Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 04/09/2014

Jaymes Young To Release Debut EP "Habits Of My Heart" On September 30, 2014

Jaymes Young To Release Debut EP "Habits Of My Heart" On September 30, 2014

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts/ Atlantic Records) Atlantic recording artist Jaymes Young has announced the release of his eagerly awaited label debut EP. "HABITS OF MY HEART" will arrive on the iTunes Store and other online retailers on September 30th.

"HABITS OF MY HEART" is highlighted by the extraordinary title track, Young's acclaimed remake/remodel of Sufjan Stevens' "Concerning The UFO Sighting Near Highland, Illinois." Since its release, the song has hit No. 1 on Hype Machine on four separate occasions and has received an ecstatic response from a wide range of online outlets, with Earmilk noting that Jaymes "displays R&B, Rock, and Pop influences in 'Habits of My Heart,' which shows just how diverse he can be as an artist." While says Jaymes "manages to grab the beautiful, pained vibe of the original" while also "(putting) a unique spin on the track, executing original lyrics and a more pop-infused style thanks to a strong (self-produced) synth beat." "Habits of My Heart" is streaming now at Young's official YouTube,

Young will celebrate "HABITS OF MY HEART" by traveling throughout North America as the direct support on F-Stop/Atlantic recording artist Vance Joy's upcoming "Dream Your Life Away World Tour 2014." The trek gets underway October 17th at Dallas' Trees and then travels through late November (see below itinerary). In addition, Young will headline a special EP preview show at The Bootleg in Los Angeles, slated for September 24th. For complete details and ticket information, please visit

Jaymes Young has earned wide-ranging accolades for his emotive songcraft and utterly unique fusion of indie, pop, electronica, and contemporary R&B. Introducing himself in 2013 with a salvo of self-released singles, the Seattle-born, Los Angeles-based singer/songwriter first came into the spotlight with his 2013 debut mixtape, "DARK STAR." The collection -- and its transcendent title track -- drew a bounty of love both online and in print, with NYLON noting how Young "(combines) R&B-inspired melodies with silky-smooth vocals for a heady combination that leaves you a little bit woozy-feeling afterward." Pigeons & Planes praised "DARK STAR" as "dark corridor pop," adding "Young's expansive but cleverly unified influences (touch) elegantly on a variety of genres without ever losing a sound readily identifiable with the singer. It's a strong sign of potential coming to fruition and a distinctive style quickly cohering."

As a poet, Young's approach to songwriting is always lyrics first, then music. "My belief is that emotion is the strongest thing," he says. "You can't replace words."

"This whole EP has been a heart-breaking process and journey," says Young. "It was important for me to explore the entire spectrum of emotions, as real and raw as possible, no matter what the emotion is. I'm not writing for myself, but for the people I want to connect with. All I care about is connecting."

A creative and compelling live artist, Young has already spent much of the past year on the road including headline dates and tours alongside London Grammar in both North America and the UK. In addition, Young's collaboration with fellow Atlantic recording artist Birdy, "Best Shot (Feat. Jaymes Young)," was among the many highlights found on Atlantic's recent smash soundtrack, "THE FAULT IN OUR STARS - MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE."
For music, news, and additional information, please visit,, (@jaymesyng),, and

Release Date: September 30th
1. Habits of My Heart
2. I'll Be Good
3. What Should I Do
4. Come Back For Me
5. Moondust (Stripped)

All dates directly supporting Vance Joy except *

24 - Los Angeles, CA - The Bootleg *

17 - Dallas, TX - Trees
18 - Austin, TX - Emo's
19 - Houston, TX - Fitzgerald's Upstairs
21 - Nashville, TN - Cannery Ballroom
22 - Atlanta, GA - Terminal West @ King Plow Arts Center
23 - Charleston, SC - The Pour House
25 - Washington D.C. - 9:30 Club
28 - New York, NY - Webster Hall
29 - Boston, MA - Paradise Rock Club
30 - Montreal, QC - Corona Theatre

1 - Toronto, ON - Phoenix Concert Theatre
3 - Ottawa, ON - The Observatory At Algonquin College
4 - London, ON - London Music Hall - Rum Runners
6 - Columbus, OH - The A&R Music Bar
7 - Detroit, MI - St. Andrews Hall
8 - Chicago, IL - Lincoln Hall
10 - Minneapolis, MN - Varsity Theatre
11 - Winnipeg, MB - West End Cultural Center
13 - Calgary, AB - Republik
16 - Vancouver, BC - Commodore Ballroom
19 - Eugene, OR - WOW Hall
21 - Salt Lake City, UT - Urban Lounge
22 - Denver, CO - Bluebird Theater
24 - Phoenix, AZ - Crescent Ballroom
25 - San Diego, CA - House Of Blues
28 - Los Angeles, CA - The Fonda Theatre
29 - San Francisco, CA - Slim's.

Most read news of the week
Miranda Lambert Matches Personal Record For Most Nominations For "The 48th Annual CMA Awards" With Nine Nods
Florida's KAJ Brothers Debut Single "Hello" Hits The Street With A Beneficent Mission And Message To Bring Awareness To A Cause Close To Their Hearts
George Harrison: The Apple Years 1968-75 To Be Released September 23, 2014
Riot Fest Announces Hourly Set Times For Toronto September 6-7 In Downsview Park
Wiz Khalifa Debuts At No 1 With "Blacc Hollywood"; Grammy-Nominated Superstar Scores First-Ever #1 Debut On Billboard 200
Bret Michaels Rocks "Sweet Home Alabama" On MDA Show Of Strength Telethon Rocker Donates $10,000 And Promises 9-Year-Old Ambassador A Harley Ride
The Fuel Music Management Founder, President Tony Patoto Named To Rise Above Ministries Board Of Directors
Announcing Forever Festival Detroit 2014 W Krewella, Flux Pavilion, Adventure Club, Nervo, Destroid, 3lau & Many More
Chiodos Premieres "3 AM"!
Brazilian Music Icon Sergio Mendes Releases Eclectic Okeh Records Debut - Magic - Available September 9
Eric Unseen Aim To Prove They Have Been 'Brought Up The Right Way' With New Album
Weightless By Marconi Union
Chef RJ Cooper, Chef Patrick Owens, Chef Ken Vedrinski And Pastry Chef Kelly Kleisner Join Chef Rusty Hamlin For Southern Ground Music & Food Festival In Charleston October 11/12
Watertower Music Announces Release Of "If I Stay - Song Inspired By The Book" By Fan Abigail Wate, Discovered On YouTube
Nonpoint Releases New Song "Never Ending Hole"

© 2001-2020 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.4135571 secs // 4 () queries in 0.037767171859741 secs

Support (5$/year) We noticed you are using an Ad blocker! Please consider supporting our site. We provide free content for everyone and would love to only be funded by music lovers -> Find out how