Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 06/02/2020

Grammy Award-Winning Songwriting Legend Brett James Announces First Solo Project In 20+ Years, 'I Am Now' Due March 27

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) He has 25 No. 1 hits, and his songs have been performed in arenas and stadiums for years. Now, it's Brett James' turn. The GRAMMY and ASCAP Award-winning songwriter's first solo project in more than two decades, the 'I Am Now' EP, will be released Friday, March 27 via Songs of Brett/Label Logic/Ingrooves.

'I Am Now' was recorded at Nashville's SmoakStack Studios, and James produced the record himself. He may have written for some of the biggest stars and the best voices in popular music, but these songs needed to come from James himself: the confessional burst of pent-up emotion in "I Am Now;" the mid-tempo retro-soul of "Still on My Mind;" the patient passion of the Latin-infused "Wait;" the shared solace in "Lonely Ain't So Lonely," a different kind of country drinking song.

And at the emotional center of this new song cycle, "True Believer" stands distinct from the horn-fueled arrangements prominent elsewhere, a sworn declaration of shelter and encouragement written for James' daughter. Listen here:

Brett James' songwriting career launched over 20 years ago, when he dropped out of medical school, and moved to Nashville to pursue his dream. He initially struggled to make that dream a reality -- waiting tables, signing with -- and then being dropped by -- a record label and publisher. But he eventually found his musical footing, writing hits for Carrie Underwood, Martina McBride, Kenny Chesney and Jason Aldean, and garnering producer credits for Taylor Swift, Jessica Simpson and Kip Moore, among others. Outside of Nashville, his songs were recorded by Nick Jonas, Backstreet Boys, and many more. In all, over 500 of his songs have been recorded for albums with combined sales of more than 110 million copies. He co-wrote the opening theme for the television broadcast of Super Bowl LII, and he's been named the ASCAP Country Songwriter of the Year twice.

After years of listening to James' songs, it's finally time to hear his voice. The journey begins with the release of 'I Am Now' on March 27.

'I Am Now' Tracklist:
1. I Am Now
2. Wait
3. Still On My Mind
4. Lonely Ain't So Lonely
5. True Believer

Most read news of the week
Midnight Foolishness Premieres Video For Single "2017"
Blackberry Smoke Confirms Canadian Headline Tour
5 Seconds Of Summer Announces New Album "Calm," Out March 27, 2020
A Sweet And Jazzy Valentine With Love From Sophie Fatu
Sony Signs Global Music Publishing Agreement With Latin Pop Band CNCO
Ed Sheeran And Lewis Capaldi Lead The Nominations For The Global Awards 2020
Ali Gatie Announces World Tour 2020
Swedish-Australian Outfit Tiny Fighter Present Infectious 'Strangest Thing' Single
Listen Up! The Greek Electronic-Classical Composer Who Never Learnt To Read Music
H.E.R. Gets "Comfortable" On Love-Centered Single!
New Book, 'A Rockin' Rollin' Man: Bon Scott Remembered,' Marks 40 Years Since Legendary Singer's Passing
Rihanna Named President's Award Recipient For 51st NAACP Image Awards
Taylor Swift Signs Exclusive Global Publishing Agreement With Universal Music Publishing Groupitle
Rapper Lil Yachty's Mom Chronicles The Rise Of Her Son's Career From The Dorm Room To The Forbes List In Debut Book
Aterciopelados & Los Amigos Invisibles To Continue With The Second Leg Of Their U.S. Tour This Spring

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0345941 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0080828666687012 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how