Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address

Music Business 3.0 The Next Generation

TORONTO, CANADA (Top40 Charts/ CRMA) - From rock to pop and urban to country, Canada's hottest radio stars will be celebrated at the 13th Annual Canadian Radio Music Awards (CRMA) on Friday, March 12, 2010, 12:30pm. Taking place at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel in Toronto as part of Canadian Music Week 2010, the awards will be handed out during a gala luncheon featuring performances by nominees Stereos, The New Cities, Arkells and Dean Brody.

Leading this year's nominees are Karl Wolf and Nickelback with three nominations apiece followed by The Midway State, Stereos, The New Cities, Classified, Drake, Melanie Fiona and Theory of a Deadman, all with two nominations. The complete list of nominees is printed below.

Presented by The Canadian Association of Broadcasters, the Canadian Radio Music Awards honour first-time top charting Canadian artists in six music categories, including Mainstream AC, Hot AC, Rock, CHR, Dance/Urban/Rhythmic, and Country. Nominees include artists who have hit the Canadian charts for the first time and who have achieved top airplay in different formats based on radio "spins", as recorded by Nielsen Broadcast Data Systems (BDS) in 2009. Votes cast by music directors, program directors and on-air personalities determine the winners.

Nominees for this year's Song of the Year Award are "If Today Was Your Last Day" (written by Chad Kroeger; recorded by Nickelback), "Gotta Be Somebody" (written by Chad Kroeger, Ryan Peake, and Joe Moi; recorded by Nickelback), "Sunglasses" (written by Divine Brown, Slakah The Beatchild, Nelly Furtado, and Corey Hart; recorded by Divine Brown), "Not Meant To Be" (written by Tyler Connolly, Dean Back, Dave Brenner, and Kara Dioguardi; recorded by Theory Of A Deadman), and "Tug Of War" (written by Carly Rae Jepsen and Ryan Stewart; recorded by Carly Rae Jepsen).

Again this year, the CRMA Fans' Choice Award will be presented. Radio listeners from across the country can vote online for their favourite radio artist at the Canadian Music Week website ( This year's Fans' Choice nominees are Hedley, Karl Wolf, Marianas Trench, Nickelback, State of Shock and Theory of a Deadman.

Two additional non-voting awards will also be presented at this year's ceremony: the FACTOR Breakthrough Award for top airplay for a new FACTOR supported artist; and the Chart Topper Award for top overall airplay.

At this year's ceremony, Platinum Blonde and Rob Braide will each receive a Lifetime Achievement Award to commemorate their induction into the Canadian Music and Broadcast Industry Hall of Fame.

Most read news of the week

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.8097351 secs // 5 () queries in 0.010409832000732 secs