Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address

She & Him, The Black Keys, Mark Hoppus, Aimee Mann And Bettye LaVette Join Judging Panel For The 9th Annual Independent Music Awards

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

NEW YORK (Top40 Charts/ Independent Music Awards) - The Independent Music Awards (IMAs) announced today the first group of influential artists and industry veterans who will determine the winners of the 9th annual IMAs, currently accepting submissions.

The stellar list includes: Aimee Mann, Shelby Lynne, Paul Miller aka DJ Spooky, Bettye LaVette, Jonatha Brooke, Suzanne Vega, Judy Collins, Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward (She & Him), Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney (The Black Keys); the brothers
Zac, Isaac and Taylor Hanson of Hanson; the members of Apples In Stereo (and 7th IMA Pop/Rock-Song Winners) Eric Allen,
Bill Doss, John Dufilho and John Ferguson; Mark Hoppus (Blink 182), Dennis Diken (The Smithereens), Butch Walker and Brian "Head" Welch (Korn) are among the impressive line-up of
IMA judges.

For a complete list of 9th Annual Independent Music Award Judges, go to

Artistry Has Its Awards

The Independent Music Awards, the awards program for independent artists and fans, is a prestigious international program that helps top-ranked artists and releases reach new markets via promotion, distribution and performance opportunities that place them in front of millions of Fans, Programmers, Talent Buyers, Film, TV & Gaming Music Supervisors, Press and other industry gatekeepers.

The IMA program supports artists who broaden the definition of commercial success and represent the diversity of the global Indie scene. The program honors artists with previous major label releases as well as artists signed to indie labels and those with self-released titles.

Past winners and nominees include: Koko Taylor, Martin Sexton, Jamie Lidell, The Apples In Stereo, Lacuna Coil, God Forbid, Sweet Honey In The Rock, Jeff Healey, Dengue Fever, Joan As Police Woman, Twilight Hotel, Speech, Mary Gauthier, Jennifer Nettles, Girl In A Coma, Marco Benevento, Tannis Slimmon and Dan Zanes.

Adding to an already broad spectrum of music and design categories, awards added to this year's program include: Story Song, Love Song, Concept Album and Eclectic Album.

Submissions for the 9th annual Independent Music Awards program must be received by Friday, August 21, 2009 to be considered for the upcoming program.

Program details and entry forms are available at, and in the 2009 edition of the industry contact directory, The Musician's Atlas which is currently on sale.

In addition to IMA sponsored showcases throughout the year, a full-day celebration of independent talent showcasing past and current IMA artists is scheduled for February 2010 in New York City.

Most read news of the week
Single Reviews Released 25 May 2009
PRS Intros Metallic DuPont Hot Hues Finishes
June 2009 Playboy Covergirl America Olivo Inks Solo Recording Deal With Pop/Dance Indie Label Dauman Music
A-Ha Will Release NEW single 'Foot Of The Mountain' On July 6, 2009
Sean Paul Releases New Album Cover For 'IMPERIAL BLAZE'!
Estonian Singer Hannah Has New Single 'Keeping Score' Co-written/produced By Steve Robson
Legacy Launches The Woodstock Experience: 40th Anniversary Commemorations Begin!
Exclusive From Cracker Barrel New Montgomery Gentry Album 'For Our Heroes,' Goes On Sale Today
Americana Music Association Announces Nominees

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0204990 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0067381858825684 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how