Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
 News Metal / Hard Rock 15/10/2013

Andy John Bradford's Oceans 5 Release Debut Album Return To Mingulay

Andy John Bradford's Oceans 5 Release Debut Album Return To Mingulay

New York, NY (Top40 Charts/ Melodic Revolution Records) Andy John Bradford's Oceans 5 is a progressive folk rock band fronted by UK singer songwriter and solo artist Andy John Bradford. When you think of Progressive music, you tend not to imagine a 200 year old traditional tune with sea shanty lyrics. However, "prog" is exactly what Folk Singer/Songwriter Andy John Bradford had in mind when he approached guitarist Colin Tench, with The Mingulay Boat Song. Colin Tench (BunChakeze, Corvus Stone & The Minstrel's Ghost) to help out.

They assembled an unlikely band, purely to record this one song, and they produced a version of The Mingulay Boat Song unlike any version before. They cared not if anybody actually wanted to hear such a version.

This lineup clearly had great chemistry and despite the fact that they were all busy with their own bands, and they all agreed that this band has something to say. Andy has a great feel for songwriting and Oceans 5 are proving to be rather good at twisting music into a whole new art form, from bouncy sing-along songs to songs with an epic feel.

The debut album "Return to Mingulay" could be considered a progressive folk rock album with an old fashioned crossover style. Nothing too clever or extreme just oceans of melodies, there are 5 core members in Oceans 5 and although they are all influenced by progressive music they all have very different approaches to composition and style. This combination has resulted in songs that really don't sound like something you've heard before. The music owes more to the "anything goes" philosophy of the 70s than the finely tuned precision of 2013. There are clearly echoes of The Strawbs, Pink Floyd and even Thin Lizzy here.

Side Note:
Music should never be a perfect science. It should be a conversation with many opinions, unrestricted by language or bias.

Meet The Band:
Andy John Bradford (Solo Artist): 12 String Guitar and Vocals
Colin Tench (BunChakeze, Corvus Stone & The Minstrel's Ghost): Guitars
Marco Chiappini (Gandalf's Project): Keyboards
Stef Flaming (Murky Red): Bass Guitar
Victor Tassone (Unified Past): Drums & Percussion

Track Listing:
01. The Mingulay Boat Song
02. The Whitby Smugglers Song
03. Empty Hands
04. Five O'clock Line
05. Dancing With The Rhythm Of The Shore
06. Invictus The Captain Of My Soul
07. Sails Off The Bay
08. 6000 Friends
09. Fly Away

Featured Guests:
Lorelei McBroom (Pink Floyd, The Rolling Stones & Rod Stewart): Vocals (6000 Friends)
Andres Guazzelli (Solo & Corvus Stone): Piano & Orchestration (6000 Friends, Fly Away)

Artwork :Sonia Mota
Official Website:

Contact Info:
Andy John Bradford:
Colin Tench:

Andy John Bradford's Oceans 5 Release Debut Album Return To Mingulay Email:


Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
CMMB's Season Opener To Include West Coast Premiere Of Jesse Jones' Commission For The Juilliard String Quartet
The 2013 American Music Awards Nominations Announced
Boz Scaggs' Collection 'The Essential Boz Scaggs,' Tracks Hitmaking Career Over Course Of Five Decades
Clear Channel Celebrates The Holiday Season With The National "iHeartRadio Jingle Ball 2013" Concert Tour
Goo Goo Dolls New Single 'Come To Me' Added To Radio 2 Playlist; UK Tour Starts Next Week
RnB Star McLean Reveals New Single "Does It Hurt"
AJR Debut Official Music Video For "I'm Ready" On VEVO, Announce Fall Tour Plans
30 Years Of Roadrunner On Hangar 19
Australian Rock Band Bellusira Inks Deal With US Management Team And Evanescence Drummer
Marin Alsop Leads The Baltimore Symphony Orchestra In The Centerpiece Of The BSO's 2013-2014 Season: Britten's War Requiem, Nov. 14-16
Bruno Mars Set To Unveil New Music Video For "Gorilla"; "Gorilla" To Premiere Exclusively Via Facebook Monday, October 14th
X Factor Top 16 Group, Girls United, Are Set To Release Their Cover Of Ariana Grande's Pink Champagne
Sons Of Hippies Join East Coast Leg Of Soul Coughing Front Man Mike Doughty's National Tour, Release New Video
Josh Groban, John Lennon, Yoko Ono, Elvis Presley & Rod Stewart Make First AVSC Album Appearance
Video: Prince - "Breakfast Can Wait"

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0297079 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0071625709533691 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how