Support our efforts, sign up to a full membership!
(Start for free)
Register or login with just your e-mail address
Pop / Rock 10/03/2017

Zeshan B's 'Vetted' (Out 4/7 Via Minty Fresh) Combines Southern Soul With Traditional Indo-Pakistani Music

Our news in your mail

* indicates required
News frequency *

New York, NY (Top40 Charts) Listen to Album Opener "Lonely Man" at Brightest Young Things:
Chicago soul singer Zeshan B has announced his debut album 'Vetted,' set for release April 7th via Minty Fresh. Featuring Zeshan Bagewadi - a first generation Indian-American, Muslim, and Chicago native - on vocals and harmonium, the record narrates, through the prism of his parents' immigrant experience, tales of injustice, unrequited love, urban despair and youthful ecstasy.

'Vetted' was recorded at the legendary Ardent Studios in Memphis, TN, and was produced by Lester Snell (Isaac Hayes, Al Green, Mavis Staples), with backing by multiple generations of Memphis session legends including guitarist Michael Toles ("Shaft"), bassist David Smith (Buddy Guy), drummer Steve Potts (Booker T. and the MGs) and backing vocalist Kameron Whalum (Bruno Mars).

Born to Indian Muslim immigrants, Zeshan Bagewadi's musical identity was formed at the junction of two different worlds. His parents' love for the sounds of their native land gave him a deep exposure to Indo-Pakistani music - film, folk and classical alike. However, his father, having been one of the few journalists in India to cover the Civil Rights Movement in the 1960s and 70s, was immensely fond of Black artistic expression. As such, Zeshan grew up with the sounds of his father's blues, soul, and R&B collection as well.

These two worlds collide on this new album. Zeshan pours his heart out on 10 tracks and in 3 languages -- English, Urdu and Punjabi. Tempestuous soul arias, urban love dramas, Memphis blues, and civil rights anthems are performed with an idiomatically Indian feel -- blaring tanpura and harmonium exist alongside hard grooves, delicate strings, and riveting horns.

Zeshan B recently appeared on WNYC's The Takeaway, discussing the message behind his radical cover of George Perkins' "Cryin' In The Streets" and his own participation in the Black Lives Matter Movement. Listen here:

And watch the protest-heavy video for "Cryin' In The Streets" here:

Zeshan Bagewadi has performed for President Obama and alongside the likes of Mos Def, A Tribe Called Quest, Rakim, and Aasif Mandvi. He will be announcing a Chicago album release show and additional gigs soon.

1. Lonely Man
2. I'm at the Breaking Point
3. Ain't No Love (in the Heart of the City)
4. What Now
5. Meri Jaan
6. Cryin' in the Streets
7. Hard Road to Travel
8. Prove It To Me
9. I'll Keep Wanting You
10. Ki Jana
11. You Don't Miss Your Water
More info on Zeshan B:

Most read news of the week
Partisan To Release New Single 'Ashes'
Fink Releases Next Song "Hour Golden" From 'Sunday Night Blues Club, Vol. 1'
Wild Honey Celebrates The Band: 'Music From Big Pink And Beyond,' March 25th, Glendale, Calif.
"Larry's Country Diner" To Air New Episodes In March Featuring Roy Clark, Mandy Barnett, Dan Miller, The Malpass Brothers, Billy Yates And Michael Peterson
VH1's "Love & Hip Hop Atlanta" Alum And Breakout Star Margeaux Simms Takes Over The World Famous Dinah
Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Vocalist, Anthony Vincent, Makes Headlines In Rolling Stone
Dope Teases 'Blood Money Part 2' With Cover Of Ministry's "Thieves" Feat. Andy Laplegua Of Combichrist
Innercut Releases New Electronic Pop Remix Of Bearoid's "Enemy"
Nashville Rocker Rich Lynch Remembers UFO Cult's Ride Into Heaven With "Kingdom Tonight"

© 2001-2021 (S4)
about | advertise | site map
contact | privacy
Page gen. in 0.0206831 secs // 4 () queries in 0.0037927627563477 secs