News Oldies 18/05/2018

Soul Asylum's First Twin/Tone Albums Receive Expanded Reissues From Omnivore On July 20, 2018

Soul Asylum's First Twin/Tone Albums Receive Expanded Reissues From Omnivore On July 20, 2018

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Soul Asylum first hit the Minneapolis music scene in late 1981. Core members Dave Pirner, Dan Murphy and Karl Mueller met at local punk rock shows. With all the incredible bands they saw in those days, like Hüsker Dü and The Replacements, it was daunting for them to share the same stages but, ultimately, it inspired them to work all that much harder. Soul Asylum stood out immediately because of that work ethic and their smart, punky hard rock sound.They made four records for hometown label Twin/Tone Records before moving on to the majors; first A&M, then Columbia, where they scored two platinum albums and won a Best Rock Song Grammy for "Runaway Train." They even played Bill Clinton's 1993 inauguration gala.
The first two Twin/Tone releases, 1984's Say What
 You Will... Everything Can Happen and 1986's Made To Be Broken, both originally produced by Bob Mould of Hüsker Dü, have been remastered and thoughtfully expanded by Omnivore Recordings and are due out July 20, 2018.
This reissue of Soul Asylum's debut, Say What
 You Will... Everything Can Happen,collects the original album, plus rare 
outtakes and demos from the band's
 early years, including an unreleased
 song and many long-out-of-print tracks.
 The packaging provides an array of never-before-seen photos, artwork, and hand-written lyrics from Pirner's collection. It also includes a brilliant historical essay, written by academic Robert Vodicka, that illuminates Soul Asylum's lasting importance.
The Made To Be Broken set contains 15 bonus tracks, nine of which are previously unreleased. It includes an impassioned, thought-provoking, frequently hilarious essay - written by legendary Bay Area music journalist Gina Arnold - that puts Soul Asylum's influence in perspective and tells the story of how the band's live show knocked the writer flat.

Both reissues were co-produced by Twin/Tone Records co-founder and Replacements
 manager Peter Jesperson, who first signed Soul Asylum, and Grammy® winner Cheryl Pawelski, with remastering by Grammy® winner Michael Graves.

According to Jesperson, an early observer of the Twin Cities scene: "When this band first hit the Minneapolis scene they went toe-to-toe with some heavy (and healthy) competition, and, remarkably, they held their own. Soul Asylum achieved an international prominence the others didn't but these reissues are their punky roots and will make you feel like you were there."

Say What You Will … Everything Can Happen Track Listing:
1. Long Day

2. Voodoo Doll
3. Money Talks
4. Stranger

5. Sick Of That Song
6. Walking
7. Happy

8. Black And Blue
9. Religiavision
Bonus Tracks:
10. Draggin Me Down
11. Do You Know

12. Spacehead

13. Broken Glass
14. Masquerade

15. Black And Blue (Demo) - Loud Fast Rules
16. Job For Me (Demo) - Loud Fast Rules

17. Cocktails (Demo) - Loud Fast Rules*

18. Nowhere To Go (Demo) - Loud Fast Rules
19. Out of Style (Demo) - Loud Fast Rules 

20. Your Clock (Demo) - Loud Fast Rules
21. Propaganda - Loud Fast Rules
22. Bad Moon Rising - Proud Crass Fools
23. Happy - Proud Crass Fools
* Previously Unissued

Made To Be Broken Track Listing:
1. Tied To The Tracks
2. Ship Of Fools
3. Can't Go Back
4. Another World, Another Day
5. Made To Be Broken
6. Never Really Been
7. Whoa!
8. New Feelings
9. Growing Pain
10. Lone Rider
11. Ain't That Tough
12. Don't It (make your troubles seem small)

Bonus Tracks:
13. Long Way Home
14. Another World, Another Day (Alternate Version)*
15. Fearless

16. Freeway

17. The Snake

18. Hey Bird

19. Friends

20. Can't Go Back (Alternate Version)*

21. Swingin'*

22. Lost In Your Face*

23. Catch Me If You Can*

24. Song Of The Terrorist*
25. To Go There*

26. 20 Year Itch*

27. Ramblin' Rose*
* Previously Unissued

Most read news of the week
Charles Lloyd & The Marvels + Lucinda Williams: New Album "Vanished Gardens" Out 6/29
Composer/Music Producer Deru, Scores Dark Electronica Soundtrack For Youtube Red Series "Impulse"
Live Nation Entertainment Launches Women Nation Fund To Invest In Female-Founded Live Music Businesses
The Los Angeles Philharmonic Association Presents Hollywood Bowl Food + Wine For The 2018 Season
Resonance Records To Release Previously Unissued Music From Jazz Guitar Icon Grant Green
Herbie Hancock To Continue As The William Powers And Carolyn Powers Creative Chair For Jazz
Norwegian Lyric Dramatic Soprano Lise Davidsen Signs Exclusively To Decca Classics In Major New Deal
REI Announces 2018 Dates And Locations Of New Outessafest Outdoor Festivals
BBC Music Introducing LIVE 18 Launches With Support Of UK Music Industry Bodies
Stone Temple Pilots Performs 'Roll Me Under' Ahead Of AT&T Audience Network Concert Airing 5/18
RCA Inspiration Earns Multiple BET Awards 18 Nominations
Son Of A Shotgun: 320 Bpm Drum Practice Video Available!
OneRepublic Release New Single "Start Again", Ft. Logic
Sam Hunt Releases New Single "Downtown's Dead"
Juanes Returns To The Hollywood Bowl On September 5, 2018

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0083830 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0083150863647461 secs
Members Area
Latest charts