Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address

President Jimmy Carter Presents Trisha Yearwood With Ascap Voice Of Music Award At 53rd Annual ASCAP Country Music Awards Joined By Justin Timberlake, Reba McEntire And Lady Antebellum

President Jimmy Carter Presents Trisha Yearwood With Ascap Voice Of Music Award At 53rd Annual ASCAP Country Music Awards Joined By Justin Timberlake, Reba McEntire And Lady Antebellum
NASHVILLE, TN (Top40 Charts) The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) hosted the 53rd Annual ASCAP Country Music Awards on Monday, November 2nd at the Omni Nashville Hotel. The writers and publishers of country music's most-performed songs between April 2014 and March 2015 were honored before an audience of distinguished Nashville songwriters, top country stars and music industry leaders. Country star Trisha Yearwood was honored with ASCAP's prestigious Voice of Music Award, presented by former President Jimmy Carter, and celebrated with three tribute performances introduced by pop star Justin Timberlake. Both are personal friends of Yearwood.

Top ASCAP Country Music Awards winners included:
Songwriter of the Year: Ashley Gorley
Songwriter-Artist of the Year: Sam Hunt
Song of the Year: "Leave the Night On," written by Sam Hunt and Josh Osborne, performed by Sam Hunt

Publisher of the Year: Warner/Chappell Music
The ASCAP Voice of Music Award is presented to songwriters and artists whose music gives voice to the spirit of a generation. Trisha Yearwood has sold more than 12 million albums throughout the course of her career, and is a platinum-selling and multiple Grammy, CMA and ACM Award-winning recording artist. Three artists performed classic Yearwood songs in a special musical tribute during the show, including Lady Antebellum ("Walkaway Joe"), Reba McEntire ("The Song Remembers When") and Garth Brooks' daughter, Allie Brooks ("She's in Love with the Boy").

Ashley Gorley received Country Music Songwriter of the Year for the second year in a row, presented by ASCAP President Paul Williams and Nashville VP of Membership Michael Martin. He has received the award three times in total. Gorley won for co-writing six top-performing songs of 2014: "I See You" and "Play It Again" (recorded by Luke Bryan), "Just Gettin' Started" (Jason Aldean), "Rewind" (Rascal Flatts), "See You Tonight" (Scotty McCreery) and "Yeah" (Joe Nichols). During the show, Gorley and Bryan performed "I See You" and "Play It Again," two of the Top Five songs of 2014.

"Leave the Night On," recorded by Sam Hunt and written by Hunt and Josh Osborne, was named Song of the Year. Reba McEntire presented the award to Hunt and Osborne. Hunt performed the song during the awards show and also received the ASCAP Songwriter-Artist of the Year Award, presented by Dierks Bentley, a past winner of the same award. Publisher winners for "Leave the Night On" are One Little Indian Creek Music, Songs of Black River, Three Mules Music and Universal Music Publishing.

ASCAP CEO Elizabeth Matthews and Lady Antebellum's Charles Kelley presented this year's ASCAP Country Music Publisher of the Year to Warner/Chappell Music. Warner/Chappell published 16 of the most-performed ASCAP country songs of 2014.

Williams and ASCAP songwriter-artist Jerrod Niemann presented the Partners in Music Award to Sam Borgese, CEO for Logan's Roadhouse. The award recognizes an ASCAP licensee that has shown exceptional dedication in presenting ASCAP members' music to the public. Logan's Roadhouse is working with ASCAP to present Music City Live!, a national country music tour that features emerging ASCAP songwriters at selected Logan's Roadhouse locations. ASCAP and Logan's Roadhouse are also implementing educational and charitable programs to benefit music in local schools.

The evening began with Old Dominion performing an upbeat version of their country hit "Break Up with Him," and also showcased live performances of two more of the Top 5 ASCAP songs of 2014: "Get Me Some of That," performed by songwriter Michael Carter (recorded by Thomas Rhett), and "Drinking Class," performed by songwriter Josh Kear (recorded by Lee Brice).

In total, ASCAP honored the writers and publishers behind 46 most-performed songs, including hit songwriters Chris DeStefano, Brett James, Ben Hayslip, David Lee Murphy, Brad Paisley, Chris Tompkins and more. The star-studded event also brought out songwriter-artists A Thousand Horses, Kelsea Ballerini, Lee Brice, Garth Brooks, Brothers Osborne, The Cadillac Three, Dan + Shay, Tyler Farr, Jewel, Maddie & Tae, Kip Moore, David Nail, Eric Paslay, Cassaddee Pope, John Rich, Cole Swindell, Swon Brothers, Lee Ann Womack, and dozens more of country music's elite.

Most read news of the week
An Evening With Judy Collins At The Met December 4, On The Heels Of The Highest Charting Album In Decades
Rock Legends "The Raz Band" Releases New Album Featuring Badfinger's Joey Molland And Drum Legend Joe Vitale!
Ellie Goulding Announces Dates For The North American Leg Of Her Delirium World Tour Tour Kicks Off April 1, 2016
The Rubettes Ft Alan Williams Perform Together 40 Years Since Their UK No1 And Are Release First Ever Christmas Song 'Plastic Christmas'
Conceptz Video "Funky 5" Accepted On The Ballot For Consideration In The 58th Grammy Awards For Best Video
Camila, Paula Fernandes, Jesse & Joy, Victor Manuelle, Romeo Santos, Alejandro Sanz, Carlos Vives, And Dionne Warwick To Perform At The 2015 Latin Recording Academy Person Of The Year Gala Honoring Roberto Carlos
Meresha #1 Indie On Pop Radio
Jim Stubblefield - Encantado
The Deadline Shakes Releases New Album!

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0192900 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0092780590057373 secs