News Alternative 04/05/2018

Guadalcanal Diary's Live Album 'At Your Birthday Party,' Coming From Omnivore On July 13, 2018

Guadalcanal Diary's Live Album 'At Your Birthday Party,' Coming From Omnivore On July 13, 2018

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Guadalcanal Diary exploded on the scene in 1985 when the previous year's Walking in the Shadow of the Big Man was issued via Elektra Records and spawned the hit "Watusi Rodeo." Over the next four years, Murray Attaway (vocals, guitar), Jeff Walls (guitar, vocals), Rhett Crowe (bass, vocals), and John Poe (drums, vocals) released three more critically acclaimed albums before calling it a day. The band reconvened for live shows in the late '90s; tape was rolling during a two-night stand at Smith's Olde Bar in Atlanta, Ga., January 1998. The following year, At Your Birthday Party was self-released as a thank-you to "Guadal fans everywhere."

This 16-track performance finally will receive worldwide distribution on July 13, 2018 via Omnivore Recordings, with updated artwork and new liner notes from Attaway. It encompasses everything their fans love about the band - favorites from all four Elektra releases, as well as one song that only appears on this collection, plus the hooks and passion that filled venues.

According to Attaway, from the liner notes, "After doing one solo album in L.A., I wanted to go back to the South and record with musicians who were pals and who had the same record collection that I had...A lot of tracks that I love came from those sessions, but others seemed like Guadalcanal songs. Guadal needed to do them. So Rhett Crowe, John Poe, and Jeff Walls all agreed to play on the tracks. That record remains unreleased, unfortunately. But during the sessions, the four of us had big fun and we decided to do some live shows. Again, a good time was had by all. Then we got anxious to do a live album, as we never quite got our sound on record accurately, because you never do. So we did that. "
At Your Birthday Party shows that the band never lost its drive, and that the songs still resonate.

Track listing:
1. Gilbert Takes the Wheel
2. Trail of Tears
3. Country Club Gun
4. Pretty is as Pretty Does
5. The Likes of You
6. Lips of Steel
7. Newborn
8. Say Please
9. I See Moe
10. Whiskey Talk
11. Vista
12. Litany (Life Goes On)
13. Dead Eyes
14. Cattle Prod
15. Pau Pau
16. Watusi Rodeo

Most read news of the week
Rocky Morningside Releases Parody Video For Single "Sweep Ya Leg"
London Symphony Orchestra Announces First Ever South American Tour
P!nk Announces 2019 North American Dates For Acclaimed Beautiful Trauma World Tour
Stream SR3MM, The Massive New Album From Rae Sremmurd
The Flaming Lips Set To Release Greatest Hits Volume 1 On June 1, 2018
Fender Play Empowers A New Wave Of Players With Addition Of Ukulele Lessons
Midge Ure To Release New Album 'Orchestrated' June 8th - US Tour Dates
Coming Soon: 'The Sinner: Season 1' Original Series Soundtrack By Ronit Kirchman
Phoenix Hard Rockers CO-OP Release New Video For "N.O.W", Announce Collaboration With Alice Cooper On "Old Scratch"!
Stream Future Ft. PARTYNEXTDOOR - 'No Shame' From Upcoming 'SuperFly' Soundtrack
Salim Nourallah Second Pre-Album EP Scheduled For Late June Release
Dartura - Mirrors Mirrors
Los Dells Festival Confirms Labor Day Weekend For The Second Annual Edition On September 1 & 2, 2018
BAFTA Nominated Composer Olivier Deriviere Scores DONTNOD Entertainment's Vampyr
Elise Davis Announces Tour Dates With Dwight Yoakam; Named Wide Open Country Artist To Watch May 2018

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0097470 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0069608688354492 secs
Members Area
Latest charts