Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Alternative 29/04/2015

The Silver Lake Chorus Premieres Flaming Lips-Penned 'Heavy Star Movin' At Consequence Of Sound - Self-titled Album Out June 16, 2015

The Silver Lake Chorus Premieres Flaming Lips-Penned 'Heavy Star Movin' At Consequence Of Sound - Self-titled Album Out June 16, 2015

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Los Angeles indie-choral group The Silver Lake Chorus will release their debut self-titled album on June 16th. Produced by Australian singer-songwriter Ben Lee, The Silver Lake Chorus' new full-length features big choral arrangements of rare and new tracks written for the chorus by Sia, Tegan and Sara, The New Pornographers, Ben Gibbard (Death Cab for Cutie), Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), and many more.

The Silver Lake Chorus just premiered "Heavy Star Movin'" (Written exclusively for the group by Wayne Coyne & Steven Drozd of The Flaming Lips) at Consequence of Sound, who said "the hauntingly beautiful track evokes a surreal, out-of-body experience, as though one's consciousness is tumbling aimlessly through a color-splashed alternate universe."

The Silver Lake Chorus has been embraced by Stereogum, Pitchfork and Paste Magazine, who said "With deeply rooted harmonies and varied voices, TSLC offers original songs that rightfully require more than one listen for the sole purpose of catching all they have to offer."

Producer Ben Lee first heard the chorus sing their arrangement of Beck's "Lonesome Tears" at an early rehearsal and was blown away by how the song had been "reinvented into this massive Russian Gregorian chant." Immediately, he got an idea: instead of singing covers, Lee suggested the chorus take a completely original indie rock approach to the ancient choral art form. He signed on to produce their debut album and reached out to other artists and friends, asking them to write new music for the chorus.

Songs soon poured in from artists like Aimee Mann, The Bird and the Bee, John Roderick (The Long Winters), A.C. Newman (The New Pornographers), and many more.

Their self-titled album is out June 16th via Six Degrees Records, pre-order here:

1. From The Snow-Tipped Hills (composed by Justin Vernon/Bon Iver)
2. Hold Up For (composed by Tegan & Sara)
3. Break It Down (composed by Inara George & Greg Kurstin/The Bird and The Bee)
4. Heavy Star Movin' (composed by Wayne Coyne & Steven Drozd/The Flaming Lips)
5. Same Song (composed by John Roderick/The Long Winters)
6. Nervous Soul (composed by Ben Gibbard/Death Cab For Cutie)
7. Salted Wound (composed by Sia, Track & Field and Oliver Kraus)
8. Overboard (composed by Ben Lee)
9. Home Come Home (composed by Heather Ogilvy and Michael B. Wells)
10. Wreckage (composed by Carl Newman/New Pornographers)
11. Easy To Die (composed by Aimee Mann & Paul Bryan)

Most read news of the week
Afeef Zaman Wins Platinum In A' Graphic Design Awards
Your Favorite Artists At Red Rocks Amphitheater This Summer!
BMI & The Swaggernautz Present Gamechangers: How To Break Into Any Music Market In The World In LA
Nate Ruess Releases New Song From "Grand Romantic"
Amanda Kravat's Viper EP 'AK' Praised As "Compelling"; "Easily The Highpoint Of Her Career To Date"; "A Wonderful Chaos Of Life And Beauty And Art"
The Pretty Reckless Make Radio History! Band Sets Record With Third Straight #1 On Billboard's Mainstream Rock Songs Chart
Loudwire Music Festival Adds Vajra To Lineup With Rob Zombie, Linkin Park, Weezer, In This Moment, Halestorm, Chevelle, Hinder, Nothing More And Others
Fifth Harmony - Reflection: The Summer 2015 Tour
Critically Acclaimed Filmmakers Wolfgang Bodison And Elizabeth Yoder Win The Platinum Remi Independent Shorts Award For Their Dramatic Original Film "The Long Wait"
"Simply Jazzy Wednesdays" At Duane Martin And Tisha Campbell's Xen Lounge Celebrates Grammy Nominated Musician, Johnny Britt's Birthday
Falu Enterprises/EMG Are Proud To Announce The Global Release Of Hit Music Single "Oye Como Suena" By Hip Hop Tropical Recording Artist, Deecoy On May 5, 2015
Bessie (Music From The HBO Film)
Multi-Platinum Global Superstar Mariah Carey Celebrates Official Arrival To Las Vegas With Spectacular Welcome Event At Caesars Palace
Canadian Songwriter And Swedish Country Artist Win At 2015 Indie Music Channel Awards
Chris Brown Named Music Choice Icon; Music Choice To Feature All Things Chris Brown This May

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0497251 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0073890686035156 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how