Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Soundtracks 12/05/2015

Lakeshore Records Presents "Slow West" Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Lakeshore Records Presents "Slow West" Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

LOS ANGELES (Top40 Charts) Lakeshore Records will release the SLOW WEST - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on May 19th and on CD June 23, 2015. The album features the film's original score by Jed Kurzel (THE BABADOOK, MACBETH) and The Mess Hall band. SLOW WEST earned the Grand Jury Prize in the World Cinema Dramatic strand at Sundance 2015.

"John is a very talented songwriter and musician in his own right," said Kurzel of the film's writer/director John Maclean, who was a member of The Beta Band. "He was able to communicate ideas very clearly. We talked about the music being simple, melodic, uncluttered and honest. You wouldn't know it from hearing the eventual score, but I remember our discussions revolving around hip-hop a lot of the time and what makes it so effective. I don't think I could have had those conversations with another director."

Jed Kurzel is an award-winning composer and musician, whose feature film debut for the critically-acclaimed Australian movie SNOWTOWN was named Feature Film Score of the Year at Sydney's 2011 Screen Music Awards. More recently, he has written music for the documentary feature ALL THIS MAYHEM which features the skateboarding Pappas Brothers, for which he won an AACTA (Australian Academy Of Cinema Television Arts) award; the feature film THE BABADOOK, which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival 2014; and SON OF A GUN, starring Ewan MacGregor and Alicia Vikander. Prior to focusing on composing, Jed was best known as the front man and songwriter for Australian duo The Mess Hall. Jed has recently finished writing the music for Justin Kurzel's upcoming feature film MACBETH, starring Michael Fassbender and Marion Cotillard, which will premier at the 2015 Cannes Film Festival.

SLOW WEST is a western adventure set in late 19th Century Colorado, centered on a young man's epic search for the love of his life. Michael Fassbender stars as Silas Selleck, a mysterious and inscrutable stranger acting as the paid protector to sixteen-year-old Scottish aristocrat Jay Cavendish (Kodi Smit-McPhee), who is on a reckless journey through the American Wild West. Jay has grown up in the Scottish Highlands with Rose Ross (Caren Pistorius), a humble farmer's daughter. As they mature, friendship grows into something deeper for Jay. When her father (Rory McCann) has to flee to America after a tragedy, Rose is suddenly torn from Jay's life. Heartbroken, Jay turns his back on his privileged life and sets off to find Rose and win her heart.

"We steered away from anything typically 'western' and went for something bittersweet, more in tune with Jay's journey," said Kurzel. "A score that, like Jay, is European at heart and at odds with the brutality of the American West."

A24 and DIRECTV present SLOW WEST exclusively available now on DIRECTV and in theaters and On Demand May 15, 2015. Lakeshore Records will release the SLOW WEST - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on May 12th and on CD June 23, 2015.

Track Listing
1. Orion's Belt - Jay Cavendish
2. Jay's Theme - Jed Kurzel & London Contemporary Orchestra
3. Let's Drift - Silas Selleck
4. Let's Drift Theme - Jed Kurzel & London Contemporary Orchestra
5. Mbanza Congo - Passi Jo, Sam Manzanza and Tawanda Manyimo
6. The Trading Post - Jed Kurzel & London Contemporary Orchestra
7. The Swedes - London Contemporary Orchestra
8. In Where? - Jay Cavendish & Silas Selleck
9. Rupert's Death - Jed Kurzel & London Contemporary Orchestra
10. Am Bata Uaine - Ali 'Beag' MacLeod
11. Jay Alone Theme - London Contemporary Orchestra
12. A New World (For Them) - Werner
13. After Werner - Jed Kurzel & London Contemporary Orchestra
14. Fly to Rose - Silas Selleck
15. Aeolian Arietta - Lone Pigeon
16. Rose Ross Is Her Name - Jay Cavendish
17. Absinthe Theme - Jed Kurzel & London Contemporary Orchestra
18. A Falling Angel - Payne
19. The Minstrel's Song - Bryan Michael Mills
20. Jupiter and Mars (Instrumental) - Lone Pigeon and The Kittens
21. Not Bad Kid - Silas Selleck
22. The Washing Line - Jed Kurzel & London Contemporary Orchestra
23. Theme from The Orkestra of the Dead - Bryan Michael Mills
24. Kill That House - Payne
25. The Shoot Out - London Contemporary Orchestra
26. Jay Alone Theme (Revisited) - London Contemporary Orchestra
27. I Am A Soldier Of The Cross - Silas Selleck
28. A New World (For Us) - Jed Kurzel
29. Slow West - Django Django

Most read news of the week
Canadian Music Week Congratulates The Winners Of The 2015 SiriusXM Indie Awards
Gospel Singer Shirley Willis' First Major Summer NYC Performance Since Near Death Car Accident
'Dylan, Cash, And The Nashville Cats: A New Music City' - Available Everywhere On June 16, 2015
Corey Feldman's New All Angel Band Are Set To Rock Bonnaroo For Their First Live Performance
Steve Aoki Partners With MTV For Exclusive First Listen Of 'Neon Future II' Album
Americana Music Association Announces Initial Lineup For AmericanaFest 2015, September 15-20
Univision Presents The Way Forward For Marketers At 2015 Upfront
Indie Pop Rocker Jerad Finck Signs With Milk & Honey
Newfilmmakers LA Spotlights Asian Cinema At May 16th Film Festival In Downtown LA

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.5838289 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0049867630004883 secs