Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Soundtracks 22/07/2015

Varese Sarabande Records To Release 12 Monkeys - Original Television Soundtrack

Varese Sarabande Records To Release 12 Monkeys - Original Television Soundtrack

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Varèse Sarabande will release the 12 MONKEYS - Original Television Soundtrack both digitally and on CD July 31, 2015. The album features the original music co-composed by Trevor Rabin (REMEMBER THE TITANS, ARMAGEDDON) and Paul Linford (BLOOD AND OIL, video game NEED FOR SPEED: MOST WANTED).

"The 12 MONKEYS score, which I'm doing with my long time assistant and collaborator Paul Linford, is a hybrid score of ethnic sounds, orchestra, and electronic, with a strong theme base," said Rabin.

12 MONKEYS explores the provocative story of Cole, a time traveler from a decimated future in a high-stakes race against the clock. Utilizing a dangerous and untested method of time travel, he journeys from 2043 to the present day on a mission to locate and eradicate the source of a deadly plague that will all but annihilate the human race.

To accomplish capturing the dangerous nature of time travel, Rabin said he "played a lot of the instruments, as did Paul [Linford]. A big help was Lou Molino on percussion, using weird and sometimes ethnic instruments which gives the music a far more organic feel."

Trevor Rabin has earned a worldwide reputation for his innovative work as a musician and composer. Accepting an invitation from industry heavyweight John Kalodner, he moved to Los Angeles and his demos came to the attention of former Yes bass player Chris Squire. Squire was looking for a guitarist for a new band he was putting together, and Trevor's demos became the basis for the new group Cinema. The Yes "comeback" album 90125 became by far the biggest-selling of the group's career, launching the group's only #1 single, Rabin's "Owner Of A Lonely Heart" and only Grammy, "Cinema". When Trevor parted ways with Yes he was offered a film score, the outcome of which proved prolific. Since then he has composed the soundtracks for mega-budget Hollywood movies, enhancing the performances of stars like Will Smith, Nicholas Cage, Denzel Washington and Samuel L Jackson.

Rabin has received numerous awards including eleven BMI Film and TV Awards, a Grammy, a Lifetime Achievement Award (Los Angeles Music Awards), a Career Achievement Award (Temecula International Film Festival), and Gold Medal for Excellence in Film Music Award (Park City Film Festival). As a guitarist, keyboardist, singer, songwriter, producer or recording engineer Trevor has established himself as a leader in the contemporary music field. Paul Linford has worked with Trevor on numerous projects throughout the years as his assistant and collaborator, but he is a composer in his own right. He composed TV's Blood and Oil, TV's Zero Hour, and the Need for Speed: Most Wanted video game.

Syfy and Universal Cable Productions in association with Atlas Entertainment presents 12 MONKEYS, which debuted on Syfy January 16, 2015 and has been renewed for a second season to air in 2016. Varèse Sarabande will release the 12 MONKEYS - Original Television Soundtrack digitally and physically on CD July 31, 2015.

Most read news of the week
Silva Screen Records Presents Shaun The Sheep Movie - Original Soundtrack
Bob Marley's 70th Birthday Year Celebration Continues With Two Vinyl Box Set Releases
George Strait The Cowboy Rides Away: Live From AT&T Stadium DVD, Digital Formats Released August 28, 2015
Reviver Records Retains In-House Promotion Department
Foxwoods Resort Casino Releases August Entertainment Calendar
Doug Briney And Billy Grima Will Perform At 2015 Texas Sounds International Country Music Awards
The Winachi Tribe's 'Time For Love'
Joe Jackson Tells Tale Of Four Cities On 'Fast Forward,' First Album Of Original Songs In Seven Years, Out October 2, 2015
The Raskal Rises With New Album "Trust No One"

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0210960 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0047202110290527 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how