Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 16/06/2016

Stereogum Premieres Starro Remix Of The Silver Lake Chorus' Flaming Lips-penned Song "Heavy Star Movin'"

Stereogum Premieres Starro Remix Of The Silver Lake Chorus' Flaming Lips-penned Song "Heavy Star Movin'"

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Los Angeles indie-choral group The Silver Lake Chorus is due to release their album of remixes on June 24th via Six Degrees Records.

Stereogum just premiered starRo's remix of the Flaming Lips-penned "Heavy Star Movin,'" which they said "orbits with a bouncing groove that still never dips too far below the skyline."

Listen or embed via Soundcloud:

In 2015, The Silver Lake Chorus released their debut self-titled full-length to overwhelming critical acclaim. Praised by The Wall Street Journal, Stereogum, Consequence of Sound, A.V. Club, KCRW, and NME, the album features arrangements of rare and new tracks written for the Chorus by Sia, The Bird and The Bee, The New Pornographers, Ben Gibbard (Death Cab for Cutie), Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), and many more.

The Silver Lake Chorus was also featured on nationally syndicated NPR shows Studio 360 and World Cafe.

For the new album of remixes, The Silver Lake Chorus enlisted expert texturalists like Nashville-based guitar duo Hammock, Carmen Rizzo (of Niyaz), Japanese producer starRo, guitar experimentalist/soundtrack composer David Torn, and more.

In 2010, Australian singer Ben Lee attended a rehearsal of the recently formed group and sat among TSLC members as they sang their cover of Beck’s “Lonesome Tears." Blown away by how the song had been “reinvented into this massive Russian Gregorian chant," Lee suggested the chorus take a completely original indie rock approach to the ancient choral art form. He signed on to produce their debut album and reached out to other artists and friends, asking them to write new music for the chorus. Ben Gibbard of Death Cab for Cutie, Wayne Coyne and Stephen Drozd of The Flaming Lips, John Roderick of The Long Winters, Inara George and Greg Kurstin of The Bird and the Bee, A.C. Newman of The New Pornographers, Aimee Mann, Sia, Tegan and Sara, and Justin Vernon of Bon Iver all responded with songs.

The resulting eponymous debut album was a distinctly unique musical experience, giving original indie rock songs a lush and highly-tailored choral treatment. Some songs were performed entirely a cappella, while others included drums, synths, string arrangements and other instrumental touches.

Six Degrees Records has collaborated with The Silver Lake Chorus to put the beautiful tracks from their debut into the hands of a diverse and talented cast of remixers, who’ve taken the material in new and exciting directions.

1. Easy To Die (Hammock Remix)
Written by Aimee Mann and Paul Bryan
2. From The Snow-Tipped Hills (Carmen Rizzo Remix)
Written by Justin Vernon
3. Same Song (Blade Foley "Showtime After Dark" Remix)
Written by John Roderick
4. Heavy Star Movin' (starRo Remix)
Written by Wayne Coyne and Steven Drozd
5. Break It Down (Lovett Remix)
Written by Inara George and Greg Kurstin
6. Salted Wound (Groovesoup Remix)
Written by Sia Furler, Track & Field (B. West and G. Eaton) and Oliver Kraus
7. Home Come Home (Delia Derbyshire Appreciation Society "Robots Come Home" Remix)
Written by Heather Ogilvy and Michael B. Wells
8. Nervous Soul (Blade Foley "Glory of Love" Remix)
Written by Benjamin Gibbard
9. Heavy Star Movin' (David Torn "Gooey Universe" Remix)
Written by Wayne Coyne and Steven Drozd
10. Overboard (Growing Boy's "Hella Unafraid" Remix)
Written by Ben Lee
11. Easy To Die (Hammock Instrumental Remix)
Written by Aimee Mann and Paul Bryan

Most read news of the week
1980's Hit Makers The Romantics Tour The US In Support Of Forthcoming Album!
Barbra Streisand To Release "Encore: Movie Partners Sing Broadway" Album On August 26, 2016
John Conlee, Roy Clark To Appear During The National Music Council's 33rd Annual American Eagle Awards
Hailey Knox Joins Charlie Puth On 29-Ddate Tour This Fall
Sony/ATV Music Publishing Names Epic Rights As Global Licensing Agent For Lennon-McCartney Song Catalog
"Metal Meltdown" New Series Of Four Concert DVDs Set To Launch With July 22 Release Of 'Metal Meltdown - Featuring Twisted Sister Live At The Hard Rock Casino - Las Vegas'
Tennessee Tourism Honors 50th Anniversary Of Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
Chrissi Poland Celebrates Release Of Her New Album "Waking Hour," With Live Performance On June 22, 2016
Peejmudd Set To Release New EP "It Hurts My Dream" On June 17, 2016

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0095770 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0054779052734375 secs