Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Alternative 04/10/2018

Oxygen Thief Share New Single 'Uncommon People' (Xtra Mile Recordings)

Oxygen Thief Share New Single 'Uncommon People' (Xtra Mile Recordings)

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Bristol-based alternative-rock trio, Oxygen Thief have shared the second, crushing, new single, 'Uncommon People', taken from the bands upcoming new album Confusion Species, set for release on November 16th through Xtra Mile Recordings.

Speaking on the new single, frontman Barry Dolan said, "Uncommon People shows us at our heaviest, I would say - there's bits of Tool, Deftones, and Meshuggah in there - it's a relentless pummeling of mathy riffs and exasperated rage.

"The song is about the constant anger, disappointment, and embarrassment at seeing EDL/UKIP/BNP/MAGA types professing to be the "voice of the people" (by which of course is a dog whistle racist code for "white people") and how they can f**k all the way off into the sea."

Confusion Species will be available on limited edition 12inch transparent blue and orange with black splatter vinyl - Only available from Oxygen Thief on tour. Confusion Species will also be available on 12inch transparent blue at retail.
Pre-Order here:

It's been just over four years since the release of Oxygen Thief's second album, The Half-Life Of Facts, and the world has changed a lot in that time. In fact, a lot has changed since Barry Dolan started the project in Bristol back in 2006, and the 11 tracks of Confusion Species are the sound of him trying to make sense of it all, rather than be overwhelmed, lost and consumed by the sludge and noise of this modern, post-Brexit, post-Trump world.

"It's so exciting to have these songs creeping out into the world - the closer we get to the album being released, the prouder I get of it." exclaims Dolan. "I really can't wait for people to hear it in full. The artwork (by Jono Ganz) is incredible and the limited vinyl colours are stunning - Xtra Mile have sold out of their share of the orange records already, so the only place to get one will be from us on tour."

Oxygen Thief take to the road throughout the UK with Jonah Matranga in November, finishing up with a headline show at The Monarch in London:

06 Nov - Isle Of Wight, Strings
07 Nov - Tunbridge Wells, Forum
08 Nov - Norwich, Waterfront
09 Nov - Corby, White Hart
10 Nov - Cheltenham, Frog & Fiddle
11 Nov - Bristol, Crofters
12 Nov - Stoke, Sugarmill
13 Nov - Southampton, Joiners
14 Nov - Leicester, Firebug
15 Nov - London, The Monarch

Dolan continues, "This will be quite a different tour for us as we're playing as Jonah's backing band as well as doing our own set, performing in celebration of the 20th anniversary of his band Far's classic album "Water and Solutions". Playing songs that I've been a fan of since I was a teenager is going to be pretty special."

Simultaneously angry at and perplexed by the state of, well, everything, Confusion Species is a raucous, bellicose call-to-arms punctuated by Oxygen Thief's now-trademark barrage of furious riffs and chaotic layers of intense and inspiring sounds.

Confusion Species will be available at all usual retailers on the 16th November 2018 through Xtra Mile Recordings.

Oxygen Thief are:
Barry Dolan - Guitar, Vocals
Neil Elliott - Bass
Ben Whyntie - Drums

Oxygen Thief on tour:
20 Oct - York, One For The Road Fest SOLD OUT
06 Nov - Isle Of Wight, Strings*
07 Nov - Tunbridge Wells, Forum*
08 Nov - Norwich, Waterfront*
09 Nov - Corby, White Hart*
10 Nov - Cheltenham, Frog & Fiddle*
11 Nov - Bristol, Crofters*
12 Nov - Stoke, Sugarmill*
13 Nov - Southampton, Joiners*
14 Nov - Leicester, Firebug*
15 Nov - London, The Monarch
* w/ Jonah Matranga

Oxygen Thief online:

Most read news of the week
Joyous Wolf Release Explosive Cover Of "Mississippi Queen" And New Original Track "Slow Hand"
Juice WRLD's "Lucid Dreams" Rises To No 2 On Billboard Hot 100
Red Bull Music Presents: ATL Is Burning Ft. Leikeli47, QUEST?ONMARC, Cakes Da Killa & More
Greg Yasinitsky - Yazz Band - Award Winning Saxophonist
Stars And Royalty Align To Keep The Music Playing With Education Through Music-Los Angeles
The Brother Brothers Premieres 'Red And Gold' - Debut Album Out 10/19
Drake's 'God's Plan' Video And Cleansheet's 'CanadaSound Project' Win Prestigious Clio Music Awards
Hey, Chels Featuring Members Of Western Settings, New Way On, The Newports
Brian Grilli's New Album "Deep South Symphony" Hits Billboard At #1 Position And #45 In Album Sales!
New Van Morrison Album "The Prophet Speaks," To Be Released December 7; Title Track "The Prophet Speaks", Out Today
Mariah Carey Shares New Song "With You"
Dave Davies Of The Kinks Releases New Track "This Precious Time (Long Lonely Road)"
'Dreaming Of Dylan: 115 Dreams About Bob,' A Book By Mary Lee Cortes Via BMG
Phosphorescent Shares Title Track To 'C'est La Vie' LP Out This Friday
Nile Rodgers & Chic Release New Album "It's About Time," Now!

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 1.2322080 secs // 6 () queries in 0.0079960823059082 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how