Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
 News Charts / Awards 18/11/2004

2004 Vibe Magazine Awards: Alicia Keyes Wins Best R&B Song and Artist of the Year Awards, and Terror Squad's 'Lean Back' Takes Home Two Awards

SANTA MONICA, CA. (VIBE Magazine/ - Vibe magazine and UPN yesterday announced that Alicia Keys (2), Terror Squad (2), Usher, Jay-Z, G-Unit, Twista, Anthony Hamilton, T.I., OutKast, Steve Stoute, Jadakiss and Kevin Lyttle all won awards at last night's taping of the second annual VIBE AWARDS ON UPN, hosted by LL Cool J with Tyra Banks.
The VIBE AWARDS ON UPN, a two-hour special event dedicated to celebrating excellence, innovation, cutting-edge presentation and genre-expanding work in urban music, broadcasted Tuesday, Nov. 16 (8:00-10:00 PM, ET/PT) on UPN.

The winners are:

Artist of the Year
Alicia Keys

Best Group
G Unit

Sexiest Video Vixen
Ki Toy ("The Way You Move," OutKast)

Reelest Video
"99 Problems," Jay-Z

Best Comeback

Hottest Hook
"Lean Back," Terror Squad

Street Anthem
"Rubberband Man," T.I.

Power Broker of the Year
Steve Stoute

Coolest Collabo
"Why (Remix)," Jadakiss, featuring Anthony Hamilton, Styles P., Common & Nas

Next Award
Anthony Hamilton

R&B Voice of the Year

Best R&B Song
"If I Ain?t Got You," Alicia Keys

Club Banger of the Year
"Lean Back," Terror Squad

Boomshot Award
"Turn Me On (Remix)," Kevin Lyttle, featuring Spragga Benz

Fans can still log on to to vote for the Livest City Award.

Nominations for the VIBE AWARDS ON UPN were determined by the Vibe editorial staff, headed by Editor-in-Chief Mimi Vald's. Winners in each category were decided by votes from music journalists and regional tastemakers. To be eligible for nomination, recorded material must have been released between October 2003 and September 2004.

The second annual VIBE AWARDS ON UPN is a production of Vibe magazine, Flavor Unit Entertainment and White Cherry Entertainment. For Vibe, Kenard Gibbs and Mimi Valdés are executive producers. Shakim Compere and Queen Latifah are executive producers for Flavor Unit and Dedra Tate is supervising producer. Ricky Kirschner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry are executive producers. The special will be directed by recent Emmy Award winner Glenn Weiss.

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week In Google News
25 years Of Hip-hop: Top 100 Greatest Hip-hop/Rap Singles Of All Time
O.A.R. celebrate with wedding vows and sold-out shows
Columbia Records releases ThemeAddict: WWE The Music V6 in stores now!
Ukraine Chart Added
Latino Chart Added
FBI nabs MC Eiht for Grand Theft Auto
Lethal Bizzle - Pow Forward - UK Grime Scene
'Hip Hop Files: Photographs 1979-1984' by Martha Cooper
Vote The Best & Worst Charts!
Ringtones & Mobile Content on Top40
AFI's 100 Years... 100 Movie Quotes: The most memorable phrases from film celebrated in 8th annual AFI/CBS TV Event
Newsletter Launched
Year-End Charts 2003
Vibe Award Show interupted by Dr. Dre fight

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0245399 secs // 4 () queries in 0.006598949432373 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how