Seek out a better experience, upgrade to a full membership! (Learn more)
 News Jazz 10/10/2018

Esperanza Spalding Begins Releasing '12 Little Spells'!

Esperanza Spalding Begins Releasing '12 Little Spells'!

Video news

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Esperanza Spalding unveiled the first piece from her ambitious and wholly original new project '12 Little Spells.' Each day she will release a new spell - in the form of a new piece of music with accompanying video - at 12:12PM Eastern Time until all twelve have been revealed on October 18. The spells will post each day to her website, Facebook and Instagram.

Listen to the first song - "12 Little Spells" - here:
Then on October 19, '12 Little Spells' will be available on all DSPs and a pre-order will launch.

'12 Little Spells' is an exploration of the healing powers of art, and each spell was inspired by a part of the body. These works were conjured by Esperanza at a castle in Italy last month and recorded in sessions completed just twelve days ago in Brooklyn. The recordings features Spalding on vocals, Matthew Stevens on guitar, Justin Tyson on drums, Aaron Burnett on saxophone, Burniss Travis on bass, Corey King on background vocals, and Rob Schwimmer on continuum.

In the coming days, Esperanza will also reveal details of a series of 12 pop-up shows. Each performance will focus on a single spell and feature an explosion of music and words, color and movement. No two events will be the same. The performances will be recorded for a live concert film that will be released next year. Exclusive limited music and items will be available only at these shows, with a full deluxe package to be released by Concord Records in 2019.

Collaborating with Esperanza on this project are visual artist Carmen Daneshmandi, opera/theater director Elkhanah Pulitzer, wardrobe specialist Diego Montoya, and video artist Ethan Samuel Young. Each has created key elements of '12 Little Spells' without hearing any music, having only the project title and spell names as inspiration.

Esperanza recently talked about '12 Little Spells' with Vanity Fair:
'12 Little Spells' Tracklist and Corresponding Body Parts
12 Little Spells -- Thoracic Spine
To Tide Us Over -- Mouth
Til The Next Full -- Eyes
Thang -- Hips
Touch in Mine -- Fingers
The Longing Deep Down -- Abdominal Portal
You Have To Dance -- Feet
Now Know -- Solar Portal
All Limbs Are -- Arms
Readying to Rise -- Legs
Dancing The Animal -- Mind/Brain
With Others -- Ears

Most read news of the week
Legendary Scottish Singer Barbara Dickson Releases New Album "Through The Line" With Carducci String Quartet
Sultans Of String Get Set For Their Christmas Caravan To Ride On Tour
Johnny Spencer, Oakland A's Fan From Yankee Stadium Viral Video (Drummer In NY Indie Band Stringer) Accepts Invitation And Apology
Video Of Johnny Spencer (Drummer Of Stringer) In Altercation With Unruly Ny Yankee Fan Goes Viral
American Music Awards 2018: Full List Of Winners
Chinese Music Streaming Platform NetEase Cloud Music Signs Copyright License Agreement With Loen Entertainment
Chris Shiflett Of Foo Fighters Produces Orange County Punks, Wank; Check Out The In-Studio Video!
Steve Perry's New Album "Traces" Available Now
Cher's 'Dancing Queen' Debuts At No 3 On The Billboard 200 Albums Chart
Lil Wayne's 'Tha Carter V' Debuts At No 1!
GVIDO Music To Exhibit At "Music China," Asia's Largest Music Trade Fair, With A Digital Music Score Device GVIDO Display Booth
Stevie Nicks, Def Leppard Among Nominees For 2019 Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Induction
Test Shot Starfish Break Down 'Music For Space,' The Space X Soundtrack
Lexi Todd Shares Jazz Pop Single 'Complacent' For Domestic Violence Awareness Month
Logic & Joseph Gordon-Levitt Team Up For Youtube Special

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0322030 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0079662799835205 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.

Free for everyone, funded by music lovers -> Find out how