News Metal / Hard Rock 27/06/2018

To Whom It May's New Album The Great Filter Breaks "The Great Silence"

To Whom It May's New Album The Great Filter Breaks "The Great Silence"

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) On the heels of announcing their signing with Candlebox Frontman Kevin Martin's label G4L Records earlier last month, Hard Rock/Metal Trio To Whom It May (TWIM) has revealed that they are releasing their much-anticipated album The Great Filter on Friday, July 20.

Featuring their hard-hitting, smash single "Calculate", which will be unveiled to radio and available digitally starting July 9, TWIM's latest effort is already being hailed as an impressive lesson in contrasts by many, including the group's front man Jonathan Jourdan. As the band's main songwriter, he describes the record as "a blend of rhythmic and melodic ideas that depend on each other to sound complete." He goes on to say that it also encompasses "chaotic and soothing moments that depend on each other for balance".

This dichotomy is also evident within the band itself. Featuring elements of Prog, Metal, and unadulterated Rock n' Roll, the paired down threesome has created a complexity that is larger than the sum of its parts. Featuring Dexas Villarreal on drums and Robb Mars on bass, these two stellar musicians serve up the group's signature hard-rocking, groove-infested backbeat while Jourdan adds his guitar riffs soaring into the ether. The result was enough to make multi-platinum selling artist Kevin Martin a fan.

"I knew the minute I heard To Whom It May that I wanted to work with them in any way possible", said Martin. "There is something intangible about EVERYTHING TWIM does musically and that's what I love about them; they make me want to listen more and more to try and put my finger on it, challenging me, if you will, to understand why, who, or what has inspired these musicians to create such awe-inspiring music!"

The concept for The Great Filter, which was produced by Dean DiChosa (Candiria, Family Force 5), is based on the "Great Filter Hypothesis," answers the question as to why we humans haven't made contact with aliens yet. It suggests that at some point there is an evolutionary leap that no species can survive, leaving humans with two choices: we've passed "The Filter" and were the lucky species that survived or we haven't met "The Great Filter" yet and inevitably will meet our extinction.

"This resonated with us as an album title because, in a lot of ways, this album was our personal Great Filter:, said Jourdan. "A lot of people also have their own 'Great Filter' in their life. Something that makes them fear an inevitable defeat. In that moment you can chose to be paralyzed by it, or you can believe that you will survive".
The album will be supported by a series of shows immediately following its release, including Warped Tour dates that start on Friday, July 6.

The official tracklist for The Great Filter is as follows:
Weight of the Stone
The Signal Fire
Sick Day
Take What I Can
To learn about TWIM and get the latest information, visit
For more information about G4L Records, visit

Most read news of the week
Nile Rodgers & Chic Release New Single 'Till The World Falls' Featuring Mura Masa, Cosha And Vic Mensa - Out Now
Shania Twain Returns Home To Canada, Kicks Off Second Half Of 2018 Now Tour
Video To Enter UK's Official Singles Chart This Summer
EXMORTUS Kicks Off "The Summer Of Steel" Tour Across North America This week!
Dear Rouge Releases Music Video For "Live Through The Night"
Legendary Soul Singer Lisa Stansfield Announces North American Tour 2018 Dates
Bryce Vine To Join Max On Fall Tour, As Drew Barrymore Continues To Climb The Charts
Starley Will Join Katy Perry For Her Witness Tour In Perth, Adelaide, And Melbourne
Teyana Taylor Releases Highly Anticipated Sophomore Album K.T.S.E.
The Mu-Tones Reveal New Single "Slab City Records" On June 30, 2018
Popes Of Chillitown Share Video For 'No Manners In Ireland'
Mohegan Sun Announces 2018 Summer Entertainment Lineup Including Britney Spears, U2, Sugarland & More
Dua Lipa's "New Rules" Biggest Female Video Of 2017
Gloria Estefan To Guest-Star On Netflix's Third Season Of 'One Day At A Time'
Mondo Cozmo Announces New Your Motherfucker EP Out June 29, 2018

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0079460 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0033719539642334 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.
Latest charts