Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address

Winners Of The 2011 European Border Breakers' Awards Announced

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

Groningen, The Netherlands ma (Top40 Charts/ Eurosonic Noorderslag) - The winners of the 2011 European Border Breakers' Awards (EBBA) for emerging talent in European pop, rock and dance music were announced today by Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, and music promoter Eurosonic. The winners will receive their awards in a ceremony hosted by TV personality and musician Jools Holland at the Eurosonic-Noorderslag music festival in Groningen, Netherlands, on 12 January 2011.

The European Border Breakers' Awards are presented to new or emerging European artists or groups for success in reaching audiences outside their own country with their first internationally-released album. The aim of the prize is to help increase their sales and visibility across Europe.

The winners of the 2011 awards are:

Saint Lu (Austria)
Stromae (Belgium)
Aura Dione (Denmark)
ZAZ (France)
The Baseballs (Germany)
Caro Emerald (Netherlands)
Donkeyboy (Norway)
Inna (Romania)
Miike Snow (Sweden)
Mumford & Sons (UK)

Commissioner Vassiliou said: "Music knows no boundaries and I hope this award will help encourage not only the winners but also other emerging acts to look beyond their domestic markets to achieve international success from sales, touring and broadcasting. Music, regardless of genre, brings people together and demonstrates the breadth of our talent in Europe. I'm delighted that the Commission supports these awards."

EBBA roll-call of success

Former winners of the award include well-known artists including Katie Melua, KT Tunstall, Carla Bruni, Delores O'Riordan, Alphabeat, The Ting Tings, Tokio Hotel, Damien Rice, The Thrills, Adele, Corinne Bailey Rae, Gabriel Rios, Sliimy, Milow and many more (see full list of former winners

The public are invited to vote online, from 1 December, to select the winner of the 'Public Choice Award' (see webpage to vote ).

The award ceremony - including performances by most of the winning acts - will be recorded and broadcast by Dutch National Television (NOS/NTR) and will also receive European coverage through TV channels and radio stations associated with the European Broadcasting Union and others.

The awards, now in their eighth year, are funded by the EU Culture Programme and Eurosonic-Noorderslag, in partnership with the European music industry and the European Broadcasting Union.

The winning artists are selected on the basis of sales and public radio airplay statistics provided by the Billboard Information Group, the European Broadcasting Union and the European Talent Exchange Program.
To find out more:

Most read news of the week
Jackson Browne Announces 2011 Solo Acoustic Tour In February With West Coast US Dates
Ciara Unleashes Her 'Basic Instinct'
Stereo Skyline Steal Venice Beach Ice Cream Truck For New Vid
New Footage Of Bing Crosby Christmas Classic On iTunes
Composer Craig Marks Releases The Soundtrack To Iron Chef America And The Next Iron Chef
Pen Music Group Signs Academy Award-winning Composer Donny Markowitz
'Party In Your Bedroom' Again: Cash Cash Release Original Demo Of Hit Single
World Aids Day, LA: Rapper Y.G. Teams On Innovative 'tickets For Testing' Program To Spur HIV Testing, Awareness Among Youth
Shazam Delivers Take That 'Golden Tag' Win To Superfan Shirley Price

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0249281 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0092341899871826 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how