Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Alternative 24/05/2019

Air Review Announces New Album "How We Got By"

Air Review Announces New Album "How We Got By"

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Dallas-based indie rock band, Air Review, are back with a new album, How We Got By, due out June 21, 2019. The Dallas Observer writes, "It's been a while since we last heard from Air Review. In 2013, it was hard for local music fans to avoid the indie-rock crew, thanks to its addictive single "America's Son" receiving frequent airplay on KXT 91.7, in addition to their regular performance schedule. Another tune from Low Wishes, "Young," was also given all sorts of rightfully deserved love from glossy publications and NPR."

Interview says the band "combines wistful, nostalgic folk melodies with catchy electro beats." That wistful nostalgia remains present in the upcoming release, even after the band pressed pause to focus completely on writing this new record. They dedicated themselves to finding a new sound and a new voice over. They learned new instruments, spent countless hours working on ideas together in their rehearsal studio followed by late nights on the back porch discussing ideas and inspiration. They kept at it, but it wasn't quite working. The songs weren't taking the right shape and they gave up on countless demo ideas until life circumstances and loss started to take over.

Now, Air Review shares the first single of the forthcoming album, "People Say Things Change," viaImpose Magazine, who say, "A heartbreaking theme runs through the album, even through the grooves and wall of sound they create feels warm and inviting. The song tells the story of frontman Doug Hale having to give his foster child away. It's every foster parent's nightmare come true, and sonically, it's a modern, very chilled out and semi-electronic track. The juxtaposition of the theme to the vibe show an incredible depth that feels like growth and acceptance."

It was 2016 when frontman, Doug Hale and his family lost their foster child. Soon after, keys player Richard Carpenter's girlfriend's mother died. Later that year, bassist Jeff Taylor's wife lost her father to a very sudden and aggressive brain cancer and guitarist Dragan Jakovljevic and his wife dealt with infertility. The band recognized that their experiences were a very normal part of life on the planet, yet they were heavy burdens to bare.

Through all of it, they never took a break because the writing and the time together became a kind of therapy - it was a place to share the burdens together, to process the feelings and turn them into something meaningful. The band found fresh inspiration from artists like Frank Ocean, Tame Impala, Anderson.Paak and Niki and the Dove.

In early 2017, the band hired Denton, TX based-drummer and producer Matt Pence (Here We Go Magic, Elle King, Sara Jaffe) along with east coast producer Scott Solter (St. Vincent, Spoon) to team up and help Air Review achieve a new sound. Together they produced a 12-track album that takes notes from 80's synth pop, R&B, and classic rock - soaring melodies and good old fashioned guitar solos mixed in with analog synths and auto-tune make for brand new territory for the quartet. The lyrics are direct and raw - taken straight from the band's experiences. Ideas about longing, loss, hope and resilience combine to tell a story of basic human experience. The shared process of crafting the songs was an important part of processing a season of life for Air Review. It truly is what helped them get by. Now, their only goal in releasing these songs is that maybe it will help someone else process whatever life has given or taken away from them.

Most read news of the week
The Waterboys Releases Video For "Ladbroke Grove Symphony," US Tour Dates Announced
Watch DJ Khaled, Cardi B & 21 Savage's New "Wish Wish" Video
Listen To Naomi Scott Sing The New Song 'Speechless' In Disney's Aladdin
5 Seconds Of Summer Releases New Single & Video "Easier"
Emeli Sande Releases New Single "Eextraordinary Being" Out Now
Lil Skies Drops New Video For "Breathe"
The Stray Cats Releases First New Album In 26 Years This Friday, May 24
Multi-Platinum International Artist Elisa Announces 2019 UK & EU Tour
'CMT Crossroads' Returns To Nashville With Summer Block Party Featuring Brooks & Dunn
Sting Releases New Album "My Songs" Today
The Lumineers Releases Video For "Gloria" Off Upcoming Album III
Common Announces 'Let Love Have The Last Word' Album
Indie Hip Hop Artist La'Vega Readies New Mixtape After Dropping "All You" Single
Billboard Premieres Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors' Dragons Ft. The Lone Bellow
Jake Xerxes Fussell Joins Daniel Norgren On North America Tour, Montreal Date Added

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.7914860 secs // 4 () queries in 0.017321109771729 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how