Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Soundtracks 11/11/2015

Varese Sarabande Looks Back At Beloved Classic Film Music Themes With 1985 At The Movies

Varese Sarabande Looks Back At Beloved Classic Film Music Themes With 1985 At The Movies

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Varèse Sarabande Records takes a look back at 1985, a historic year for film music with the release of 1985 AT THE MOVIES - featuring some of the most enduring themes from films including Witness (Maurice Jarre), Brazil (Michael Kamen), Legend (Jerry Goldmith), The Color Purple (Quincy Jones/arr. by John Williams), and Agnes of God (Georges Delerue). The label has created a video EPK about the making of this special recording at

1985 was a cultural lynchpin for a whole generation and its treasured films produced some of the most deeply melodic themes from the decade. We traveled through time in Back to the Future, hunted for treasure with The Goonies and hung out with friends in St. Elmo's Fire. Music was always part of the adventure; the film scores of composers like James Horner, Henry Mancini, John Barry and Alan Silvestri, Bruce Broughton and Michael Kamen, instantly conjured up the characters we love from their movies.
Now 30 years later, music fans can re-experience the music from theses films and can celebrate the launch of a new film music symphony, the Varèse Sarabande Symphony, featuring an all-star assortment of the best musicians in Los Angeles, including musicians from the Los Angeles Philharmonic, LA Opera, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, Pacific Symphony, and the Hollywood Bowl Orchestra, alongside some of Hollywood's most legendary session musicians, conducted by composer David Newman. The album was recorded on the lot of 20th Century Fox in April of 2015, on the Newman Scoring Stage, and was produced by the label's Robert Townson, who also wrote the liner notes for the recording.

The album also features brilliant soloists, including flutist Sara Andon, violinists Belinda Broughton and Bruce Dukov, cellist Steve Erdody, pianist Mike Lang, saxophonist Dan Higgins and singers Bobbi Page and Suzanne Waters.

Previously only available in limited release as part of the BACK IN TIME…1985 AT THE MOVIES limited edition box set, 1985 AT THE MOVIES will be available in stores and online beginning December 4, 2015.

Track Listing
1. Back To The Future - Music by Alan Silvestri
2. The Goonies - Music by Dave Grusin
3. St. Elmo's Fire — Love Theme - Music by David Foster
(featuring Mike Lang, piano and Dan Higgins, alto saxophone)
4. Legend — Re-United - Music by Jerry Goldsmith, Lyrics by John Bettis
(featuring Suzanne Waters, vocals)
5. Return to Oz - Music by David Shire (featuring Bruce Dukov, violin and Steve Erdody, cello)
6. Lifeforce - Music by Henry Mancini
7. Revolution - Music by John Corigliano (featuring Sara Andon, flute)
8. Cocoon - Music by James Horner
9. A View To A Kill - Music by John Barry (arranged by Nic Raine, featuring Sara Andon, flute)
10. The Color Purple - Music by Quincy Jones
(arranged by John Williams, featuring Belinda Broughton, violin)
11. Witness — Building The Barn - Music by Maurice Jarre
12. Agnes of God - Music by Georges Delerue (featuring Sara Andon, flute)
13. Silverado - Music by Bruce Broughton
14. Out of Africa - Music by John Barry
15. Brazil - Music by Michael Kamen
(arranged by Christopher Lennertz, featuring Bobbi Page, vocals and Dan Higgins, alto saxophone)
16. Rambo: First Blood Part II - Music by Jerry Goldsmith

Most read news of the week
Fairview Guitarist Mixes Metal, Messiah
Bo Wilson Performs At House Of Blues Las Vegas
Ice T, Too Short, Yo Yo And Kurupt Support Havoc Da Mouthpiece's Proclaim To "Go Hard" It's "Gaim Chng3r" Time
The Recording Academy Producers & Engineers Wing Announces Ninth Annual Grammy Week Celebration, Honoring Rick Rubin
BR5-49 And Bear Family Records Ready DVD And CD 'One Long Saturday Night'
Legendary Nashville Songwriter Even Stevens Offers Backstage View Of The Music Business In New Autobiography
Snoop Dogg Discovers New English Teen Star
Australia's Bloodhounds On My Trail Sign To UK Label Raphalite Records, Release 'Jolly' Single
New Rock-Metal Supergroup Cyberstar Release Debut Lyric Video "Eye For An Eye"

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0198240 secs // 4 () queries in 0.011302947998047 secs