Seek out a better experience, upgrade to a full membership! (Learn more)
 News Oldies 29/09/2016

Social Distortion To Release New 4-LP Vinyl Box Set, Out Oct. 28

Social Distortion To Release New 4-LP Vinyl Box Set, Out Oct. 28

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Concord Bicycle is pleased to announce the October 28, 2016 release of The Independent Years: 1983 - 2004, Social Distortion’s first-ever vinyl box set collecting the band’s independent label output, Mommy’s Little Monster, Prison Bound, Sex, Love and Rock ‘n’ Roll and the early years compilation Mainliner (Wreckage From the Past). Mixing Bruce Springsteen’s factory-overalls ethic while supplying plenty of SoCal attitude and aggression, Social Distortion was formed by Mike Ness and his high school friend Dennis Danell, breaking through in 1983 with the critically acclaimed first album Mommy’s Little Monster. Their 1988 follow-up, Prison Bound, hinted at a sonic change to come, and well before the band’s 2004 Sex, Love and Rock ‘n’ Roll their sound had solidified into the instantly recognizable brand of rock ‘n’ roll that’s defined them since.

Mommy’s Little Monster (Red Translucent Vinyl)
The band’s 1983 debut album was recorded in a single session after Mike Ness’ participation in the 1982 punk documentary Another State of Mind. “The epitome of early-’80s suburban California punk and provided inspiration for many future Californians, including the Offspring and Rancid.” —All Music
Prison Bound (Clear Concrete Swirl Translucent Vinyl)
Social Distortion’s second album arrived in 1988, a full five years after their debut. Mike Ness’s Johnny Cash and Rolling Stones influences would figure in the band’s evolution from raw Orange County punk to the direction that would ultimately define their sound.
Mainliner (Wreckage From The Past) (Clear Translucent Vinyl)
This collection of early singles and B-sides, recorded circa early ’80s and compiled for release in 1995, includes the fan favorites “1945,” “Moral Threat,” and a cover of the Rolling Stones' “Under My Thumb.”
Sex, Love and Rock ‘n’ Roll (Gold Translucent Vinyl)
Social Distortion’s sixth album was released in 2004, eight years after White Light, White Heat, White Trash. Marking a return to their independent label roots, the album is a musical eulogy to co-founder Dennis Danell, who died in 2000. The opening track, “Reach for the Sky,” would go on to become one of Social Distortion's biggest hits.
Social Distortion presently features Mike Ness, vocals; Jonny “Two Bags” Wickersham, guitar; Brent Harding, bass; and Dave Hidalgo Jr., drums. Now in their fourth decade, the punk godfathers in the band have all but trademarked their sound, a brand of hard rockabilly/punk that’s cut with the melodic, road-tested lyrics of frontman Mike Ness. Their searing guitars and a locomotive rhythm section sound as alive today as they did in ’83, as do Ness’ hard-luck tales of love, loss and lessons learned.
The Independent Years: 1983 – 2004 (4-LP Set)
U.S. Street Date: October 28th, 2016
International Street Date: November 25th, 2016
Pre-order at
Pre-order at Amazon:
Track listing:
Mommy’s Little Monster
A1. The Creeps
A2. Another State of Mind
A3. It Wasn't A Pretty Picture
A4. Telling Them
B1. Hour Of Darkness
B2. Mommy's Little Monster
B3. Anti-Fashion
B4. All The Answers
B5. Moral Threat

Prison Bound
A1. It's The Law
A2. Indulgence
A3. Like An Outlaw (For You)
A4. Backstreet Girl
A5. Prison Bound
B1. No Pain No Gain
B2. On My Nerves
B3. I Want What I Want
B4. Lawless
B5. Lost Child

Mainliner (Wreckage From The Past)
A1. 1945 (Posh Boy Version)
A2. Playpen (Posh Boy Version)
A3. Mainliner
A4. Moral Threat
A5. All The Answers
B1. Justice For All
B2. Under My Thumb
B3. 1945 (13th Floor Version)
B4. Playpen (13th Floor Version)
B5. Mass Hysteria

Sex, Love And Rock ‘N’ Roll
A1. Reach For The Sky
A2. Highway 101
A3. Don't Take Me For Granted
A4. Footprints On My Ceiling
A5. Nickels And Dimes
B1. I Wasn't Born To Follow
B2. Winner And Losers
B3. Faithless
B4. Live Before You Die
B5. Angel's Wings

Subscribe to our news via Email. Enter your email address:

Service handled via Google Feedburner.
Your e-mail address will not be shared with anyone

Most read news of the week
The 2016 Iheartradio Music Festival Rocked Las Vegas With An Iconic Lineup & Superstar Surprise Collaborations
Cracker Barrel Old Country Store Picks Oak Ridge Boys Pickled Peppers
Downtown Names Alan Goodstadt As Chief Financial Officer
Hard Rock Supergroup Hollywood Monsters Ft. Vinny Appice Unleashes A Brand New Album!
Soul-Pop Sensation Unique Hastings Delivers Seductive New Single 'Skip The Talking'
Listen To Ariana Grande & Justin Timberlake On New Song 'They Don't Know'
Listen To Wale's New Song "Stay Winning" Ft. Afro B & Sneakbo
Line Mari's Latest Electrifying Single 'Haters' Is Impossible To Hate
Jill Scott, Tyrese, Monica, Jazmine Sullivan & More To Perform At Soul Train Weekend 2016
Orquesta Victoria Brings Argentine Tango To 9 California Cities
Blacktop Mojo Releases Official Music Video For Their Cover Of Aerosmith's "Dream On"
Nine Below Zero - 13 Shades Of Blue - One Of The Best Albums Of 2016
Geffen/UMe To Reissue Weezer's First Six Albums On Vinyl
The Legendary Voice Of Hard Rock Joe Lynn Turner Shines On This New Collection Of Session Tracks!
Benny Camaro Returns To Jango Music With The Infectious 'Las Dos Lunas'

© 2001-2019 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0335650 secs // 4 () queries in 0.010982751846313 secs
Members Area
Register or login with just your e-mail address

A validation link will be sent to your e-mail. The link will expire in 15'.

Free for everyone, funded by music lovers -> Find out how