Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 16/09/2020

Kesha Pays Tribute To Marc Bolan And Hal Willner With Stunning Appearance On The Tonight Show With Jimmy Fallon

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Kesha was last night's musical guest on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon, delivering a riveting reimagining of the T. Rex standout "Children of The Revolution" from the new Hal Willner-produced collection Angelheaded Hipster: The Songs of Marc Bolan and T. Rex. An otherworldly performance that serves as a throwback to 70s glam rock and finds Kesha in dazzling head-to-toe silver body paint, "Children of The Revolution" is a moving tribute to 2020 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee Marc Bolan and to Angelheaded Hipster's legendary producer and late "master of the form" (Wall Street Journal) Hal Willner.

Angelheaded Hipster was released earlier this month to praise from Rolling Stone, NPR Music, Variety, the Associated Press and many more. Last week, selections from the record were performed on The Late Late Show with James Corden by Nick Cave, Sean Ono Lennon & Charlotte Kemp Muhl and Joan Jett. NPR's Morning Edition also ran a piece on this final full-length album from Willner, the "mensch with a golden imagination, and a heart to match":

Each of the 26 songs on AngelHeaded Hipster were lovingly produced by Willner, who passed away in April from COVID-19. Willner had previously produced albums for artists including Lou Reed, Marianne Faithfull and William S. Burroughs and served as the Saturday Night Live sketch music producer for nearly 40 years. In addition to those listed above, contributors to Angelheaded Hipster include Marc Almond, BORNS, Devendra Banhart, Helga Davis, Perry Farrell, Elysian Fields, Gavin Friday, Emily Haines, Jesse Harris, King Khan, Maria McKee, Father John Misty, John Cameron Mitchell, Gaby Moreno, Nena, Beth Orton, Peaches, Todd Rundgren, Lucinda Williams, Victoria Williams with Julian Lennon and U2 Feat. Elton John.

"Children of The Revolution" also follows the release of Kesha's latest album 'High Road' (this past January via Kemosabe/RCA Records), which was called a body of work "wise and wild in equal measure" (Billboard), that "electrifies from the inside out" (American Songwriter) and "strikes a believable balance between vulnerability and the bluster she made her name on" (Stereogum).

AngelHeaded Hipster: The Songs Of Marc Bolan and T. Rex / Tracklist:
Disc 1
1. Children Of The Revolution - Kesha
2. Cosmic Dancer - Nick Cave
3. Jeepster - Joan Jett
4. Scenescof - Devendra Banhart
5. Life's A Gas - Lucinda Williams
6. Solid Gold, Easy Action - Peaches
7. Dawn Storm - B├śRNS
8. Hippy Gumbo - Beth Orton
9. I Love To Boogie - King Khan
10. Beltane Walk - Gaby Moreno
11. Bang A Gong (Get It On) - U2 feat. Elton John
12. Diamond Meadows - John Cameron Mitchell
13. Ballrooms Of Mars - Emily Haines
Disc 2
1. Main Man - Father John Misty
2. Rock On - Perry Farrell
3. The Street and Babe Shadow - Elysian Fields
4. The Leopards - Gavin Friday
5. Metal Guru - Nena
6. Teenage Dream - Marc Almond
7. Organ Blues - Helga Davis
8. Planet Queen - Todd Rundgren
9. Great Horse - Jesse Harris
10. Mambo Sun - Sean Ono Lennon and Charlotte Kemp Muhl
11. Pilgrim's Tale - Victoria Williams with Julian Lennon
12. Bang A Gong (Get It On) Reprise - David Johansen
13. She Was Born To Be My Unicorn / Ride A White Swan - Maria McKee and Gavin Friday

Most read news of the week
The Dirty Nil Present: "Dancing 2 Thrash" Virtual Tour; Fall 2020 Livestream Dates Hosted By Noonchorus
Keith Urban & Pink Will Perform 'One Too Many' On The Academy Of Country Music Awards
BMI Celebrates The 20th Anniversary Of Its R&B/Hip-Hop Awards Honoring The Genre's Best Songwriters, Producers And Music Publishers
Taylor Swift Will Perform 'Betty' At The Academy Of Country Music Awards
Justin Bieber Announces New Single "Holy" Ft. Chance The Rapper, Set For Release On September 18, 2020
40th Anniversary Expanded Digital Edition Of Ozzy Osbourne's Landmark Debut Album 'Blizzard Of Ozz' Due Out This Friday (September 18)
Jackie Proffit Joins Music Health Alliance
Office Romance Announce Debut Album 'Holidays Of Love'
Progressive Metal/Fusion Virtuosos Arch Echo Releasing New 4 Song EP "Story I" On October 2, 2020

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0211260 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0065872669219971 secs