News Jazz 27/02/2018

Nino Tempo's 'Purveyor Of Balladry: The Best Of Nino Temp On Atlantic' Coming From Omnivore On April 13, 2018

Nino Tempo's 'Purveyor Of Balladry: The Best Of Nino Temp On Atlantic' Coming From Omnivore On April 13, 2018

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Omnivore Recordings will release Purveyor of Balladry: The Best of Nino Tempo on Atlantic, a compilation of the multi-talented musician's 1990s recordings for Atlantic Records, on April 13, 2018.
Nino Tempo has had a storied and varied career in the entertainment business. He was a musical prodigy, winning a national talent show for his singing at four years of age. A few years later, he took up the clarinet, inspired to learn the instrument after a brief stint singing with Benny Goodman's band. Less than a year later (at the age of 10), Nino added the saxophone to his musical arsenal after hearing recordings of Charlie Parker. He was also an actor in a number of movies, notably alongside Jimmy Stewart in The Glenn Miller Story (1953).
In the early 1960s, Tempo joined the in-demand group of studio musicians known as the Wrecking Crew. It was at a Bobby Darin recording session that Nino first met Atlantic co-founder Ahmet Ertegun, and a lifelong friendship began.
Along with a new friendship, a recording career was launched as Ertegun signed Nino and his sister, April Stevens, to a recording contract with Atco, a subsidiary of Atlantic. So successful was Nino and April's 1963 duet, "Deep Purple," that the chart-topping, million-selling gold record scored a Best Rock and Roll Recording Grammy® in 1964.
The 1970s found Nino equally active, this time with his band Nino Tempo and 5th Ave. Sax. The group's 1973 hit, "Sister James," has been cited as one of the first instrumental disco records to make the charts. It has since become a Northern Soul favorite. In 1975, Nino's ongoing session work included playing both saxophone and keyboards on John Lennon's Phil Spector-produced album, Rock 'n' Roll.
In 1989, shortly after Ahmet Ertegun's brother Nesuhi passed away, Nino was on hand at Lincoln Center to pay tribute at his memorial service with a stirring rendition of "Darn That Dream." It was that very performance — appearing for the first time on Purveyor of Balladry — that landed Nino Tempo back on the Atlantic Records roster. Omnivore's compilation is drawn from the best of Nino's two Atlantic studio albums.
The collection's title is derived from a comment by jazz critic and author, Leonard Feather. In his review of a 1993 Nino Tempo concert, Feather referred to the sax player as "a purveyor of balladry."
"To my dear friend Nino Tempo," Ahmet Ertegun wrote in 2006, "You have been a major figure in this Atlantic story in many ways: As artist, producer, composer, session player, critic, soloist and as friend and advisor. Thank you for being there, and much love."
Of this release, Tempo says, "My saxophone becomes the little boy in me. It's the window to my soul. Thanks to Omnivore for providing the view."

Track Listing:
1. Darn That Dream (Live)* 

2. This Masquerade (Instrumental-Only Version)* 

3. Anyone Who Had A Heart
4. Amazon River (featuring April Stevens) 

5. Brazil
6. You Are So Beautiful (featuring Roberta Flack)
7. Bahia Manhattan
8. Call It Love
9. A Theme For Anna
10. 'Round Midnight
11. Stella By Starlight
12. Suzanne (You Can)
13. Goodbye
*Previously unissued 

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Lethal Injektion Releases Intensely Rousing Music Video For West Coast Metal Defining Single "The Crossover"
Alex Di Leo Releases Official Music Video For "Brooklyn Bridge"
Halo Tora Release 'Always The Last To Know' Music Video/Single & UK/EU Tour Dates
5 Seconds Of Summer Returns With New Single "Want You Back"!
Mary J. Blige, Common, Andra Day, Miguel, Sufjan Stevens Among 2018 Oscar Academy Awards Performers
James McMurtry And John Moreland Join Forces For Midwest And East Coast Tour In Late March
Vancouver Pop Punk Band Chief State Sign With Mutant League Records; Stream The New Track/Video For "Broken Eyes"
Chicago Indie Jetsam-Flotsam Releasing Split From Minneapolis's Holler House/Technician On March 3
The Future Is Femme - Ms Mohammed Spearheads Music's Contribution To Year Of The Woman
NYC Punk Rock Band The Tracys Single/music Video "'People Scare Me"
Introducing Big Little Lions
Void Recordings Presents The Worthy Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
The Dub Righters Head Out On UK Tour In Support Of New Record 'True Sound Killaz'
Citadel Announces Title Sponsorship Of New Country Music Festival
Drake Leads Billboard Hot 100 With 'God's Plan' For 5th Week, Drawing Monstrous 101.7 Million US Streams

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0080509 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0096869468688965 secs
Members Area
Latest charts