Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
RnB 17/11/2014

Kevin Gates Announces "Luca Brasi 2: A Gangsta Grillz Special Edition Mixtape"

Kevin Gates Announces "Luca Brasi 2: A Gangsta Grillz Special Edition Mixtape"

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts/ Atlantic Records) Bread Winners' Association/Atlantic recording artist Kevin Gates has announced plans for his highly anticipated new mixtape LUCA BRASI 2: A GANGSTA GRILLZ SPECIAL EDITION MIXTAPE. The collection is now available for pre-order ( and includes two instant grat downloads: "Out The Mud" and the new lead track Gates unveiled over the weekend via World Star Hip Hop, "I Don't Get Tired (#IDGT) Ft. August Alsina" ( LUCA BRASI 2: A GANGSTA GRILLZ SPECIAL EDITION MIXTAPE will be available at all digital retailers December 15. See full track listing below.

is the next installment of DJ Drama's wildly successful Gangsta Grillz series. Gangsta Grillz is one of the most popular mixtape franchises of all time and has seen mixtapes from many southern heavyweights including T.I., Lil Wayne, Jeezy and 2 Chainz.

"LUCA BRASI 2 is one of those perfectly timed tapes," said DJ Drama. "Kevin has been grinding hard for long time and now is the right moment for him to join the Gangsta Grillz Hall of Fame. I'm looking forward to making history with this project."

The lead track "I Don't Get Tired (#IDGT) Ft. August Alsina" was created as an anthem for the #IDGT campaign Gates started on Instagram earlier this year. Gates -- who has over 1 million followers on Instagram - started using #IDGT and the phrase "I Don't Get Tired" at the end of every post. The phrase and hashtag was adopted by many of Gates' fans and beyond, and #IDGT has now been used over 480,000 times on Instagram and thousands more across other social media platforms. The campaign reflects Kevin's overall attitude and lifestyle as a rapper and parent with a relentless hardworking attitude.

The previously released buzz track "Out The Mud" has a companion video that will premiere later today on MTV Jams (check local listings).

Gates is currently on the "No Genre" tour with labelmate B.o.B. The US trek will include a November 24th performance at New York City's Irving Plaza and will conclude at the end of the month. See tour itinerary below.

Earlier this year Gates was selected as one of XXL Magazine's "XXL Freshmen 2014," the prestigious annual "class" of hip-hop's rising new stars. Prior to that, the Baton Rouge-based rapper released his latest mixtape "BY ANY MEANS" in March. Gates nearly doubled his first week sales record and achieved his highest chart debut with "BY ANY MEANS," which landed at No. 3 on the Current Rap Albums Overall Chart and at No. 17 on the Billboard 200.

"BY ANY MEANS" quickly proved itself to be among the most acclaimed hip-hop releases of 2014. "Easily the most complex, confounding, and fascinating gangster rap record of the year so far," declared Complex. "(Gates) lays down more creative and interesting rap melodies than just about anybody, Drake and them included." "Breathtaking," agreed The Fader. "Gates imbues (tracks like 'Bet I'm On It' and 'Don't Know') with raw emotional honesty and generous glimpses into his personal life." "Lyrically dexterous in the manner of older Southern giants like Bun B and 8Ball," declared the New York Times, while Rolling Stone raved, "The 28-year-old Baton Rouge, Louisiana, artist raps, sings and harmonizes, often alternating between vocal modes within a verse, exuding a gritty earthiness that sets him apart from contemporary crooners like Future and Rich Homie Quan... (Gates) writes lyrics with passion and humility and speaks honestly about a rough life that has included multiple stretches in prison." "One of the realest MCs in the game right now," decreed XXL, "someone who's both genuine and sincere... on 'BY ANY MEANS,' he comes off worthy of the acclaim, spitting vivid street stories that range from gut-wrenching to endearing all while demonstrating a serious knack for songwriting." "Packed with uptempo anthems and chest-pumping bravado," noted Pitchfork, adding, "with 'BY ANY MEANS,' (Kevin Gates) completes a three-release run that's as solid as any in recent memory." Perhaps Vibe summed it up best: "If there's one rapper that more people need to be talking about, it's Kevin Gates."
For more, please see,,,, and

1. Luca Brasi Intro
2. I Don't Get Tired (#IDGT) feat. August Alsina
3. John Gotti
4. Perfect Imperfection
5. Word Around Town feat. Rich Homie Quan
6. Out The Mud
7. Thugged Out feat. Boobie Black
8. Plug Daughter
9. Complaining feat. Rico Love
10. Talk On Phones
11. Makin Love
12. Don't Panic
13. Break Her Down feat. K. Camp
14. Pourin The Syrup
15. Sit Down
16. Lean On Me
17. Fast Forward
18. The Game

All dates supporting B.o.B on the "No Genre Tour"
16 Nashville, TN Anthem
17 Oxford, OH Brick Street
18 Asheville, NC The Orange Peel
20 Philadelphia, PA The Electric Factory
22 Boston, MA House of Blues Boston
23 Mashantucket, CT Foxwoods Resort and Casino
24 New York, NY Irving Plaza
25 Baltimore, MD Soundstage
26 Silver Spring, MD The Fillmore Silver Spring
28 Biloxi, MS Mississippi Coast Coliseum
29 New Orleans, LA Howlin' Wolf.

Most read news of the week
Luis Fonsi To Headline "Terra Live Music" 2014, Along With J Balvin, Juan Magan And Pablo Lopez
The 2014 Hip Hop Hall Of Fame Awards Show To Be Televised By Soul Of The South TV During Hip Hop History Month
The Soundtrack For 'Riot Club' Is Featuring "We're Out There Somewhere" Performed By Graham Coxon
Snoop Dogg, T-Pain, Future And More To Appear On 'Full Court Press, Vol. 1' Out December 9th
Becky G, Shawn Mendes, Bea Miller And R5 To Perform At Free Rock The Red Kettle Concert At LA Live In Downtown On December 6, 2014
Nicole Scherzinger Unveils "Run" Music Video On VEVO Now; New Album 'Big Fat Lie' Set For 2015 Release
Erasure Reveals Parralox Remix Of New Single "Reason"
Artificial Agent Premier "Master Blaster" Music Video
Asking Alexandria: UK Group's "Moving On" Hits Top 15 At Rock Radio This Week; US Tour To Kick-off Nov. 28

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0090330 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0052914619445801 secs