Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
RnB 12/11/2015

Ty Dolla $ign Arrives With "Fee TC"

Ty Dolla $ign Arrives With "Fee TC"

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) "FREE TC," the highly anticipated debut album from Atlantic recording artist Ty Dolla $ign, is available everywhere tomorrow at all digital and physical retailers & streaming via The album is already receiving critical acclaim with The New York Times calling the collection "easily one of the best R&B albums of the year," and crowning Ty "one of the most intuitive songwriters working today," while Entertainment Weekly gave the album an A- rating calling it a, "genre-morphing outlet for his inventive sense of melody and hypnotic pipes."

"I called my album "FREE TC," because I'm on a mission to free my brother TC. He's been wrongly accused & by releasing this album, I want to raise awareness to the racial & social injustices & mass incarceration that's going on in our country right now. This is more than just an album; it's a movement." - Ty Dolla $ign

Some of music's heavy hitters can be found on "FREE TC," including appearances from Kanye West, Kendrick Lamar, R.Kelly, Fetty Wap, Wiz Khalifa, Babyface, Diddy, Brandy, YG and even Ty's Brother, Big TC, just to name a few, with production from DJ Mustard, D' Mile, Benny Blanco, Metro Boomin and Ty himself. Last week, Ty released the hometown anthem appropriately titled "LA (Feat. Kendrick Lamar, Brandy & James Fauntleroy)," which SPIN called "a winning tribute, floating high on near-choral vocal arrangements and slip-sliding production that only makes the proceedings feel more sacred," while Complex dubbed the song "a true ode to the West Coast."

"FREE TC" was preceded by the #FreeMyHomieFriday campaign, a weekly series of new track and video releases highlighted by the current smash single, "Blasé (Feat. Future & Rae Sremmurd)." Produced by DJ Spinz, the track is blowing up now at multi-format radio outlets nationwide, coming in among this week's top 10 at Urban while steadily climbing at Rhythmic. In addition, the "Blasé" companion video is in rotation now at all video platforms while drawing close to 10 million views at the official Ty Dolla $ign YouTube channel.

Ty, who hails from Los Angeles, released several album cuts in the weeks leading up to the release of "FREE TC," including: "Sitting Pretty (Feat. Wiz Khalifa)," "When I See Ya (Feat. Fetty Wap)," "Only Right (Feat. YG, Joe Moses & TeeCee4800)," "Saved (Feat. E-40)," and "Solid (Feat. Babyface)," which Vulture named one of the "8 Best Songs of the Week," hailing it as "a bluesy jam session that has (Ty) sounding smitten with the California sun." The track's companion video -- directed by Jerome D -- can be viewed now at YouTube.

Ty has been celebrated in recent weeks with a wide range of worldwide media attention, including a cover feature in LA Weekly's annual "Music Issue" which declared him to be "the go-to male singer in all of hip hop." "Rap's reigning hooksmith," exclaimed The Guardian, noting how "FREE TC" "showcase(s) an expansive sonic palette ranging from stripped-down song craft to first-rate radio fare."

Long regarded as an electrifying live performer, Ty trumpeted "FREE TC" last month with a very special headline extravaganza at New York City's Highline Ballroom, joined by a star-studded array of special guests including ILoveMakonnen, Skizzy Mars, and A$AP Ferg. Presented by NYC's Hot 97, the show drew online acclaim from XXL, Stuff Fly People Like,, and VIBE, who applauded Ty's "ferocious star power, edgy lyrics, and rebel attitude," adding "Ty Dolla $ign has been paving his way to the top ever since he touched the mic, and it is finally time for him to reign supreme."

Named one of XXL's "XXL Freshmen 2014," Ty Dolla $ign made a major splash last year with the RIAA gold certified singles, "Paranoid (Feat. B.o.B)" and "Or Nah (Feat. Wiz Khalifa & The Weeknd)," both included on the critically-acclaimed "BEACH HOUSE EP." He also graced an array of covers in the last year including Fader's highly-coveted annual "Summer Music" issue, The Source's "Man Of The Year," issue where he appeared alongside longtime collaborators YG and DJ Mustard, as well as a recent issue of RESPECT, where he appeared next to B.o.B.

A GRAMMY® Award-nominated singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist, Ty has fast become one of hip-hop's most highly demanded collaborators, contributing his acclaimed production and writing skills to Chris Brown's #1 hit, "Loyal (Feat. Lil Wayne & Tyga)," Kanye West's "Only One (Feat. Paul McCartney)" and Rihanna, Kanye West, & Paul McCartney's "FourFiveSeconds." Other recent highlights include Travis Barker's "100 (Feat. Ty Dolla $ign, Kid Ink, and Iamsu!)," Big Sean's "Play No Games (Feat. Chris Brown & Ty Dolla $ign)," Kranium's "Nobody Has To Know (Feat. Ty Dolla $ign)," and Major Lazer's official "Lean On (Remix)." Furthermore, as a member in high standing of Wiz Khalifa's Taylor Gang, Ty has joined his fellow Atlantic artist on such tracks as the hip hop hit, "Go Hard Or Go Home Pt. 2 (Feat. French Montana, Trey Songz & Ty Dolla $ign)," included as a bonus track on "FURIOUS 7: ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK," Atlantic's official musical companion to Universal's blockbuster action-thriller.
For more, please visit:,, and

Release Date: November 13th, 2015
(Atlantic Records)
1. LA (ft. Kendrick Lamar, Brandy & James Fauntleroy)
2. Saved (ft. E-40)
3. Straight Up (ft. Jagged Edge)
4. Solid (ft. Babyface)
5. Horses in the Stable
6. Know Ya (ft. Trey Songz)
7. Credit (ft. Sevyn Streeter)
8. Miracle (ft. Big TC and D-Loc) / Wherever
9. Guard (ft. Diddy & Kanye West)
10. Sitting Pretty (ft. Wiz Khalifa)
11. When I See Ya (ft. Fetty Wap)
12. Blasé (ft. Future & Rae Sremmurd)
13. Only Right (ft. YG, Joe Moses and TeeCee4800)
14. Bring It Out of Me
15. Actress (ft. R. Kelly)
16. Finale (ft. SA-RA and PJ)

Most read news of the week
2015 National Christmas Tree Lighting Adds Crosby, Stills & Nash, Aloe Blacc, Kelsea Ballerini, And Joyous String Quartet To Lineup
Pablo Alboran, Farruko, Paula Fernandes, Il Volo, Los Tigres Del Norte, Mana, Mariachi Sol De Mexico, Prince Royce, Alejandro Sanz, And Wisin Set To Perform On 16th Annual Latin Grammy Awards
OK Singer/Songwriter Beverly Perry, Making International News, Sweeps The 2015 Int'l UK Songwriting Contest By Advancing To The Semi-Finals In An Unheard Of 6 Categories
Sevyn Streeter & Rico Love Kick Off Music Choice Presents: Sound Check Sessions
Electronic Violinist Lindsey Stirling Shines In "Pop Dash" Video Game
Bo Wilson Performs At House Of Blues Las Vegas
Missy Elliott Is Back With New Single "WTF (Where They From)"
BR5-49 And Bear Family Records Ready DVD And CD 'One Long Saturday Night'
Varese Sarabande Looks Back At Beloved Classic Film Music Themes With 1985 At The Movies

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.7028601 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0043892860412598 secs