Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
RnB 18/09/2004

Koch Records to release 'Chronicles' on Oct.5th

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

NEW YORK (KOCH Records) - KOCH Records is happy to announce the release of Chronic*les, a collection of '70s funk and soul tracks that inspired the hip hop classics, Dr. Dre's The Chronic and NWA's Straight Outta Compton. The collection will be released on October 5th.

Both The Chronic and Compton were groundbreaking albums that showcased Dre's influential sound –and changed the face of hip hop forever. In creating some of the biggest selling albums in rap history, Dre mixed unparalleled lyrical skill with great performances by all-star contributors, incorporating great beats and breaks from classic funk and R&B records. The original music that Dre was inspired by, whether directly through sampling or by the more painstaking process of replaying favorite elements, was crucial in defining his 'G-Funk' sound - a sound that would come to be as influential a style as any in today's pop music.

An indispensable companion CD to Dr. Dre's multi-platinum masterpiece The Chronic, Chronic*les is much more than a collection of stellar breaks and beats. It's also a showcase for some of the greatest, grittiest tracks by soul and R&B vocalists like Donny Hathaway, Bill Withers and Isaac Hayes. Mixing big hits, overlooked classics and some extremely hard to find tracks, Chronic*les makes for an unforgettable listening experience.

The track listing is:
1. Leon Haywood: I Want'a Do Something Freaky To You (inspiration for 'Nuttin But a G Thang')
2. Isaac Hayes: Do Your Thang (inspiration for 'Stranded on Death Row')
3. Charles Wright & The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band: Express Yourself (inspiration for 'Express Yourself')
4. Donny Hathaway: Little Ghetto Boy (inspiration for 'Lil' Ghetto boys')
5. The Average White Band & Ben E. King: A Star In The Ghetto (inspiration for 'If It Ain't Ruff')
6. Wilson Pickett: Engine Number Nine (inspiration for 'Straight Outa Compton')
7. Parliament: Mothership Connection (Star Child) (inspiration for 'Let Me Ride')
8. Bill Withers: Kissing My Love (inspiration for 'Let Me Ride')
9. Kay Gee's: Who's The Man? (With The Master Plan) (inspiration for 'A Nigga Witta Gun')
10. Willie Hutch: Brother's Gonna Work It Out (inspiration for 'Rat-tat-tat-tat')
11. Rufus Thomas: The Breakdown (inspiration for 'Kanurshol')
12. Donny Hathaway And Margie Joseph: Come Back Charleston Blue (inspiration for 'Rat-tat-tat-tat')
13. The Meters: Cardova (inspiration for 'She Swallowed It')
14. Nite Liters: Damn (inspiration for 'Lyrical Gangbang')

Most read news of the week
Shania Twain buys NZ property; Motatapu Station and Mt Soho Station lease sales approved
Britney Spears' Merchandising Company 'Britney Brands, Inc.' added as a defendant in the multi-million dollar lawsuit against Britney Spears for infringement of 'In The Zone' trademark
'Premios Juventud' finalists announced - Thalia, Jennifer Lopez, Juanes, Paulina Rubio, Shakira, Chayanne and Alex Rodriguez among contenders
Coldplay, Paul Buchanan and more at KCRW Concert
Deep Dish, FC Kahuna, Headman/Manhead confirmed for ADE 2004
Hit songwriter and best-selling baseball author Seth Swirsky steps up to the plate with debut release 'Instant Pleasure' on October 1st
Boston area alternative rockers, Karmic Brick, set to release their first full-length album, 'The Unnatural World,' on October 1, 2004
Lorna Bracewell releases new CD 'God Forbid'
Underground Hip Hop independent Record Label
The Yoshida Brothers, the new Japanese invasion begins
Walt Disney Records presents an album fit for a Princess with 'Disney Princess: The Ultimate Song Collection'; Compilation features the all-new Princess Anthem 'If You Can Dream' performed by the Disney Princesses
Americana Conference gears up for Conference, next week in Nashville
Franz Ferdinand lead 2004 Q Award nominations
Legendary artists YES and Meat Loaf together in first of its kind, big screen concert double feature at Regal Entertainment Group Theatres; One Big Night, Two Big Shows!
Got dance? Taborah rises up with 'I Am' (the Rising) during the Annual Billboard Dance Music Summit 2004 in NYC

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.7585130 secs // 4 () queries in 0.037966966629028 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how