spectrum. Andy (Porta, drums) really gets a chance to have some amazing drum moments on this song. Erick (Alfisi, bass) really cuts loose, letting his tone do the talking on the heavy parts but also exploring some bass leads that complement those pretty guitars during the quieter section in the heart of the song. That blend of melodies for a brief moment in the song is probably one of my parts of the whole record."

The new record will be the band's third full-length studio offering, and sees them continuing their eclectic journey of musical self-discovery in typically ambitious style. Mainly known as purveyors of a defiantly optimistic strain of instrumental rock the quartet began life as the project of lead guitarist Sam Stauff, and have now grown to incorporate elements of electronica and live programming into their sound.

"I think this album represents many feelings we collectively have as a band and as individuals," explains Stauff of the concepts behind the new record "Be it feelings of hope, despair, joy - they're all very visceral feelings towards life and the constant shifting that comes with it.

Prolific writers, the band have so far released two EPs - Live At Riverworks (2014) and Barricades (2015) - and two studio albums, their 2011 debut Chevaliers and sophomore record When The Structures Fail Us (2014), as well as a full remix record titled Migration : When the Structures Fail Us Remixes (2014). They have been featured in Paste Magazine, Electronic Musician magazine, Premier Guitar, NPR Morning Edition, CBS, Wrangler, ESPN's X-Games and, most recently, in Spotify's Deep Focus Playlist which racked up over four million plays.

Over the years they have shared the stage with the likes of The Appleseed Cast, This Will Destroy You, Caspian,…And You Will Know Us By The Trail of Dead, Maps and Atlases, Pianos Become The Teeth, This Town Needs Guns (TTNG), And So I Watch You From Afar, The World Is A Beautiful Place And I Am No Longer Afraid To Die and many more.
Further details and live dates TBA

31st March - Yonkers, New York - Hudson River Museum Planetarium (USA)

Watch the video for previous single 'Direct Experience' here:​

Wess Meets West are:
Erick Alfisi - bass, vocals
Andy Porta - drums, vocals
Nick Robinson - guitar, vocals, programming
Sam Stauff - guitar, vocals, programming

Wess Meets West online:

Most read news of the week
New Music Video Delivering Impressive Message To The World
60th Grammys Winners 2018: The Complete List
The 2018 iHeartRadio Music Awards To Feature Performances By Ed Sheeran, Cardi B, Maroon 5, Camila Cabello, Charlie Puth, Backstreet Boys And More
Introducing Scott Mickelson
ASCAP "I Create Music" Expo 2018 Debuts First Taste Of Grammy-Winning, Multi-Platinum Lineup: Jason Mraz, Marc Cohn, Darrell Brown, Dan Wilson, Claudia Brant, Desmond Child, Marcus Miller, Paul Williams, Billie Eilish + Finneas O'Connell
Busta Rhymes, Missy Elliott, Kelly Rowland Team For New Song "Get It"!
Audified And DW Drums Announce DW Drum Enhancer Plug-In At NAMM 2018
Avicii Has Relaunched His Global Hit Music Game "Gravity"
Matthew Carroll Debut Album "Left To Burn" Out Now
Sony/ATV Signs Luke Laird To Worldwide Publishing Deal
Chris Price's Acclaimed 'Stop Talking' Album Sessions Spawn A Third Album, 'Dalmatian,' Available Digitally On March 2, 2018
New Release From Austin's Joe King Carrasco & Patricia Vonne
Mountain Music Festival Announces 2018 Festival Lineup: Two Nights Of Umphrey's McGee & Big Something Headline Event At Ace Adventure Resort, May 31st - June 2nd
Stevie R. Pearce And The Hooligans (Guitarist Warrior Soul, Jizzy Pearls/Love Hate) Reissue Self-Titled Debut Album, UK Tour
52nd Annual Bill Monroe Memorial Bean Blossom Bluegrass Festival To Include Performances By Ricky Skaggs, Asleep At The Wheel & More

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0092139 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0075962543487549 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.
Latest charts