Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Alternative 28/07/2018

Tom Morello Announces New Album 'The Atlas Underground', Released 12 October

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Legendary musician Tom Morello - co-founder of Rage Against The Machine, Audioslave and Prophets of Rage - is set to release the most ambitious artistic effort of his storied career yet. His brand new album, 'The Atlas Underground', will be released on 12 October through BMG Records. The record is available for pre-order now BELOW.

Two of the album tracks, 'We Don't Need You' ft. Vic Mensa & 'Battle Sirens' ft. Knife Party, are available to download and listen to now. In addition, part one of Lars Ulrich's two-part 'It's Electric' episode with Morello aired today on Beats 1 on Apple Music, following Zane Lowe's premiere of 'We Don't Need You'. The second half of the interview will air on Sunday, 5 August at 11pm BST. Watch the full music video for the track available exclusively on Apple Music BELOW.

Throughout his remarkable career, Morello has collaborated with everyone from Bruce Springsteen to Johnny Cash. On 'The Atlas Underground', he paves a path into new sonic territory with the project's breadth of talented collaborators - Marcus Mumford, Portugal. The Man, Bassnectar, the Wu-Tang Clan's RZA and GZA, Vic Mensa, K.Flay, Big Boi, Gary Clark Jr., Pretty Lights, Killer Mike, Steve Aoki and Whethan among others - transforming his sound into something even he could not have anticipated, blending Marshall stack riff-rock with the digital wizardry of EDM and hip-hop. Morello served as chief curator for the record, hand-picking and personally reaching out to the involved artists to recruit their efforts to the project. A full track listing is below.

"The riffs and the beats led the way, but the extraordinary talents of the collaborators set my creativity into uncharted territory. I've been devoted both musically and as an activist to fighting injustice at every turn," says Morello. "Amid this heightened sense of impending doom, it's now time to rally the troops in a last-ditch effort to save the planet, and our artistic souls. By challenging the boundaries of what music is and has sounded like before, you can open people's eyes to changing the status quo in society."

Assembled across a variety of studios spanning multiple continents, Morello calls 'The Atlas Underground' "a clandestine sonic conspiracy of artists working in disparate locations toward a shared goal of creating a new genre of music". The lyrics often take the form of "social justice ghost stories," and on tracks such as Bassnectar, Big Boi and Killer Mike's 'Rabbit Revenge' and the RZA/GZA-featuring 'Lead Poisoning,' they convey the experiences of those less fortunate who are unable to speak up for themselves.

Track listing:
Battle Sirens - Tom Morello ft. Knife Party
Rabbit's Revenge- Tom Morello ft. Bassnectar, Big Boi, and Killer Mike
Every Step That I Take - Tom Morello ft. Portugal. The Man and Whethan
We Don't Need You - Tom Morello ft. Vic Mensa
Find Another Way - Tom Morello ft. Marcus Mumford
How Long - Tom Morello ft. Steve Aoki and Tim McIlrath (Rise Against)
Lucky One - Tom Morello ft. K.Flay
One Nation - Tom Morello ft. Pretty Lights
Vigilante Nocturno - Tom Morello ft. Carl Restivo
Where It's At Ain't What It Is - Tom Morello ft. Gary Clark Jr. and Nico Stadi
Roadrunner - Tom Morello ft. Leikeli47
Lead Poisoning - Tom Morello ft. GZA, RZA, and Herobust

Most read news of the week
Frisco Breaks Away From The Strings To Release Debut Solo Album
Latest Songs, Video And Lyrics From Diamond Platnumz 2018
DJ YUS Presents New Single "Rompe La Bocina" In Collaboration With El Micha & Chacal
Acclaimed Music Producer Michael Beinhorn (Soundgarden, Marilyn Manson) Launches Pre-Production Services For The People
"Chillin' On The Lucie" Music Festival Adds Uncle Kracker, Cassadee Pope, Parmalee, Josh Gracin, & More
SonReal Releases Music Video For New Track "Have A Nice Day"
Unicorn, Produced By Pink Floyd's David Gilmour, Presents Unissued '70s Recordings In 'Laughing Up Your Sleeve' From Omnivore On October 5th
Karen Olson Celebrates Debut Appearance On Billboard New Age Album Chart At #3 And Simultaneously On Billboard Classical Album Chart At #9 For New Album Entitled Songpath
Slash Ft. Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators Release First Single "Driving Rain" Out Now

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0106230 secs // 4 () queries in 0.005277156829834 secs