Seek out a better experience, upgrade to a full membership! (Learn more)
 News Alternative 05/04/2018

Stunning New Album From Ex John Peel Favourite's New Project 'Ruins'

Stunning New Album From Ex John Peel Favourite's New Project 'Ruins'

Video news

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Ruins are: Lloyd Rock (vocals & drums)
Nik Kavanagh (bass & synth)

Existing somewhere between dream and memory, the lyrically enchanting songs of Ruins present a melodic honesty, as joyous and melancholic as the human heart.

Recorded in Liverpool's Crosstown Studios, the duo's intimate storytelling takes the listener on an ethereal reminiscence through an emotive landscape of lives past and futuristic nostalgia.

Atmospheric noisescapes centre around minimal synth and drum machine arrangements, underpinned by brooding basslines.

The duo at the core of these sonic snapshots are the soaring falsetto vocals of Lloyd Rock, with songwriter Nik Kavanagh - formerly bassist with John Peel session regulars Ella Guru - providing the musical foundation for the band's moody sound.

Nik says: "I became weary of creating songs in the acoustic singer-songwriter format and wanted to try something different with these songs. Having been inspired by The Durutti Column and The Cure I essentially set about creating and recording textured instrumentals with some rough sketches for melody lines. I'd then pass these recordings to Lloyd who would then come back to me with these stunning melodies."

Lloyd says: "A drunken conversation here, the passing of time there, but when Nik was ready and showed me his demos, I became instantly inspired. Lyrical and melodic ideas that had been waiting in my notebook had found a voice…and I liked it. Where ever there is mood, I'm soon to follow."

Ernest and poetic, Ruins deliver emotive landscapes contained in an existential chrysalis. Featuring themes of love, loss and hope, these tunes are a joyous earful from start to finish.
Clocking in at 29 mins, Ruins' debut release 'Sample Size' is here.

Lead tracks:
1. The Last Nail
2. No Tiggy Butcher
3. Misery Vaults
Twitter @HouseOfBanality

Most read news of the week
Martin Guitar Introduces Premium Banjo And Mandolin Strings At The 2018 Frankfurt Musikmesse
Country Singer Corinne Cook Releases New Single "Last Thing To Go"
Summerfest 2018 Headliner Line Up Revealed
Denver's Music Scene Tops The Charts This Summer
Legendary Singer/Songwriter John Prine Signs Worldwide Publishing Deal With Downtown
Country Singer Corinne Cook Releases New Single "Last Thing To Go"
Archie & The Bunkers Share New Video 'She's A Rocking Machine' Ahead Of Sophomore LP 'Songs From The Lodge' On Dirty Water Records
Taylor Grey Wins Big At 16th Annual Independent Music Awards
Braden Barrie/SayWeCanFly Announces 'I'm Another You Tour' May 3-June 5
Screamin' Whisper Aim To Clean Up With "Filth"!
Starset Sign To Fearless Records
Kerrang's Best Unsigned Band Guitarist Re-launches As Short Sharp Scratch, Returning With Melancholy Synthpop Single 'Summer Days'
Singer/Songwriter John Craigie Announces New Album 'Scarecrow'
Taylor Swift Gives Special Performance At Bluebird Cafe Where She Was Discovered
Nick Lowe To Release 'Tokyo Bay/ Crying Inside' EP On June 15, 2018

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0130200 secs // 4 () queries in 0.01081371307373 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.
Latest charts