Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Rock 24/10/2019

Dave Specter's "Blues From The Inside Out" Featuring Jorma Kaukonen Out On The Legendary Delmark Records

Dave Specter's "Blues From The Inside Out" Featuring Jorma Kaukonen Out On The Legendary Delmark Records

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Blues From The Inside Out is the most expressive project of Dave Specter's 35-year career. Featuring his debut as a vocalist, the album is an exciting and timely celebration of blues, soul, jazz, funk and gospel. Jorma Kaukonen of Jefferson Airplane/ Hot Tuna fame, who also co-wrote one of the album's 12 original tunes, plays guitar on two original songs. In times when darkness and doubt may seem to hang over us, we need to remember the world is illuminated by possibilities. With this new album, Dave Specter's brilliant light shines down on us all.

The challenge of singing has re-energized Specter's writing. His hopeful ballad "March Through The Darkness" was influenced by Mavis Staples, Chicago's guiding light of spirit and soul. "What she has sung about over her career is so important, "Specter said. "There's alot of darkness that we are living through and we've got to get through it. It's not what this country stands for regardless of your political party. I like the idea of going high when they go low, but sometimes when a bully confronts you, you gotta stand up and speak out."

Specter takes a deep dive into Meters-Neville Brothers inspired rhythms with the instrumental "Sanctifunkious" and sings on the blues shuffle title track. Besides Kaukonen, Specter recruited the Chicago-based Liquid Soul horns and Latin-percussion ace Ruben Alvarez, each playing on three tracks. "I was always content focusing on guitar as my instrument and voice as a musician," Specter explained. "I've worked my entire career on the art of backing up singers and writing/playing instrumentals and never felt a desire to sing until fairly recently. People have always said nice things about my voice when I'm emceeing a show or doing my ("Blues From The Inside Out") podcast. I'm getting inspired to write more songs that I sing, as I'm honestly more comfortable singing my own words than somebody else's. I'm looking forward to seeing where this road takes me."

Specter sings on "How Low Can One Man Go?," a cold, cutting, call and response John Lee Hooker-inspired rebuke of Donald Trump, the sly boogie of "Asking For a Friend" and the title track, "Blues From The Inside Out." "The theme is about paying dues and the long journey one takes in playing this music." Specter said. "Let the blues be your shining light' Specter sings. "Too many people have this stereotypical vibe about the blues being about down and out sadness". I want people to realize it can be a positive force. It can channel any form of emotion or expression in your life."

Specter launched a podcast In December, 2018 - also called Blues from the Inside Out - featuring interviews with artists from Albert Lee to Jimmie Vaughan, Kermit Ruffins to Billy Boy Arnold - some with video and studio jam sessions.

"Blues from the Inside Out"
Album Production and Supervision: Julia A. Miller and Elbio Barilari
Produced by Dave Specter
Recorded at Riverside Studio by Steve Wagner featuring Jorma Kaukonen & Brother John Kattke
1. Blues From The Inside Out (Dave Specter) 5:15
2. Ponchatoula Way (Dave Specter) 6:26
3. March Through The Darkness (Dave Specter) 3:44
4. Sanctifunkious (Dave Specter) 5:04
5. How Low Can One Man Go? (Dave Specter) 3:53
6. Asking For A Friend (Dave Specter) 4:39
7. Minor Shout (Dave Specter) 7:15
8. The Blues Ain't Nothin' (Dave Specter) 5:17
9. Opposites Attract (Dave Specter) 4:13
10. Soul Drop (Dave Specter) 4:38
11. Wave's Gonna Come (Dave Specter) 3:41
12. String Chillin' (Dave Specter) 6:43

Dave Specter: guitar, vocals
Jorma Kaukonen: guitar (5,8)
Brother John Kattke: piano, organ, vocals
Harlan Lee Terson: bass
Marty Binder: drums
Sarah Marie Young: vocal (11)
Ruben Alvarez: percussion
Mars Williams: tenor sax
John Janowiak: trombone
Ron Haynes: trumpet
Tad Robinson, Devin Thompson: background vocals

Most read news of the week
The Infamous Stringdusters Announce New Live Album + 2020 Tour Dates
Triller Announces Record-Breaking Growth, New Funding By Proxima Media And Acquisition Of AI Music Platform
Grammy Music Education Coalition And John Lennon Educational Tour Bus Present 2-Day Come Together Philadelphia Visit To Local Schools
Ben Platt Releases New EP Of Music From The Politician
The Goonies, The Crow, The Star Wars Trilogy And Pee-Wee's Big Adventure Are Now Available In Four Exclusive Vinyl Color Variants!
The Mission's Wayne Hussey Launches 2nd Leg Of 'Salad Daze' UK Tour With Evi Vine
John Byrne Band Announce New Album "A Shiver In The Sky" And Release Party At World Cafe Live On November 1, 2019
Pianist Roberta Piket Showcases The Composing Talents Of Husband/Collaborator Billy Mintz On "Domestic Harmony: Piket Plays Mintz," Due December 6
R&B Newcomer Malachi Releases "Son Of A Gun", New Single And Music Video Out Now

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.5635171 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0080630779266357 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how