Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
 News Charts / Awards 02/09/2010

Popkomm 2010: Four Finalists Selected For The New Music Award

New York, NY (Top40 Charts/ Popkomm Official Website) - Popkomm will open on 7 September 2010 with the presentation of the New Music Award in the building on the grounds of the former airport at Berlin-Tempelhof. More than 2.5 million listeners to ARD programmes for young people cast their votes to decide on the four finalists, who are as follows: Kraftklub (Chemnitz), The Love Below (Berlin), AndiOliPhilipp (Heilbronn) and Avery Mile (Bremen). The four bands will travel to Berlin on 07 September to attend the final and will play at the opening event of Popkomm, Germany's largest business platform for the music and entertainment industry and part of the Berlin Music Week, where they will contest this coveted award.

Inside the impressive surroundings of the former airport the four finalists will perform in front of a large audience, which will include numerous experts from the media and music industry. Not only that, a jury composed of industry experts and representatives of the networks involved will decide on who takes home the award as well as a voucher, sponsored by a music company, for 10,000 euros worth of musical equipment. Nor will the other three finalists depart empty-handed.
The jury members are: Nash Nopper (music promoter, who has also promoted Die Fantastischen Vier), NHOAH (producer, who has also promoted Mia.), Andy Barsekow (on3 from BR), Kai T??lke (Bremen Vier from Radio Bremen) and Philipp Ost (DASDING from SWR).

More than 2.5 million votes
More than 2.5 million votes were cast online for the bands contesting the New Music Award. 23.5 per cent voted for Kraftklub, about 21.1 per cent for The Love Below, around 16.4 per cent for AndiOliPhilipp, and some 15.8 per cent wanted Avery Mile to be in the final. Over a period of three weeks voters were able to choose their favourites from 16 bands previously selected by the music editors of the eight networks broadcasting ARD radio programmes for young people.

Live broadcast on radio and TV
Fritz on rbb will broadcast the presentation of the New Music Award live from 7 p.m. to midnight on 07 September, on the opening evening of Popkomm, Germany's largest business platform for the music and entertainment industry. Bremen Vier, DASDING (SWR), MDR SPUTNIK, N-JOY (NDR), on3 (BR), YOU FM (hr) and 103.7 UnserDing (SR) will broadcast from 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. respectively, with live reports, interviews and live music from this exclusive event.

Einsfestival programmes will cover the presentation of the New Music Award on 07 September starting at 10.15 p.m., rbb TV will broadcast a repeat at 12 midnight from 10 to 11 September, as will Bayerisches Fernsehen at 1 a .m. on 11 September.

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
Irish Rock Band Speedking Release New Album 'Cause And Effect'
Kix Brooks And Citadel Media Announce American Country Countdown 2011 Tour
Crowded House's Top Hits And Fan Favorites Gathered For 'The Very Very Best Of Crowded House,' To Be Released October 26, 2010
Meet Kenny Wayne Shepherd 'Live In Chicago'
Nickelback Frontman Reveals The Winning Name Of His Signature Gibson Les Paul
OddGrooves Releases Reggae Drum Loops Pack
The Australian Pink Floyd Show Under New Management
Fat Girl Tribute Album Release Party & Special Guests Announced
John Lennon 'Gimme Some Truth'
Elizabeth Mitchell And Family Play 'sunny Day' Family Shows Across Us
Slash In 3D! Guitarist Teams Up With Passmorelab To Convert Latest Video 'By The Sword' To 3D
Slash Rocks With 'Slash Fm'
Murderdolls Release 'Women And Children Last' And The Reviews Are In
'Black Is Back, Again' - New Funk-rock Single From Doctor G And Funkfusion
Experience Hendrix Tour Returns This Fall

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0247619 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0071718692779541 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how