News Pop / Rock 02/12/2009

The Decemberists Release 'Here Come The Waves: The Hazards Of Love Visualized'; iTunes Exclusive

New York, NY (Top40 Charts/ Capitol Records) - The Decemberists' epic song cycle The Hazards Of Love takes on new life today December 1st with the release of Here Come The Waves: The Hazards Of Love Visualized, a full-length video album available exclusively through iTunes, the first of a kind for the digital retailer. Here Come The Waves, which was debuted live in Los Angeles in October to rave reviews, is a collaboration with four filmmakers-Peter Sluszka, Julia Pott, Guilherme Marcondes, and Santa Maria-each of whom created original animation to accompany a section of the album. The films were curated by Flux, and produced by Hornet. Check out the new official trailer HERE.

The Los Angeles Times described Here Come The Waves as "a tumbling series of visuals with four distinct aesthetic styles. Peter Sluszka's ultra-slow motion capture of exploding mushrooms and elegantly disseminating seed pods... Julia Pott's line art of wolves and foxes hovering in geometric constellations... Guilherme Marcondes' renderings of skeletons caught among leafless branches and verdant human arms that unfurl like ferns... Santa Maria provides context...with cosmic, computer-generated vistas, cartoons of splintering bones."

Billboard declared the piece 'a stunning new 'visualizer' of four seamlessly-sequenced psychedelic videos inspired by the album's different acts,' adding that 'the visuals function as impressionistic landscapes and atmospheres evocative of the unfolding drama like a richly imagined liquid lightshow.'

Variety wrote that 'Here Come the Waves is the kind of project that could easily collapse under the weight of its pretensions. But it succeeded, brilliantly.'

The OC Register raved "Truly, this show, a spectacle that any self-respecting music snob would drool over, set a magnificent precedent for the band's future career, in the process elevating the Decemberists to the status of rock n' roll visionaries - not to mention top-tier crowd-pleasers... The 'psychedelic animation' transitioned flawlessly back and forth from smooth computer animation to cartoonish scenes... the swirling juxtaposition of foreboding and lighthearted images portrayed the album's binary conflict between good and evil perfectly."

The Hazards Of Love became one of the most discussed album's of the year when EMI's Capitol Records released it in March, and went on to become a thrilling live spectacle as the band performed the album in it's entirety throughout the summer in front of sold-out audiences across the country from their hometown of Portland, Oregon, to New York's Radio City Music Hall, as well as major festivals including Bonnaroo, Lollapalooza and Austin City Limits.


1. Prelude
2. The Hazards of Love 1 (The Prettiest Whistles Won't Wrestle the Thistles Undone)
3. A Bower Scene
4. Wont Want for Love (Margaret in the Taiga)

1. The Hazards of Love 2 (Wager All)
2. The Queen's Approach
3. Isn't it a Lovely Night?
4. The Wanting Comes in Waves / Repaid
5. An Interlude

1. The Rake's Song
2. The Abduction of Margaret
3. The Queen's Rebuke / The Crossing
4. Annan Water

1. Margaret in Captivity
2. The Hazards of Love 3 (Revenge!)
3. The Wanting Comes in Waves (Reprise)
4. The Hazards of Love 4 (The Drowned)

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Full List Of Nominees Announced For 22nd Edition Of Univision's Prestigious 'Premio Lo Nuestro' Latin Music Awards
True Tiger - UK Dubstep Act To Watch For 2010
The Who To Perform February 7, 2010 During The Bridgestone Super Bowl XLIV Halftime Show On CBS
Atlantic Records Unearths 'TIME CAPSULE' Limited Edition, 10-Disc CD/DVD Boxed Set
Whitney Houston Sets Australian Tour Dates!
You Me At Six: New Album, Single, Tour...
New Date: The 4th Annual Demo/Beat Shopping Symposium 12/13/09 In NYC
An Endless Sporadic Releases Full-Length CD
Cielo: December 2009 News
Alicia Keys Reveals Details Of Her New Album 'The Element Of Freedom'!
Pacha NYC Presents Funkagenda On December 4, 2009
New Christmas Song 'Christmas Recipe,' Offered As Free Download
Amy Winehouse Could Be Set To Score A Festive Hit With Her New Cover Of Sam Cooke's Classic 'Cupid'
'Fantasia For Real' Will Premiere January 11, 2010 On VH1
Walt Disney Records 'Presents' The 2009 Holiday Gift Guide Featuring New Releases The Princess & The Frog Soundtrack

© 2001-2018 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0219359 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0041739940643311 secs
Members Area

Experience our site ad-free!