Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address

Twain, Lavigne lead Juno nominations

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

TORONTO, Canada (Juno Awards Website) - Canada's latest music phenom will face off against a veteran marvel who has been conquering the charts for years at this year's Juno Awards. Avril Lavigne and Shania Twain will compete for album of the year and songwriter of the year at the April 6 awards ceremony in Ottawa.

Lavigne, whose debut album Let Go has been on the charts since its release last June, leads the pack of nominees with six nods, including best new artist and best pop album. The nominations are the latest accolades for the 18-year-old from Napanee, Ont., who is competing for five Grammy Awards.

Twain, who is hosting the awards show, received five nominations including artist of the year. Her album Up! was the highest-selling album of 2002.

With Twain and the capital city hosting and a slate of hot musical acts performing, there seems to be a real drive to raise the bar set last year in St. John's, Nfld. That show was largely considered the most successful Junos ever by industry and fans alike. The show will once again be telecast by CTV.
"I remember back in the old days struggling to get people to participate. The exact opposite is the truth now. Everybody wants to be part of the show," said executive producer John Brunton. "It's getting bigger and bigger and bigger every year."

The slate of performers includes Lavigne, Shand, rock band Our Lady Peace, singer Sam Roberts, hip-hop crew Swollen Members and Twain herself.
Brunton said he chatted with Twain on Tuesday and she had lots of plans for the show. "She's bringing so many ideas to the table," he said.

The singer has been on a hot streak lately having wowed crowds at the Grey Cup, the Super Bowl and the American Music Awards where, clad in leather, she drove into the stadium on a motorcycle.

In addition to hosting duties, the country superstar will be up against songstress Celine Dion, francophone singer-songwriter Daniel Belanger, singer Alanis Morissette and Motown's Remy Shand in the artist of the year category.

Up for four Grammy awards on Feb. 23, Shand was also recognized for producer of the year, best R&B recording and songwriter.
"All the hard work that went into it, it's finally paid off," said an elated Shand following a nomination news conference in Toronto today. "All these years of working on music, my family, they're very proud. It's a love fest."

Dion and Our Lady Peace also snagged four nominations each. Dion's nods include single of the year for "A New Day Has Come", album of the year and fans choice award. The multi-Juno winner was shut out of this year's Grammy Award nominations.

Toronto-based rockers Our Lady Peace, who are currently on tour, were nominated for best rock album, group of the year, single of the year for "Somewhere Out There" and album of the year.

Joining the Canadian Music Hall of Fame this year will be singer-songwriter Tom Cochrane, who said he was touched to be included with previous inductees Joni Mitchell and Gordon Lightfoot.
"A lot of these people showed me the possibilities. These people are my heroes," said Cochrane, whose hits include "Big League" and "Life Is A Highway".
"It's a thrill being included with some of these people and being considered in the same company.

Cochrane, born in Lynn Lake, Man., said the Junos are an integral part of the country's music scene. He said the involvement of Twain and Lavigne proves its relevance.
"I think it speaks volumes for the event. It speaks volumes for the integrity of a lot of Canadians and the fact that we do have a very independent awareness of our collective and pride in our culture in Canada."
The 30-year music veteran started out as the lead singer of rock group Red Rider. He's won seven Juno Awards.

On the industry side, Nettwerk Music Group head Terry McBride will join the Music Hall of Fame. Three-time nominees include Belanger, Morissette and rap artist K-OS.

Double nominees include last year's big winners jazz singer Diana Krall and rock band Nickelback, as well as Blue Rodeo, Jane Bunnett, Shawn Desman, James Ehnes, Danko Jones, Sam Roberts and Swollen Members.

For best rock album, heavy hitters Our Lady Peace will be up against fellow Canadian stalwarts The Tea Party, Treble Charger, Wide Mouth Mason and Danko Jones.
"It's great to be acknowledged," Jones said. "We really worked hard to make this album."

In all there are 37 Juno Award categories. Winners are selected by members of the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences.

Swing by the Junos website for additional info and the full list of nominations. In the meantime, here are the nominees in the juiciest categories:

Single Of The Year:
Blue Rodeo - "Bulletproof"
Celine Dion - "A New Day Has Come"
Avril Lavigne - "Complicated"
Our Lady Peace - "Somewhere Out There"
Sam Roberts - "Brother Down"

Juno Fan Choice Award:
Celine Dion
Diana Krall
Avril Lavigne
Shania Twain

International Album Of The Year:
Creed - Weathered
Eminem - The Eminem Show
Enrique Iglesias - Escape
Nelly - Nellyville
Shakira - Laundry Service

Album OF The Year
Daniel Belanger - Rever Mieux
Celine Dion - A New Day Has Come
Avril Lavigne - Let Go
Our Lady Peace - Gravity
Shania Twain - UP!

Artist Of The Year
Daniel Belanger
Celine Dion
Alanis Morissette
Remy Shand
Shania Twain

Group Of The Year
Blue Rodeo
Our Lady Peace
Sum 41
Swollen Members
The Tragically Hip

New Artist Of The Year
Shawn Desman
Avril Lavigne
Sam Roberts
Sarah Slean

New Group Of The Year
Bet. E. & Stef
One Ton
Simple Plan
Theory Of A Deadman

Songwriter Of The Year
Avril Lavigne/The Matrix
Chad Kroeger/Nickelback
Ron Sexsmith
Remy Shand
Shania Twain/Robert John "Mutt" Lange

Rap Recording Of The Year
BrassMunk - El Dorado
Checkmate - R.A.W.
K-OS - Exit
Rascalz - Reloaded
Swollen Members - Monsters In The Closed

Pop Album Of The Year
Jarvis Church - Shake It Off
Emm Gryner - Asianblue
Avril Lavigne - Let Go
Amanda Marshall - Everybody’s Got A Story
Alanis Morissette - Under Rug Swept

Rock Album Of The Year
Danko Jones - Born A Lion
Our Lady Peace - Gravity
The Tea Party - The Interzone Mantras
Treble Charger - Detox
Wide Mouth Mason - Rained Out Parade

Alternative Album Of The Year
Broken Social Scene - You Forgot It In People
Buck 65 - Square
Hot Hot Heat - Make Up The Breakdown
The New Deal - The New Deal
Royal City - Alone At The Microphone

R&B/Soul Recording Of The Year
Jully Black - You Changed
Shawn Desman - Get Ready
Carl Henry - RNB
Glenn Lewis - World Outside My Window
Remy Shand - The Way I Feel

Most read news of the week
James Hetfield (Metallica) described Limp Bizkit as 'a Motley Crue for the '90s'
Phil Spector arrested in shooting death
Jason Newsted wishes Metallica nothing but the best in the future...
Guy Pearce to star in next Silverchair video
Styx, Santana, Shania, Sting, Dixie Chicks and No Doubt live on the 'Super Bowl'
BET aired 'making of' R. Kelly 'Ignition' video
Common, Gang Starr, Talib Kweli & Floetry to Tour
Madonna Fed Up With Britain?
Natalie Cole recalls father's influence

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 1.0229919 secs // 4 () queries in 0.055296182632446 secs